We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pension Ferma(Moroeni)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Moroeni(Moroeni)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanul cu Ursi(Moroeni)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Alpina(Moroeni)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Galma(Moroeni)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
53
39
12
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
39
12
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbucegi mountainshotel is locatedlittle bitvery nice hotelrooms are cleanwonderful placebeautiful viewthe entire hotelafter a long daybig portionspeaceful locationcamp fireamazing locationmain restaurantexcellent foodmini barcave
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 117 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

An amazing time I've had this weekend at the Pestera Hotel. I was there with a couple of friends and we were pleasantly surprised to find this beautiful Hotel in the middle of the forest. Great services they've got there. The staff is very kind and they taken a good care of us. The food is excellent and quite diverse. The view from the room 101 is spectacular.

Room Tip: Choose 101! A great family or large group room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirbanVlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCalcan, Owner at Hotel Pestera, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear guest,

We are thrilled to hear about your experience and we would be delighted to welcome you again at out hotel in the near future.

Thank you very much for your time writing this review!

Alex Calcan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. small pool a bit cold, but current feature fun, jacuzzi & sauna bliss after a day's walk. a new hotel has just opened opposite - half the price, no pool.
cable car onto plateau. (room service not used, but I could not see how to leave blank)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Given the remote and high altitude location, the hotel is very good, much better than 15 years ago when I visited it last time and probably the best accommodation option in this beautiful area. The hotel was quite recently renovated.

The staff is quite friendly and helpful. We had to check-out at 5AM, announced this in the evening and it was no problem. In the early morning at check-out we had a pleasant surprise to get a breakfast pack instead the breakfast that is included by default and we were obviously going to miss.

The rooms are quite small - which is common for the hotels built in Romania before 1989.

The twin beds in our room were on the narrow side, each measuring 80cm in width. Otherwise all the furniture was as expected in such a hotel. There was a minibar in the room
The duvet felt too warm, and in the morning I woke up sweaty. There is no air-conditioning, but this is really not needed at this altitude!

I was disappointed by the bathroom. It had everything one needs, including hairdryer and everything was working fine, but the quality of everything in the bathroom was low. Cheap shower cabin with dark mold in the corners, cheap ugly tiles quite poorly installed, the toilet seat had a crack on the base (did not leak though) and so on. The bathroom door was a cheap plastic one in contrast to the good quality room door.
It may be that not all room bathrooms are like this, as the bathrooms in the restaurant and reception area were of much higher standard.

The restaurant was OK, with reasonable prices and friendly staff. However there was no separate no-smoking area. They also served on the terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai Constanti... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

- the room was amazing, it looked like a 5* suit (we had a deluxe room); very big, very clean and modern
- the waiters are very kind
- the people at the reception should be trained, to better treat their clients when talking on the phone
- the prices for accomodation are pretty high, taking into the consideration the location, access and the fact that still...it's officially rated as a 3* hotel
- the food was very good and the prices are ok; I appreciated that they have let us take upstairs the rest of the food and also the glasses of wine
- the views are beautiful
- big jacuzzi
- the balconies should be refurbished
- I totally recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are fabulous, but they are more expensive, of course
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andra1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCalcan, Owner at Hotel Pestera, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear guest,

We are thrilled to hear about your experience and we would be delighted to welcome you again at out hotel in the near future.

Thank you very much for your time writing this review!

Alex Calcan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is located in an absolutely stunning environment, being one of the best high altitude (1600 m) hotels in Romania. The road to the hotel is hard (15 km of unpaved but nice road - if you have a 4x4 you may really enjoy it) but once you get there you forget about it :). The rooms are clean and well equipped, the hotel is very nicely decorated with attention to small details, the food in the restaurant is good (though not very varied) - you should try house cake. Hotel personnel is friendly and helpful.
Once there you should absolutely visit Pestera church and cave

Room Tip: 30x rooms have nice view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews