We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impressive place and the best Hotel that you can find on this altitude”
Review of Hotel Pestera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pestera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moroeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was with my family on Hotel Pestera and realy I was ipressed about the quality of the services they are offering ,the room and food was perfect.If you go one time here I think you will go always,happen with me from last 7 years I am traveling all over contry butt in the end i go for relaxing and feel good to this place,here always i am charging my batteries.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCalcan, Manager at Hotel Pestera, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear about your positive experience and we would be delighted to welcome you again at out hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nicely refurbished, scenic location, friendly staff. Great views and facilities.
Many options for hikes and walks. Food can be improved - it is fine but rather basic 'mountain' food'. I will surely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanv03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just came back from there with some friends. We had rooms nr. 301 & 314 (triple and double).

The rooms:
Not spacious, but clean and well accesorised: tea, coffe, minibar, mini vault, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, towels...

The beds:
Comfortable, clean, soft with big pillows :)

The view:
301 facing N-E - this is the view we loved the most.
314 facing S-W
All in all, it's a hotel in the middle of a forest at 1600m altitude.... On a plateau surrounded by peaks. You can imagine the rest :)

The staff: ok & friendly... BUT slip ups can accur. It happens to us but nothing that couldn't be fixed and nothing by bad intention.

The food:
Not particularly good, not bad. They say they use products from their own farm. It's true that the don't have at all time everything that.s in the menu. I understand why, it.s kind of isolated, it would be risky for them to prepare a lot of diff recepies and throw them away if nobody is there to eat them all. it.s not fair but it.s common practice, so we weren't surprised. The main things we wanted were available so it was ok.
PS. the restaurant is really nice, now it.s split in two: smokers, non smokers. (non smokers is kind of dull but has better view)

the SPA
Swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna,, mini gym. : not luxurious but clean and open from 6am to 10pm !!!! Great! Oh yeah... And they don't charge extra for them !

The breakfast
Swedish style, fair taste & diversity, included in the price for sleeping.

Overall
The best option to spend the night on the plateau if you are looking for good to best conditions available. The only alternatives I would think about would be tent+bears or chalets.

We payed les that 20€ for one night, SPA and breakfast! Great deal!

PS. check in after 4pm, checkout before 12am. They should work on this....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iulian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCalcan, Manager at Hotel Pestera, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear about your positive experience and we would be delighted to welcome you again at out hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I just come back with my friends. We rent 2 rooms at the third floor.
Rooms are small indeed, but very clean, it shows that was recently renovated.
We find good meals at decent prices. There are also few expensive wine from different collections, but I enjoy a normal red wine at 9 $/ 0,7L. I think that is fair enough! Swedish Breakfast is well organized.
Pestera Hotel has also a barbeque at 50m, where we eat a tasty *mici*.
Sunday morning we start a mountain trip on red triangle mark to Omu Peak. It takes 4 hours. It deserve to make this trip, Omu is one of the most interesting point of *belvedere* from Bucegi Mountains!

Room Tip: If you can accept not very large room to sleep, you will have a wonderful holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

It is second time when I travel to this hotel.
It is situated in the meddle of Bucegi Mountain! It is no other hotel such well placed at 3 hours to Mount Omu (2509m), the highest pick of Bucegi.
It is complet renovated, people are ok.
Rooms are not very large, but are clean, has fridges and all of them have balcony with beautiful panorama around.
We appreciated the meals, rustic barbecue and big camp fire in the hotel yard!

Room Tip: All doubles have panoramic mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aurel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

a poor hotel in a wonderful area - too bad !

the food was foor, almost nothing listed in the menu was available.

a BAD experiance

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Staff was soviet-era... Rooms are small, dirty, old. Food was really expensive and mediocre at best, and - limited (although the menu was lavished, the staff insisted that all we can order are trout or schnitzel, since there is no chef on the premises...). The spa is old and cold. The only good thing - the location (amazing!)

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Airsealands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moroeni
5.1 mi away
BIO Boutique Hotel Club Austria
5.2 mi away
Ioana Hotel
Ioana Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sinaia
312 reviews
9.4 mi away
Club Vila Bran
Club Vila Bran
#2 of 7 in Bran
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#4 of 29 in Sinaia
92 reviews
12.8 mi away
Casa Moroeni
Casa Moroeni
#3 of 7 in Moroeni
5 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hanul cu Ursi
Hanul cu Ursi
#7 of 7 in Moroeni
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestera

Address: Parcul Natural Bucegi Cota 1600, Moroeni, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Dambovita County > Moroeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moroeni
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pestera 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pestera Is situated in the National Park of Bucegi at 1600 meters altitude, in the immediate vicinity of tha Pestera Ialomicioarei Monastary. It currently has 49 rooms ranging from 57 to 69 euro per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pestera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing