We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely experience! Peaceful, picturesque...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Upper Kangaroo River, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathy B
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Lovely experience! Peaceful, picturesque, private, well appointed.”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rest. The only maintenance issue was when we arrived, the light cover for the light over the kitchen sink was actually sitting in the sink itself. We were unable to put it back in place. The light worked fine.

A lot of thought went into planning the cottage and the features were great. It was clean and well presented.

The advertisement for a basket of goodies on arrival wasn't quite accurate as there was a bottle of wine and pack of biscuits.

It was too warm to use the fire and not hot enough to want to use air conditioning. We really enjoyed the time there and will return, having also recommended it to several friends.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and interior decor
Liked least: wi-fi was slow and patchy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieDi...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon!”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Words fail us - stunning views, a beautiful cottage. The perfect romantic setting for a special honeymoon. We'll be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jetjip
Canberra, ACT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in very nice location”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have just returned from a recent stay at Willabrook Retreat Rest. It was a very nice stay, the house was well maintained, clean and very quiet and relaxing. The views from the deck were very nice and I enjoyed the scenery and location.

I am fairly fussy and read the other reviews on this site and found them not to be quite right as I did have any issues with this place!

Be sure to read the directions (as I did not) and assumed it was just up the road from the main turn off. Be sure to keep a look out on the left side for signs, and don't enter into the main house driveway as I did (sorry)!!! very well signed and easy to get to if you read the directions first.

Also, make sure you bring your own food/water/drinks etc, as the closest bigger shops are in Berry, some distance from Kangaroo Valley.
i would definitely stay here again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andona
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage with some maintenance issues.”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently spent 3 nights in the Rest Cottage.

PROS
The cottage is thoughtfully designed to take advantage of the outlook with lovely windows across the full width of the building. Rest is located at the lower part of the property looking out into bushland with a view up to mountains beyond. It is not overlooked by the other cottage and felt very private. We enjoyed sitting outside and watching the birds and listening to the creek running below.

The ceilings are high and the rooms were very comfortable on a mild summer’s day. There are two ceiling fans in the lounge area and one in the bedroom but no air-conditioning. There is a slow combustion fire which we used on a cold and drizzly afternoon ( our cottage had no firewood but the Mojo cottage was unoccupied so we could get some from their wood box) We purchased our own kindling and firelighters. There’s a good flat screen TV with 5 free-to air channels. The TV reception was excellent.

The cottage is attractively furnished in a pale distressed timber, country-French style. There was a wide range of books, magazines, DVD’s and games provided. The lounges and bed were very comfortable, the bed having lovely white linens. For our stay we were supplied with two large bath sheets each and plenty of hand towels, bath mats and wash cloths.

The large 2 person bath was lovely and sighted so that you can sit back and relax and enjoy the view. There is a large shower and the lighting at the vanity was good. MOR soaps, shampoo, conditioner and body cream were supplied as well as plenty of toilet paper

The kitchen is adequately equipped with a stove, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, toaster and dishwasher. There are plenty of saucepans and cooking utensils. There were 4 places settings of plates/bowls and an adequate number of glasses and cutlery. Some of the glasses are mismatched in shape and size ( e.g. only 2 champagne glasses, different shapes) which may be a design choice? Rustic theme?

There were many candles supplied which is a nice touch. A previous reviewer said there were no matches, we can’t comment on that as we had some of our own with us.

CONS.
Unfortunately there were a number of maintenance issues which, added together, gave us the feeling that the management are not keeping on top of things that can affect your overall impression of a property such as this. The property is managed by the Real Estate agent in the town and they were closed for Saturday and Sunday which meant that we were unable to contact anyone to get some of the more important things fixed for our stay. The first 2 issues were what I would call major and really irritated us. The remainder are minor but there were too many of them.

1. We had arrived with supplies ready to BBQ our dinner on the first night and to have BBQ bacon and eggs etc for our breakfasts. We were very disappointed on the first evening to find that the BBQ gas tank was empty. So no BBQ for dinner and extra washing up when we had to use frypans on the stove instead.

2. The cottage is advertised as having free unlimited WiFi. We were able to connect to the modem but there was a fault in the modem which meant we had no internet access at all. As there is no mobile signal within the property we were relying on the Wifi for emergency contact. There is a landline supplied but you can only make local calls on it. The WiFi really should be maintained and functioning.

3. The brochure advertises that you will be welcomed with a “basket of goodies” and “complimentary wine”. The website says you will receive a “welcome pack of goodies” There was a nice bottle of wine but no “goodies” left for us. If you are no longer supplying the gift basket then the website and brochure should be updated.

4. The kitchen had 2 tea towels but no washcloths or scourers? This made cleaning the frypans a chore ( they would not fit in the little dishwasher)

5. The interior of the cottage was very clean and the gardens are tidy with lawns mowed – but there seems to be a failure on keeping the exterior of the cottage clean and in good condition. There was an old birds nest on the veranda with a large quantity of bird droppings under it. Very unsightly and would take very little time to clean. There were timber strips that had fallen off the windows and the exterior table and chairs was grubby.

6. The light bulb in the kitchen needed changing. Yes, we were able to change it ourselves with the one spare supplied BUT checking that all lights work should be a basic maintenance issue.

7. Tea and Coffee are supplied but the only teas provided were Earl Grey, Lemon Scented and Jasmine Green. I don’t mind the odd cup of scented tea but many people don’t like it so supplying good old Liptons or English Breakfast should be a standard.

8. There were disposable slippers provided but no gowns which we would have appreciated ( and are accustomed to finding in other properties of the same type)

9. There were very few paper towels left and no additional rolls supplied, the tomato sauce was also empty. Salt and pepper, garbage bags and paper bags were supplied but we have stayed at other properties that also supplied basics such as oil spray and Glad wrap, it’s a thoughtful touch which we would have appreciated.

In summary, we enjoyed our weekend. The location is lovely and peaceful – and the interior is cozy and comfortable with many nice touches. Fortunately for us the other cottage was unoccupied so we were able to swap BBQ bottles and could eventually enjoy some BBQ’s. Once we bought our own paper towels we were also able to clean the BBQ ( which you are specifically asked to do).

I hope the management accepts the criticisms above in the manner they are offered – just as suggestions of things that need to be addressed to turn a stay at Rest cottage from 3 stars to 5 stars.

If we could be sure that the major issues were addressed we would be happy to return another time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Privacy, comfortable bedding & lounges. Lovely bathroom. Lots of books/games
Liked least: BBQ and WiFi not functioning. Dirty back veranda. Some basic supplies lacking.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2015
Thanks for your feedback. We have taken action on the maintenance issues you have raised. We do have staff available on their mobiles 24/7 so I really wish you had got in contact with us so we could have resolved the issues for you.
Both the cottages at Willabrook Retreat are actually being renovated over the next few weeks to ensure that our many guests to this very popular property continue to have a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joreid83
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poorly Maintained and Managed - Many Interruptions...”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I booked this accommodation as we wanted to relax in peace and quiet in a Luxury Cottage. When we arrived at the cottage, I immediately started sneezing as I am allergic to dust and there was dust everywhere. The cottage has not been properly cleaned in a long time and there were used bottles of shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms. There were also many missing items including matches (candles were everywhere) and no dish cloths (the cottage is self-maintained and there was washing up liquid) - there was also no firewood, even though there is a fireplace and it was cold on our first night. The freezer was also broken and would not even freeze ice. On our second day a gardener showed up and stayed for over 3 hours (from 3pm until after 6pm) planting trees around the property and mowing (there are no curtains other than in the bedroom so it is not easy to maintain privacy). On the third day two further gardeners showed up to mow the lawns (for another 2 hours during lunchtime). On New Years Day, a man showed up on a motorbike and stayed for half an hour inspecting and planting more trees around the cottage. We decided to phone the property owners after the third day due to people coming over to the property twice and they were extremely unhelpful. We also had only a towel each for the entire week and there are no laundry facilities. All in all we did not find this to be a peaceful stay and for the price over the Christmas period (over $300 a night) really not worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The surrounding bush land.
Liked least: The interruptions to our stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
Thanks for your feedback and we are so sorry that your experience at Rest Cottage wasn't consistent with the other many guests at this extremely popular property many of whom have returned again and again.
This is the first time we have received negative feedback on the cleaning so I have raised the issues you have reported with the cleaners.
It is quite warm in Kangaroo Valley during summer so like most properties firewood is not provided during this time.
As I am sure you can understand it is important that the grounds of the property are well maintained so they are looking their best for all our guests. The caretakers do their best to minimise the disturbance to guests and work around bookings but at such a popular property at a very busy time of year this is not always possible so we apologise if you were inconvenienced.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieASy...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Peaceful Setting”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay, very peaceful and restful with lovely views from all aspects. Very clean and comfy bed. We were visited by the cows every morning and enjoyed some lovely walks through the property. Don't forget any essential food & drink as any shops are 15 mins drive away.
We are enjoyed 3 nights staying at the Rest Cottage - much needed & very much enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Liked least: Just a little remote
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing