We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing family run little ryokan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn Fujitomita

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn Fujitomita
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Oshino-mura
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing family run little ryokan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great service, very hospitable. The rooms were a great size and OMG the food. Seriously worth the price just for the food. Best thing after a day of exploring was coming home to this cooking and the lovely spring bath.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here two nights in mid April during our anniversary trip to Japan. Arriving late evening in the dark, the lovely wife/mom picked up us at the railway station and 10 minutes later we were in our cozy tatami room on the 2nd floor. We were able to catch up the late dinner at 7:30. It was DELICIOUS, Japanese style, full course. (husband was a local chef before they took over this place). Once we've cleaned up all dishes (yes, all gone :) and returned to our room, the bed was already set. Then we were offered a complimentary bottle of sake to celebrate our anniversary!! what a treat for strangers from afar. The bed is very comfortable to sleep in. Waking up next morning around 5 O'clock, we look thru the windows, you guessed it -- Mt Fuji is in our face!! It's pure luck as was told it often hides behind thick cloud/fog all year long. We were so exited and turned away from the window to check out our room, and pulled the camera out of bag, "get it ready", "shot". But, no, Mt Fuji is gone, totally, in just 5 minutes!! However it did come back later so we didn't miss it second time. The breakfast is no exception--delicious. They do offer western style, but hey we are here in Japan so why bother. The two private hot spring spa/onsan (just walk in then lock the door, all yours) is one of our best experiences. They are not just hot water, but real deal from the source, with government issued certificate on the display. The place is a bit off from city activities though. The bus stop is about 10 min walk from the inn that will take you to Kawaguchi Ko lake. All in all, we will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaysonjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our stay at the Inn Fujitomita was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip. The owners are extremely gracious and helpful. There were the thoughtful touches like drying our soaking wet shoes, patiently explaining the bus system and area sites, and giving us rides (pick up and drop off at the station).

The meals (breakfast and especially dinner) were fabulous, huge and artfully displayed--tasty nasu, enoki mushrooms, salmon, miso soup, steamed pork, chicken w/individual lemon slices between each piece... Oishii!! Also, there's Wi-fi in the rooms and a small frig.

I initially hesitated to book rooms w/out bathrooms, but the western style toilets were a few steps away, and private. There was also a sink in our room. The Japanese style bath (2) on the main floor was relaxing.

Also, the rooms are a good size; w/ a sitting area. The futon are comfortable. Mt. Fuji also made an appearance outside our window the day after the typhoon. Fabulous, up close view! During the rainy season! We hope to return to the Inn again someday soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuestreviewerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

After the hectic pace of Tokyo, it was very nice to arrive here! I found this Ryokan (traditional style inn) online and chose it because of the honest, genuine feel it seemed to have, and the positive reviews. I'm happy to say I made the right choice! When we arrived in Kawaguchiko it was a busy Sunday, and I was worried that we hadn't escaped the hustle and bustle after-all. But as Mr Amano, owner and "dad" of the family drove us out of town towards the inn I was relieved. It's in a nice, more secluded area (as secluded as you get in Japan) close to a very cute village and surrounded by market gardens and patches of forest.

The family running the Inn is really lovely. "Mum" speaks good English and "Dad's" cooking is wonderful- great, genuine Japanese home cooking with cullinary flair on top. The whole family is very friendly and helpful. Our room was wonderful, and we really enjoyed using the Onsen, hanging out in Yakutas in our tatami mat room and gazing at Mt Fuji's elusively cloudy peak. Exploring the local area on foot was fun too, and if you like hiking there's some good trails nearby. The inn would be great for larger groups of friends and families- there's a spacious dining room and it has a bit of a cool, retro school camp feel. Plus, wifi! Phew. I have to recommend this place for people wanting to get out of town and have a more genuine, less touristy Japanese experience. This is exactly what my husband and I wanted, and we were very satisfied!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Er1caL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The staff here are incredibly helpful and friendly. Food is delicious and plentiful. The inn is lovely and peaceful a great place to relax after a long journey. There is a lovely RV park attached so if you have Japenese friends who wish to join you but not stay at the inn they could park there. The inn is close to many many interesting places to visit. We hope one day to be able to return.

Room Tip: our Japenese friends chose our room. It is spacious and faces Mt Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonfromAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We went to Japan for our honeymoon and decided to stay at a ryokan with private onsens. We are so so glad that we found this gem .. here we go:

After taking many trains to get to Oshino, we were greeted by the very friendly Masayuki, the owner/chef of the inn. We were greeted by his wife, Hiromi, when we got to the inn and had a good tour of the inn. Upon unpacking in our room, we noticed these cute biscuits and tea on our table so we decided to try them. Very yummy!

We then decided to walk to Lake Yamanaka that took longer than expected. Just as we were going to head back, we saw the lake - thank goodness! We didn't stay too long as it was getting dark (imagine getting lost out there!) and windy!

When we went back to Inn Fujitomita, we decided to try the onsen. It was definitely relaxing and soothing! We decided to go again after dinner - hehe.

Dinner was AMAZING!!!! We were spoiled with so much great food - veggies, fish .. it was one of the best meals we had in Japan!!!! We also met an older couple from Nagoya where the husband used to work in Canada so that made dinner even better.

Like I said before, we went back to the onsen after dinner .. and then went to our room .. and I think we passed out!!! The next thing we knew, it was morning! We had a hearty Japanese breakfast (yum again!) and then walked around the area. We wanted to walk to this fish pond area however, there was construction happening in the forest. So with that time, we went back to use the onsen again!

All in all, it was a wonderful stay at the inn and the owners really, really do take care of their guests!!! We also met the youngest daughter, Kokoro, who was so darn cute!!!

Thank you Amano family - we can't wait to be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SillyTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

It feels like home there. I was travelling on my own, a single girl. They've looked after me EXCEPTIONALLY well, always driving me way out of their pick-up time. One night I was lost in the Oshino Village and couldn't find anything to eat coz all shops were closed, I went back to the inn with an empty stomach. The closest restaurant offers spaghetti and pizza but of coz u won't want that while u're spending time in Japan. So while they asked, I said I'd prefer Japanese. And at the end they decided to drive me to a japanese restaurant in the town, and asked me to call them again when I had finished my dinner. Honestly this is completely out of their responsibility. They said it's dangeros to go out on my own at night so they did that. THEY ARE SIMPLY VERY KIND. I'm not encouraging anyone to take advantage of their kindness, but, I hope this little story can give you confidence in staying there. Yes maybe it's furnishing is not super new, but all the equipment you need is well maintained and the pool is kept very clean. If you're looking for somewhere feeling like home. This is it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshino-mura
Yamanakako Onsen
Hotel Mt. Fuji
Hotel Mt. Fuji
#1 of 40 in Yamanakako-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#4 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Oshino
#3 of 22 in Oshino-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#1 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#10 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Fujitomita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Fujitomita

Property: Inn Fujitomita
Address: 3235 Shibokusa, Minamitsuru-gun, Oshino-mura 401-0511, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Oshino-mura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Oshino-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn Fujitomita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Fujitomita is a family owned. Near Mt Fuji beautiful view from rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Inn Fujitomita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing