We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Nearby Hotels
Kasuitei Oya(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$349
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Konansou(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuji View Hotel(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$166
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuji Lake Hotel(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$319
$262
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mizuno Hotel(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$292
$218
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Fuji Ginkei(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Kozantei Ubuya(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$480
$439
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$603
$532
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Wakakusa no Yado Maruei(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$339
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel New Century(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$366
$145
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
50
99
37
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
99
37
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolshuttle busjapanese lunchseparate bedroomlarge roommount fujishuttle servicehotel staff arejapanese standardsgreat wififuji qwonderful viewonsen facilitiesshower headan upgradehotel roomfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 192 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As many other reviewers have said, this is a typical Japanese hotel; designed to be large, convenient and "Western style" but now past-its best before and starting to show its age. On the plus side, there is an Onsen, mini pool (too heavy on the chlorine!) and a free pick-up service from the station. On the down side, breakfast is bland, coffee is tasteless and they are not particularly "foreigner-friendly." I get the impression that most people only stay here because they have to, i.e. if they're off to climb Mt Fuji the next day or all other hotels in the area are booked out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talpinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The evening before our hike to the top of Mount Fuji, we stayed one night at the Regina Kawaguchiko.
We had a beautiful suite room, including a living room, a bedroom and a balcony with views on Mount Fuji. The room was very spacious compared to Japanese standards.
We ate shabu shabu at hotel restaurant, which was a great quality.
We also enjoyed the on-site onsen and sauna.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Regina Hotel before we hiked Mt Fuji, but the rooms were large (suite) and the staff was very accomodating. We booked a room with two twin beds and it came with a living room that had two couches and could've slept four! The staff spoke english reasonably well. We told them we were only there for the night as we were hiking Mt Fuji the next day. They offered to store our bags for the day until we returned to take the train to Tokyo that night. After hiking I called the shuttle to pick us up at the bus station and they automatically brought our bags to us (so we didn't have to go to hotel just to pick up the bags). Great service!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It a very clean hotel with great views of Mt. Fuji (when she wants to be seen). The room was spacious and the beds fairly big & comfy. The facilities for the room are very good - everything you need. The shabu-shabu dinner wasn't that good (we have had much better), but the buffet for breaky is excellent - plenty of western and Japanese choices; all good and fresh! I didn't like having to walk in front of the reception to get to the big public bath, but the bath itself was clean and fairly spacious; not as hot as I prefer it though. We've stayed twice already and will stay again, when we're down there.

Room Tip: Perhaps it was because of the timing ... the first time we stayed on the 4th floor and it was very quiet, but the second time, during Golden Week (Apr-May) we stayed on the 10th floor and we could hear the traffic. But it wasn't unbearable ... we still slept well.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here in November 2011 for the Fujikawaguchi-ko Marathon. This hotel was the "official" lodging for race participants, and it is a very lovely place. We stayed on the fifth floor, and based on our view I would estimate that every room at this hotel has a great view of Mt. Fuji (all rooms have windows facing Fuji-san) - as long as the weather is cooperating, of course. There is an on-site onsen (hot-spring bath) and restaurant. We did not utilize the onsen, but we did have a very nice, traditional Japanese dinner at the restaurant.

Our impression is the hotel is the sort that you don't bother leaving after sundown. Most guests probably hunker-down for a romantic or relaxing night with a warm bath in the onsen and then have a nice dinner at the restaurant before retiring to the room (which are very comfortably sized, especially by Japanese standards). We are more the type that like to explore the areas outside of the hotels in which we stay. In the case of the Hotel Regina, there is a small shopping center and a few restaurants within walking distance. However, unless you are comfortable communicating in Japanese, venturing out from the hotel for dinner will be a challenge. Most places did not have any sort of English menus, and English-speaking staff seemed very limited as well.

In addition, the hotel is pretty far from Lake Kawaguchi, definitely too far to walk (and we are walkers). The hotel does offer a shuttle service to the Kawaguchi-ko train station (about 10-15 minute ride), which is about a 10-minute walk from the lake (much closer). The shuttle service is very user-friendly, and I assume it is available to all guests at all times of the year (not just for the race weekend). However, as a whole I would recommend having your own mode of transportation (car) for this area. The places to see are very spread out, and cabs are expensive and difficult to utilize without Japanese language proficiency.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have better views of Fuji-san, however the hotel appears to be designed that all rooms have a view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust_2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews