We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$62
View deal
Booking.com$84
eDreams$70
Travelocity$70
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
133
108
27
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
133
108
27
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 270 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Kawaguchiko Station Inn is a family runned little inn with a fantastic location. I have to admit we chose it because it was located directly across the railway and bus station -super handy for catching buses to the 5th station or booking onward bound tickets. After taking several hours to get to Kawaguchiko I didn't want to face lugging my luggage around looking for a hotel in a strange town.

The entrance is on the side and you are invited to remove your shoes before entering. Slippers are provided for you to roam the hotel. Checking in is stress free and everyone speaks english. We got a room on the third floor which is a bit of a climb as there are no elevators. Do not be alarm that the communal area is a bit runned down, the room is perfectly fine and clean. All rooms are Japanese style with tatami mat. We were given a Mt. Fuji view room which was unobstructed and a pleasure to wake up to in the morning.There is a small table in the middle of the room with hotwater and tea. A small refrigerator and LCD TV (local channels only) are provided. Small hanging area to hang your clothes. Your futon beddings are available in the cupboard and you are expected to make your own bed - instructions diagram is posted on the notice board in the lobby area. The room is very very clean.

There are communal toilets on every floor, separated by sex (2 for each section) with 3 shared sinks per floor. Toilet slippers are offered outside the door. Two shower units are available on the 4th floor as well as two Japanese style communal bath (separated by sex) - the bath is wonderful to soak in after a full day of traipsing around. To be honest I am not used to sharing communal toilets in hotels and it was an interesting experience. The toilets are clean (as they provide seat liners) but in the communal sink area, the level of cleanliness really depends on your fellow guests' attention to details. I do have to say the locals are very clean it is us foreigners that are not as scrupulously clean as they are.

Secondly, as the bathrooms are communal, you do really need to time your showering and toilet times well. To be fair, the hotel was fully booked when we were there.

Free coffee and tea are offered in the lounge located in the basement. There are two computers with free internet in the basement as well as the restaurant area. Drinks vending machines are available on three floors. There are also washing machines on the fourth floor.

We opted for the Japanese breakfast package (700 yen extra per person), which you have to prebook. This is excellent and well worth it. The tray comes with a small plate of fresh salad, several condiments, rice, miso soup and panfried salmon. It was really really delicious.

Check out time is 10 AM. However, the hotel is very happy to store your luggage for you. I really have to commend the owner Mr. Furuoka for being so flexible and responsive with our booking dates and most importantly for his hospitality.

As the hotel is an inn, it is relatively basic but comfortable. What Kawaguchiko station Inn does make up for is its location and the hospitality and attention to detail of the owners.

NB: Incidently if you want to visit the local onsen, the hotel has discount vouchers, just ask at the reception.

Room tip: In your booking put in a request for Mt. Fuji view.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We chose this hotel/hostel for the location and we found it very convenient.

There is no lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up at least one flight of stairs.

The rooms were tatami rooms and hot water jug, tea, air conditioning. The toilets wre on the second floor and the showers on the fourth floor. There are 2 private showers for those not wanting to take a communal shower.

The reception kindly looked after our luggage whilst we climbed Mount Fuji. The next day we were able to take a shower (300Y each), collect our luggage and get on the train pretty easily.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Right across the street from Kawaguchiko Station you will find this hostel. The signboard is actually facing the street it's on so it is not easily visible from the station itself.

The lobby is small and conforming to Japanese tradition you remove your shoes and place them on a shelf. The owners speak decent English and will help you get settled in. A brief layout of the Hostel:

Basement: Chill area with tv, table, chairs, 2 internet computers and some self serve drinks.
Ground Floor: Lobby/reception, access to restaurant
2nd & 3rd: Individual rooms + bathrooms
4th: Laundry, showers & hot tub

Wifi is available in the basement as well. One thing to note is that there is no elevator, you will have to move any luggage manually. Although this is a hostel, i don't feel i'm being inconvenienced in any way when compared to a hotel, the amenities are simply being relocated. The entire facility is very clean and each room has a laminated paper with instructions.

The two shower rooms are great, clean and easy to use. The bathrooms have a common sink area and gender separated toilet section, very clean. The toilet (at least in the mens 3rd floor) is a western toilet complete with bidet multi-function seat.

The rooms themselves are traditional tatami mats. In the closet is the sleeping gear mats, blankets and pillows. A bathrobe/gown is given in the room and upon check in you are given a bath towel. There is a tv and some cups provided as well. Power outlets are polarized so they accept USA plugs (adapter needed if you have 3rd grounded prong).

One special tidbit i want to share: our reservation was for two nights. We stayed one night and planned to hike up mt fuji on the 2nd day. However the weather was terrible and the highway up to the 5th station was closed. We decided to divert to Tokyo and surprisingly the owner gave us a full refund for the 2nd night (we did leave before checkout time). He was even so thoughtful as to give us a post card since he was disappointed we could not hike up to the top.

Overall this is a fantastic Hostel at a great price. This should be your first choice unless you want to upgrade to a proper hotel. The location cannot be beat, you don't have to rent a cab or walk a long ways to any other location.

Room tip: If possible request a room facing the mountain, great view. Otherwise the side or rear facing rooms will point you towards the city or lake. There is a curfew and showers are not available during the night (11pm-early morning).
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A wonderful hotel with an unbeatable location. I didn't know this hotel has a Japanese style onsen when I booked... What a great surprise! It was the perfect way to relax after climbing Fuji for 2 days. Japanese (700¥) and western style (500¥) breakfast available in attached restaurant - DEFINATELY get the Japanese style, but you must reserve by 7pm the previous day. Great service and clean rooms, but the tatami smell is very strong if you are not used to it. Futons are very thin, so double up!

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celeste2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at Kawaguchi-ko Station Inn! It was extremely clean and the staff was really helpful with everything. They were knowledgeable of the area and their weather predictions for hiking were spot on! If we find ourselves in the area again we do plan on staying here!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnyfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews