We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful traditional Japanese accommodation”
Review of Sakuya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sakuya
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful traditional Japanese accommodation”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My one regret is that we only spent one night here. Could have easily stayed a week. The room was beautiful with tatami mats and futons. The food was absolutely superb and the dining room overlooked Mt Fuji. The owner encouraged us to have an onsen bath and it was one of the best experiences of my life. I highly recommend it. We were picked up from Oishi Park after spending the afternoon on the shore of Lake Kawaguchi waiting for Mt Fuji to appear through the cloud cover, which it finally did and we caught a glimpse of the snow-covered peak. There is a track up through the forested hills behind the guesthouse which I would have liked more time to explore. We enjoyed the walk down to the lake from the guesthouse, through farmland and orchards. Very peaceful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMDWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Guesthouse sakuya is just what you call a perfect getaway. We stayed in a group of 3. The owner picked us up from oishi park in 10 minutes after we called him. (We went to oishi park by retro bus from kawaguchiko station with fares 470 yen per person). The location though a bit remote about 15-20 minutes walk up the hill but the surrounding and scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. You can see the glorious mount fuji from the rooms. The guesthouse has a very homey athmosphere with a cozy lounge and dining room plus a bar at 1st floor. The whole areas are spotless. They have private onsen that you can book for 1 hour usage at the time of check in. The onsen also has the view of mount fuji. They rent bikes for 500 yen for touring the city. I stayed for 1 night with my sisters in western style room. The room was a bit more spacious than the usual japanese hotels. There was a clean bathroom with hot water running in our room. Sadly The wifi is available in the lounge area only. The guesthouse also offers meals for a day. We had dinner and breakfast for 1500 yen per person. The meals were japanese and they offered a selection of menu. They were delicious and the portion was generous. My sister even asked for a second rice bowl. ;) what makes this stay perfect is the superb service. the owner and his family are very friendly and kind. They speak english quite well which is a plus. When we got an accident with the muddy water near the lake, they offered to dry and clean our shoes. We will definitely stay here when we visit kawaguchiko again. We absolutely recommend this place. :) 5 stars!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ndreangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just the one night at the Sakuya lodge. It was a bit out of the way but so peaceful. The owner was very helpful, picking us up and dropping us off at the station. The Onsen was great as we were able to take a private dip in the afternoon, (they are communal in a morning - seperated men and women) and I must say was truly relaxing. We ate dinner and breakfast there and both were reasonably priced and tasty. After dinner we sat and played cards whilst drinking omeshu (Japanese plum brandy) - just brilliant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My fiancée and I where coming from Tokyo, still a bit jet lagged when we arrived at this hotel. Our first observation was that it's far. But what first seemed like a issue quickly became an asset!!! Really! We took the japanese style room (second door at the end on the first floor corridor). What made our stay so special?
1. Being able to spend the night with the big window wide open so we could hear grasshopper while watching fuji-san all night (see picture).
2. Around the hotel, it's a relax little rural comunity (far from touristy kawaguchi) that is just happy the say hello while you walk or bike by.
3. Last, but far from least, the owners are just perfect! Kind, descrete, and always ready to tell you if you can have just for your self the amazing onsen!

Truly among my best experiences in japan, and whe've been to other amazing places (like the luxurious Hoshinoya in Kyoto).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomiminicB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in may and as we drove in, we though what they hell are we going to do. It was a fair way away from the town up a big hill. But as we got to know the staff and the place we could relax at the amazing views and the owner was more than happy to drive us into town when we wanted to go.
The rooms were fine but I would recommend getting a Japanese style room as they were better than the western rooms. Great hot spring and great place to chill out. Not the place to stay if you want to party but I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ablett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this guesthouse for one night in October 2012, the purpose was pleasure/sightseeing.

The hotel staff is extremely helpful, welcoming and friendly. Even weeks before our arrival they contacted us by email to advise on how to get to the hotel upon arrival at Kawaguchiko train station: For arrivals after 3pm the hotel offers pick-up at the train station, before that time one has to take the sightseeing bus for 15 minutes to Oishi station until 1.5km distance to the hotel, and then the hotel picks the guests up. The hotel also dropped us back off at the train station next morning.

We did enjoy the authentic Japanese experience, as we chose the traditional sleeping option of mattresses on the floor. It was a nice surprise when we were offered a private one hour stay in the hotel "onsen" (hot bath).

The hotel as built in 1988, it has been maintained well and is spotless clean however one should not expect a new property.

The dinner and breakfast were Japanese style, very tasteful and the best value for money we got on our entire Japan trip (3,000 Yen for two persons for both breakfast and dinner!).

There is a possibility to walk a bit around Kawaguchiko lake to watch Mt. Fuji or rent bikes from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this Guest House for 1 night but we all loved it.

The guest house location is ideal for people who like to be far away from tourist corner as the guest house is slightly up on the hill, approx. 15 minutes Drive by car from the Kawaguchiko Bus Station. The taxi fare from the Bus Station to the Guest House is approx. 3,000 YEN (1,200 THB).
Normally the guest house also provides pick-up and transfer service for the guest from the Bus Station but you have to get in touch with them in advance.

However, there is only one Italian Restaurant in the area and locates approx. 10 minutes by Bicycle from the Guest House. So, if you stay here, I would recommend you to have breakfast and dinner at the guest house as the Chef can prepare an excellent home cooking meal for you.

It's simple but it's very tasty, especially the cooked fish with plum sauce on top. The price of dinner is approx. 800 YEN (320 THB), which include Miso Soup, A little bit of vegetable, 1 piece of Fish, 1 Small Rice Bowl and a little starter like deep fried chicken or pork. It might sound little but it's really enough to make you full and satisfied.

You have the choices of room for European Style or Japanese Style Room. We were a group of 4 people and we got 1 European Style Room on the 2nd Floor and 1 Japanese Room on the 1st Floor, however both rooms are nice as you have a view of Mt. Fuji.. Especially when the sky is blue and clear, you will see the beautiful Mt. Fuji from your room and also from the dining room.

Room Tip: Either European or Japanese Room, You will have a great view of Mt. Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarissMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#7 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
167 reviews
Kawaguchiko Station Inn
#1 of 123 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
229 reviews
Den's Inn
#5 of 123 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#10 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
216 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
414 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#4 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakuya

Property: Sakuya
Address: 2526 Oishi, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0305, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sakuya 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Sakuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakuya Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing