We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Private Car Tour to Mt. Fuji Lake Kawaguchiko or Hakone Lake Ashi
294

Book in advance
from
$1,170.97
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Itchiku Kubota Art Museum
from $1,170.97
More Info
from $450.00
More Info
from $3,415.33
More Info
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
253
83
14
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
253
83
14
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life muromachi period techniques kimono dyeing symphony silk textiles gaudi masterpiece seasons exhibited nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 362 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2019

The main attraction here are the kimono made by the artist Itchiku Kubota. He rediscovered a method of dyeing Kimono when he was 60. And those kimono turned out to be masterpieces. Did not give full marks because the most famous series is not in this museum but in US. Nonetheless, it's still a great place to see real beauty.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank weeteck1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Every single one of his work is breathtaking. Be sure not to miss the English video which is shown in a separate area before you enter the room where the kimonos are displayed. There is also a pamphlet with a brief description of each of the displays in English.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank pantac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

We visited this museum on April 5. There is a bus stop not far from the museum (Stop 17 of the Omni bus – red line). You cannot take pictures inside the main hall. There is a video with English subtitles that explains how the artiest created these kimono's. Which are in fact all art pieces.
In the surrounding gardens you will see some of the pieces he collected from around the world.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

We loved the museum and was the highlight of our day apart from seeing Mt Fuji in all her glory
Stunning kimono display. What an incredibly talented man
The museum’s architecture is amazing and gardens are lovely. We ended the day having a quite cup of coffee outside the gift shop and were treated with the most amazing view of Mt Fuji

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank AlisonA1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

This museum was the highlight of our day at Lake Kawaguchiko, and my only gripe is that I don't have photos to remember how beautiful the work was as there are no pics allowed - and no book of the work that they sell. The really strange but interesting building that houses the work is part of the attraction, and the setting with a view of the mountain is lovely. There is a small cafe and of course a gift shop too.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank ozteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews