We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Kawaguchiko Oishi - A Beautiful Stopover with super views of Fuji-san!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Kawaguchiko

Lake Kawaguchiko
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.07*
and up
Day Trip To Yamanashi Prefecture Including Wine and Fruit Tasting from Tokyo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lake Kawaguchiko Oishi - A Beautiful Stopover with super views of Fuji-san!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Friends with a condo in Oishi (bus stop#20) brought us here after a drive up to Mt. Fuji 5th Station. The views from here are fantastic. There are rows and rows of lavender growing around the Oishi Natural Living Centre (bus stop #21). This area can be easily accessed on the Retro Bus from Kawaguchiko Station. We can't comment personally on hotels in the area but as best as we can tell all the properties we observed seem to cater more to the domestic market. Foreign visitors here tend to be mostly day-trippers from Tokyo. Such a shame really as there is so much more to see than can be done in a day. Some of the walks around Lake Kawaguchiko are adventures by themselves.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TemboOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    468
    119
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Peaceful with some great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I envy residents of Tokyo that they can take a trip from the city to here - it's lonly a 2 hours bus ride away.
The lake is a great place to take a walk and there are water bikes available for rent.
If you want to get a great view of Mt Fuji, you can climb a small hill and watch it from the observation deck. The climb up is not hard.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place around Mt. Fuji”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The lake is very attractive and interesting place to visit around. Another great place to visit over the weekend outside busy Tokyo. Taking only 1-2 hours on the bus from Shinjuku bus terminal to arrive Kawaguchiko station. Local hotel and hostel are around and easy to find in the internet. It takes 2-3 days to visit all the places around the lake with hop on-hop off retro bus. You can save some budget by buying Fuji-Hakone pass from Odakyu sightseeing counter at Shinjuku JR station.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuangsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place around Mt. Fuji”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great place to escape from busy and hectic life in Tokyo. This place is really cool and quiet. The scenery was great (you can get the lake and mt. fuji in one capture) and the air was so fresh. But I recommend not to stay for long time around here since nothing you can do than walking around the lake and enjoy the view and air. I think 1 or 2 days is enough.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank febrymuhammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“lovel place near Mt Fuji”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited here for a day trip Easter 2012 and as we were back in Japan in July decided we'd return to climb Mt Fuji. We were surprised how quiet the place is in summer. The Japanese schools were still in session until late July, so maybe that was the reason. We hired bikes from near the station and cycled round the lake whichwas great fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Kawaguchiko also viewed

Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
 
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
 

Been to Lake Kawaguchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing