We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
16
22
11
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
22
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese stylelifestyleguestslakefloor
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 56 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

This was obviously an opportunity for guests to experience the "old" Japan - in fact this is an old hotel with a very steep drive you have to walk up (bags are taken on a small truck). There's a small verandah overlooking a lake but the room was bitterly cold with the balcony doors open, aircon helped with the doors closed. We had a typical Japanese meal downstairs with other groups. No safe, no phone. Breakfast not bad, at least some eggs and fruit. Public bathhouses for both M & F, I'm afraid I'm a bit old for sleeping on thin mattress on the floor.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diedre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

It's a hundred year hotel with natural hot spring (onsen) source. When I first entered their lobby, it's filled with an uncomfortable heater smell. The bedroom is in tatami style, the space is wide enough for three people to sleep. There're yukatas in the cupboard which you can try on and take photo (rmb to wear it in the correct way). But their toilet area is very smelly, the shower area doesn't look very clean too, I can't stand the thought of bathing there. Their breakfast and dinner are of average only.

My family can't sleep well on the "tatami cotton bed" as the old heater there wasn't functioning at its best. Another annoying thing is that they don't provide electric kettle! You need to purposely go to the lobby to get hot water.

In the morning you can go out to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the lake and mt fuji, pass through the tunnel and walk for around 10 mins you'll find a good photography spot for the mountain. Trying once for the tatami is enough, I don't think I'll go for the second time.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Good and clean rooms. Nice views of the lake and mountains. Easy access from Kawaguchiko train station on foot. Good open-air hot bath offered with nice view. Breakfast quality was average. Some guests were a little noisy and inconsiderate.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maroun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Staying in this hotel, you experience a bit of the Japanese lifestyle as there are no bed but just mats & mattresses to sleep on. Thee are also Kimenos in the rooms which you can wear and head out straight for dinner like a Japanese ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This hotel had, first and fore-most, a great view of the lake. The bedding was very comfortable, and if you prefer a softer bed like I do, good news: there's tons of extra bedding in the closet. The room itself was quite large and was adequately appointed.

The hotel lobby itself is unique, though: you can play table tennis, arcade games, sit in a massage chair or put your feet into a pool filled with those fish that eat the dead skin - all of this is free for guests, which we appreciated; I can't say as I've ever seen a hotel lobby like this one. There was also a special area in the lobby for guests to bring their dogs.

The only downside to this hotel is that to get to it you have to climb a rather steep hill, so for people with disabilities etc., that might not be very convenient, however they do have a shuttle that you can arrange for to drive you up and down.

Be aware that the area shuts down and 'goes to sleep', so to speak, around 7pm. We noticed this to be the case in a lot of Japan, the rural areas in particular.

If you're into this sort of thing, there's a trained monkey show just down the road that was pretty interesting: it's more geared towards entertaining children, but it's also good for people like us who have the mentality of a child lol.

Overall a good stay and we would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RyguyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews