We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Konansou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Konansou
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was a great introduction to a ryokan. The onsen facilities are nice and being able to sit outside was great. The roof area with the view of Mt. Fuji was fantastic.
It was a nice downhill walk from the station and we were grateful of the lift back in the hotel minibus for free.
We had a nice lake room view and felt a couple of days here was good.
We had a private room for dinner and breakfast which was great. Dinner was delicious but we found Japanese breakfast a bit much, not because it wasn't nice but due to personal preference but the shop at the end of the road did take out coffee and pastries.
Overall we loved our stay here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    88
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
125
200
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and son wanted to climb Mt. Fuji. I didn't. We hoped that the Konansou would be the perfect (if rather expensive) solution: Three nights for me, two nights for them, at an elegant and comfortable ryokan on a beautiful lake with easy access to Mt. Fuji and lots to explore locally. Beautiful lake? Check. Easy access to Mt. Fuji? Check. Elegant and comfortable ryokan with lots to explore? Uhh...well, maybe for one night, but definitely not for three. Here's why:
(1) It's a ryokan. This means sleeping on futons and sitting on chairs with seats that practically touch the floor. Fine for one night, but painful after three, and very discouraging for someone with nowhere to go during the day (and even if there had been a place to sit, the in-room wifi was spotty to non-existent). Further, although our family does have halting Japanese language reading and writing capability, it wasn't enough to figure out the complicated electronics involved in the tub, the tea kettle, the television, aspects of the air conditioning, etc. The staff were willing enough to come to our room and push buttons for us, but their English was too poor for any in-depth explanations, so we had to keep asking for help. Tiresome for both parties.
(2) The food. We love most elements of Japanese cuisine, but Konansou offers all the elements we don't love--in particular, bland food that would appeal to people with no teeth. Gelatinous, vaguely sweet or fishy items beautifully prepared and presented at our own attractive, two-inches-from-the-floor dining table overlooking Lake Kawaguchiko. Breakfast, served in one of the public rooms, was worse, if only because we were really hungry after eating so little the night before.
(3) The clientele. The Konansou is not a traditional ryokan, it's quite modern, with lots of meeting rooms, a small video arcade room, and a karaoke room as well as beautiful public bath areas. We saw some families and some fellow tourists, but mostly we saw groups of men (and a very few women) that seemed to be participating in work-related retreats. And although the staff were of course extremely polite to us, their main attention was clearly given to these clients--we felt rather marginal to the main event.
(4) The town. The lake is indeed quite lovely, but other than going paddle-boating, there's not much to do around town. It's very small, with very few shops or places to eat, and even fewer that are accessible to people with limited Japanese. It's also very *hot* in July (no surprise), so while walking around the lake is pleasant, hiking into the local hills did not appeal. So for two days I mostly sat in the Konansou lobby, drinking weak coffee (served only from 9 to 10am) and using the free hotel wifi from the comfort of a Western-style chair. Not a terrible outcome, but not worth the money we paid to stay at the Konansou.
In sum--the Konansou was okay. The lake is beautiful, the baths are beautiful, access to Fuji is easy, the rooms are beautiful but not comfortable, the food was not at all to our taste, the town is dull and the whole package cost much more than hotels we really liked in Tokyo and Kyoto. If I decide to stay at a ryokan next time we visit, it will be a traditional one.

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms have a beautiful view of the lake, no view of Mt. Fuji. Since Fuji-san is often wre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JB-in-SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We managed to squeeze in a one-night stay at Konansou during our Tokyo trip last year and it was the BEST thing we have ever done. Prior to booking a stay at this hotel, we had been researching several lodging and we still found the Konansou offers the best view of the majestic Mt Fuji as well as magnificent Lake Kawaguchi, and best value for money, compared to others.

Prior to departure, we have bought the train ticket that only takes 1 hour ride straight from Tokyo to 5th station, BUT, the typhoon had stopped the train service and we were forced to take a nearly 3-hour bus ride from Shibuya but terminal to Mt Fuji. Despite that fiasco, our spirit was not at all affected and the hotel lived up to our expectations and more, thanks to the excellent service offered by Konansou.

Upon arrival at about 7 pm local time, we were welcomed and greeted by the warm and hospitable hotel staff and within minutes, we were brought to our traditional Japanese-style room with old-school tatami bed and private onsen (hot spring, love it)!

The meals--both breakfast and dinner, were the best meals we have had in Japan, hands down. They really live up to the Japanese spirit of serving nothing but the freshest food in season and the best way of cooking them without compromising the natural flavor of the ingredients. We truly enjoyed the meal in private dining room, tatami style, no less.

The onsen in our room overlooks the Mt Fuji which is the most incredible landmark of Japan! But to get the best view of the mountain and lake, it's worth the while to wake up early (about 6 am in early September) to behold and be in awe of the natural beauty of them from the rooftop, it doesn't hurt that it comes with self-service hot spring foot soak on the rooftop too!

A lot of guests were not aware that some packages include dinner and breakfast as it was not clearly stated as mentioned in several reviews by previous guests, it would be recommendable to double confirm before the booking.

This is one of the few hotels (probably the only one so far that I rated Excellent) but I would like to comment on the onsen, it's nice BUT it's fairly small. The size of the "bucket-style onsen" is meant for average Asian, if they are targeting at wider range of tourists from America and Europe, this is one area they need to consider. Otherwise, the public onsens (one indoor and one outdoor) are for the use of hotel guests. They view from the public onsen is gorgeous!

Tips:
1) Indulge: We had the in-room Shiatsu massage by two Japanese therapists, they were excellent and very reasonably-priced, we wish we could have a longer massage session, they massage was so good that as we were both snoozed away in no time.

2) Japanese takes pride in providing the best service, some may be offended if they have been offered tips by hotel guests, even as a token of appreciation (a feature very distinctively different from many parts of Asia). A "thank you" card or gesture of thanks will be much more appreciated than money.

Room Tip: Request for a room away from the lift for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YvonneWoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a trip highlight! We loved the traditional meals and the friendly staff. The onsen were AMAZING! The best we experienced all trip. We hiked Fuji while staying here. Access to 5th station was a breeze. The hotel received and sent back our rental gear, making the experience super easy. The fuji views were breathtaking when they finally came out. Do yourself a favor and spend a night at this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TheFriz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Talk about being in heaven! Our family of three stayed in a large room with a view of Mt. Fuji. Because the sun rose at 4:00 a.m., we were awake that early to capture the majesty of Mt. Fuji while soaking in our personal furo on our deck. Mt. Fuji was visible only during the early morning or evening time, and was blocked by clouds the rest of the day. Although we didn't get to see much of Mt. Fuji, we opted for this room view as opposed to the lake view which faces the parking lot that is adjacent to the lake.

The room was huge, always clean and comfortable for the three of us. The service we received was incomparable to any service we have experienced! We had a personal attendant who brought our meals every evening to our room and served our breakfast to us in the dining room every morning during our four-day stay. I think every room is assigned to their own personal attendant during the length of their stay. Although her English was limited, we were able to communicate well. Her personal service and friendly demeanor meant a lot to us!

The hotel staff tries hard to accommodate any food allergies. I notified them through their website (prior to our arrival) of a glucose intolerance in our family and they served totally separate meals for this, which were just as fulfilling and delicious as the other meals. The food was beautifully presented and a feast for our senses!

Extra pluses:
Free transportation to and from train station.
Retro bus, which tours Lakes Kawaguchi and Sai, stops right across the hotel.
Delicious and authentic kaiseki meals.
Many sightseeing activities within walking distance from hotel (Ropeway, etc.).

Although the prices are steep, our experience here was well worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cairo408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for a night in a lake side japanese room with private outdoor onsen. It located on the 8th floor, the top floor of the ryokan. The room is big, clean and comfortable. The lake view is excellent. The location is great, they provide free shuttle to the train station or just 10 mins walk.

The japanese dinner set is nice and delicious, served in the room. The breakfast served in the restaurant, it is delicious as well.

We tried the public onsen in the early morning, wonderful view of Fuji mountain!

It worth every cents, highly recommended!

Room Tip: japanese style room with private bath, lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Most hotels around Mount Fuji are expensive but I really wanted a mountain view and hot tub so booked Konansou based on some excellent reviews. Given the steep price tag we were expecting great things. The whole experience is definitely worth trying, the Japanese rooms are novel and the views fantastic, but I wouldn't describe the hotel in any way luxurious. The room was very sterile, the hot tub literally a 'tub' with no jets or seat and the food whilst incredibly pretty definitely wasn't the finest fish and seafood we tried in Japan. I'm not sure whether other hotels are any better value for money and Mount Fuji is a must see but just be warned it might not be quite what you had in mind!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#3 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
450 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
#2 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
274 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#4 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#13 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
211 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#11 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
217 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
#7 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konansou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konansou

Property: Konansou
Address: 4020-2 Funatsu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#1 Spa Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#5 Family Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Konansou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Konansou, and soak your feet in a footbath on the roof, with the perfect view of Mt. Fuji. The resort also has 2 public baths; one for men, and one for women. 3 private baths, all with views of Mt. Fuji, are also available for booking. We also offer shiatsu massage, spa treatment, an amusement arcade, 3 karaoke booths, a coffee shop and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Konansou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konanso Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Konansou Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing