We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth my every cent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konansou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Konansou
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth my every cent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's one of the best stay during my 14 days Japan trip!

1) Book early! Not sure if it was due to the marathorn, everywhere else that i wanted to stay was fully booked. I was so glad that i managed to get a room at Konansou but it was really on the pricier side.

2) Room was AWESOME. I had a Mt Fuji View from my room. It was winter but i still soak in the tub outdoor and enjoyed the view. One of the highlight of my whole trip! I wish i had more time there!!!

3) Service-service was awesome though they hardly speak english except the ladies at the reception. On the day when i checked out, i had to connect from kawaguchiko to Hakone. I didnt do any research (wrong move) and the staffs eagerly helped me out and even help me to call up the hotel at Hakone. They gave me clear instructions on the buses and helped me out with the timetable too. Without them, i will probably be very lost.

4) Dinner-served in the room. To be honest, not as spectacular as i imagined it to be. Server couldnt speak english so she didnt introduce the dishes. Not sure if it was because of our dietary restriction (no beef), the meal was quite simple.

5) Sleeping-very good sleep on the Futon

I will visit again and i highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for Mt Fuji View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blueariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    82
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
117
172
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a great hotel.Located in a beautiful place outlooking the lake and Mt Fuji. It's within a walking distance from the train station, but you can always call a shuttle from a public phone on the station and they will pick you up within minutes. We usedthis option twice.

Checkin was a blast, and all the staff was extremaly helpful. In general the quality of service in Japan is great but I must admit that in Konanso, everything was superb.

Food was also great. We asked for a vegetarian option for my wife and it has been fully respected. Food was both delicious and good looking.

We booked a room with private onsen (hot spring bath) and it was totally worth it. The room was huge, nicely furnished, and the bath was amazing. We slept on a tatami and tha futons were very comfy. It was raining and very foggy almost during all our stay so we were happy that our room was on the lake side, because we were at least able to see the lake. Those who had rooms with view to Mt. Fuji were only able to see clouds most of the time.

On the downside, I must say that the Wifi reception was not very good. We had to sit next to the door or go t the lobby to be able to connect.

We tried all the hot baths that are in the hotel and they were all nice. The family bath with a view to Mt. Fyji is a really good option and I recomend everyone to book it.

Room Tip: Room with the hot spring is a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elrobsono83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here in a room with a view of Mt. Fuji (which due to a typhoon was covered in clouds). However, the stay was still very nice. The onsen was spacious and very pretty. We also had a private tube on our balcony which was the highlight of our trip.

The room was amazing. When you opened the room with the toilet the lights came on and the toilet seat raised up.

The food was delicious. Most of the staff we encountered could speak some level on English which was helpful when trying to figure out what you were eating or bus schedules. While this place cost more than most of the other places we stayed, it was well worth it. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with a private bath on the balcony was a really nice treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sablejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I dont even know where to begin. The food is insane, like 15 courses per meal (you wont know what youre eating half the time which is fine its all delicious), the hot springs both in the room and on the roof are amazingly relaxing and clean and modern and the staff are beyond professional and welcoming. The Lake itself is also a fantastic place with fun boat rides and great views of Mt Fuji and cute cafes all within minutes from the hotel. Highlight of an amazing trip to Japan.

Room Tip: Call hotel to get a free and easy transfer from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This ryokan gave us an amazing taste of traditional Japanese culture. We chose a room with a private onsen overlooking Lake Kawaguchiko and it was simply beautiful. We took advantage of the rooftop foot spa and were lucky enough to have a clear day with stunning views of Mt. Fuji. Dinner was served to us by a lovely Japanese maid who was so accommodating and took care of our every whim. The dinner was delicious, so many delicacies and a huge array of food. Breakfast was also very traditional, which can be very hard to stomach if you are used to toast and cereal for breakfast! The room is lovely, clean and you are provided with traditional robes and slippers. Someone comes to lay out your sleeping mat for you after you have finished dessert. We used the extra mattresses to add more padding as they were very thin! Overall, such an incredible experience and we are so glad that we chose the Konansou!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Simply amazing.

Room japanise style with lake view is huge, wide, with entrance and separate toilet and bathroom. All is clean and brand new. The onsen (separate ladies and gents) is top of class.

The dinner served in the room by a very kind and professional waitress, who explains you all the meals and how shall be delighted, is one of the best I tried.

Simply outstanding, worth every yen paid!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank baxialby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
196 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I asked our Japanese friend one night special outing from Tokyo. They did not diasppoint us. The hotel is 80 minutes bus trip from Shinjku, whcih is one of major train stations in Tokyo. Our room faced the Kawaguchiko Lake but from the public bath, the mount Fuji was just infron of us. If you pay more, I think they have rooms with Mt Fuji View and private open bath.The dinner was splended. We were completely satisfied with both quantity and quality of foods. They have small buy nice local bar list We enjoyed Sake. We were little relucnat to eat the dinner in our Japanese room but turned out excellent in terms of very relaxed private envirinment. Also, very silent but strong ventilator did not leave any smell. Another attraction of this hotel is their host spas. There are two main spas each for gentlemen and ladies. Open air bath section is fantasatic ! Cool air, hot spring water and panaramic Fuji mountain view and in the night, stars ! We stayed during low season and the room was booked through our friends in Japanese travel internet agency. It was amazingly reasonable. If we have another opportunity to come back, we definitely return to this hotel, prefereably during summer. Lastly, the hotel staff can understand English and work hard to look after non Japanese tourist. We felt Omo-te-nashi.
It was great experience and was the highlight of our end of the year tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#10 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#2 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#14 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
#1 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
#9 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kukuna
Kukuna
#5 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konansou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konansou

Property: Konansou
Address: 4020-2 Funatsu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#2 Spa Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#5 Family Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Konansou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Konansou, and soak your feet in a footbath on the roof, with the perfect view of Mt. Fuji. The resort also has 2 public baths; one for men, and one for women. 3 private baths, all with views of Mt. Fuji, are also available for booking. We also offer shiatsu massage, spa treatment, an amusement arcade, 3 karaoke booths, a coffee shop and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Konansou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konanso Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Konansou Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing