We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
150
40
10
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
40
10
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckopen air bathview of the lakeexcellent viewryokan experiencei highly recommend this hotelexcellent stayentire stayjapanese futonsprivate hot bathmassage chairtraditional dinnerprivate onsenkawaguchiko stationmount fujidining hallgreen tea
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 214 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2017

we stayed for 1 night and the experience is above average. The staff there were very friendly and approachable. Dinner and breakfast was exquisite! they have open air bath with mountain view- if the weather allows you can definite see mount fuji. Our room is mountain/lake view. if you want to see mount fuji, you can also climb up to roof top at level 5. Direct bus to and from Kawaguchiko Station. they provide shuttle service as well, few times a day. there is wifi but it gets disonnected easily. the only thing that i have to complain is that i found some seaweed snacks in the pocket of yukata(hotel bathing cloth) they provided, guess they didn't wash the yukata? Overall, it was money worth spent.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patronusdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
About the matters you pointed out during your stay at our ryokan “Maruei”, we sincerely admit them as precious comments.
We will make an effort to solve and improve for trying to make a progress.Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

This Ryokan is our worth experience in Japan....You enter the rooms and everything smells tobacco,even your bed and bed sheets...They don't have non smoking rooms...Then Onsen is dirty and smells only chlore which has been added to the water...You don't have a view of the Fuji San and if you want to see this magnificent Mountain you have to climb the 2 floor of metallic steps to see Fuji San.
Food is bad, do not expect to have the great Japanese food which is usually served in the Ryokans.
We booked for 2 nights,we stayed only 1 day and of course we paid for 2 days...
My concern is why Japanican rates this hotel as an4.1/2 stars??? This is a establishment of 3 stars Maximum...
Even reputable tourist companies will loose their authorities.
Misrepresentation...This is what I call it!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
6  Thank Jaleh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay, we regret we could not make you much satisfied during your stay.
We are going to make an every effort to make our ryokan loved by all the guests.
Therefore, please choose our ryokan “Maruei” as one of your favorite ones when you visit Lake Kawaguchi again.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

I highly recommend this ryokan if you are looking for an opportunity to experience a traditional Japanese lifestyle. The staff is very hospitable and does a fantastic job making your stay comfortable.

It is easily accessible as there are buses that take you right into Gateway Fujiyama at Kawaguchiko Station–just call when you arrive and they will pick you up at the station. The staff welcomes you with macha tea and sweets while you check in and accompany you to your room to explain the details of the ryokan. 


There is also a daily free shuttle bus service from the ryokan to Kawaguchiko Station that runs every 30 minutes. There is plenty to do in the area outside the ryokan when you want to venture out for the day.
When you arrive at the hotel you are given a “yukata” (like a long kimono) to wear your entire stay. You have a choice between western style beds or Japanese futons on tatami mats and the same choice with western style breakfast and dinner or traditional Japanese cuisine. Try the tatami mats and kaiseki (many courses) cuisine for a comfortable sleep and delicious dinner! 


Our room (Room 506 in the Nonohana Wing) was large, with an entryway, two rooms sectioned off with sliding rice paper doors; a bath with a traditional soaking tub, toilet, and the front sitting room had sliding glass doors with a lovely view of Lake Kawaguchiko. Off the sitting room was a small outside rock garden with a “soaking tub”.
There are 2 separate baths for men and women with natural hot springs from the volcanic outlets of Mt. Fuji. You have a choice of the large indoor bath and a smaller Open-air bath. Each day the baths switch from men to women so that you can get a view of Mt. Fuji or of the Lake. We stayed here 2 nights and only visited the smaller “Open-Air baths” which were very relaxing.
It can be a little intimidating if you are unfamiliar with the etiquette and procedures of a ryokan and the hot spring baths- but you can get so much great information online to make you feel more at ease.
Wakakusa no yado maraui also has an outdoor rooftop Observatory for viewing Mt. Fuji. All 3 days we had great views of Mt. Fuji.
We loved everything about this ryokan and would recommend it if you are really looking for a relaxing time!

    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank reenieroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay at our ryokan “Maruei”, it is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed.
We are very glad to receive your great feedback and honorable messages.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Staff were very warm and friendly, authentic experience of being in a traditional Japanese home. Great view of the lake, too bad it was too cold and foggy thus, unable to see Mount Fuji from my room. On a clear day, the view would be awesome.

Dinner, Breakfast and setting up of the beds were all very detailed. They explained what is contained in each dish that they served. They were not able to provide halal food however, they tried to accommodate to our request for no meat and no alcohol. Seafood = fresh. Meal times are very specific, and it allows for the place to accommodate all the guests.

A massage chair in the room which relieved our aching bodies after a long journey. The guest's name is pasted beside the door of your room. Makes you feel that they values you as a guest. Amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safiah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay at our ryokan “Maruei”, it is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed.
We are very glad to receive your great feedback and honorable messages.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

Excellent view from rooftop.
Mountain view from my bedroom It's covered by trees.(I'm so sad because it's more expensive than lake view)
I love breakfast.(very delicious)
Rice and soup , you can add no limit.

Dinner is normal.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jaruwan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay, we regret we could not make you much satisfied during your stay.
We are going to make an every effort to make our ryokan loved by all the guests.
Therefore, please choose our ryokan “Maruei” as one of your favorite ones when you visit Lake Kawaguchi again.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews