We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for as long as you can (afford)!”
Review of Kozantei Ubuya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kozantei Ubuya
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Stay here for as long as you can (afford)!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was the second stop for our honeymoon and we really wanted to splash out and relax for the weekend (3 days, 2 nights). We are SO glad that Kozantei Ubuya did not disappoint. We checked in at about 1pm and the room was not ready yet, which was fine so we went for lunch first and by the time we got back it was ready.

The room was the traditional japanese style and it was huge and did indeed have a fantastic view of Mt Fuji. It is along the main road in Fujikawaguchiko but it's not noisy at all. They provide Yukatas, socks and slippers for you to wear around the compound. The yukatas are super comfortable and fun to wear. The room comes with all the toiletries and they also give you free desserts in your room each day.

For the price you pay it really is all-inclusive. All you have to pay for the rest of the stay is any additional drinks and lunch (outside the ryokan). There is the public bath area, free massage chairs, a library and a lounge area which all have the same amazing views of Mt. Fuji. They also have free drinks from 3-6pm and 9-10pm. Sometimes it's tea and coffee and sometimes it's wine/sake that is produced themselves. For the public bath, they do have rules which state that you can't wear any swimming wear so you do have to be prepared to go in naked. But the outdoor bath is really very nice...to be soaking in the hot water with the cool air on your face.

The breakfast and dinner (which is included in the price) is really amazing. We chose the Japanese set for both and they really feed you with a lot of food. For breakfast you get like 10-12 different little things and everything is just so delicious. The service is so personal and amazing. Dinner is a top-notch Kaiseki set. The seafood is crazy fresh (and this is saying something considering I don't like seafood), and everything is prepared so delicately and beautifully. Also, because it was our honeymoon they took a picture of us, framed it and wrote personal messages for us on the frame itself and gave us a bottle of their wine. Our waiter Kuono/Kohno was really nice and spoke the best english out of everyone we'd met over our trip.

The location of the ryokan is probably the furthest out of all the other major ryokans and hotels in the area but it's still only about a 1km walk to the main town area. Along the way, you pass the Kachi-Kachi ropeway and some other restaurants and dessert shops. It's a nice walk along the lakeside with a view of Mt Fuji so no issues there. Kozantei also provides a free shuttle bus every half an hour in the morning that takes you to the major stops from the hotel to the Fujikawaguchiko train station..so if you don't feel like walking you can always book your place on the bus.

There is only free wifi in the lounge area and not in the rooms, which is fine as you're meant to be relaxing anyway.

Overall if you add in the cost of the meals (which are really high quality) and the quality of the rooms and service it is really worth every dollar you pay. So just dive in and enjoy your stay!

A note on getting there from Tokyo - the JR line only goes up to a certain point, then you'll have to switch to the local train line which will cost you another 1100 yen per person or something like that to get you to Fujikawaguchiko. From Kozantei we headed to Kyoto and to get there we took the bus from Fujikawaguchiko train station to Mishima train station (~ 1.5 - 2 hours), then caught a Shinkansen to Kyoto. I'd advise reserving your seat for this section ahead of time because when we got to Mishima station and tried to reserve a seat, it was all full and we had to take our chance on the non-reserved carriages (we got a seat there, but just to be safe it'd be better to reserve as it doesn't cost extra anyway).

Room Tip: If you can afford it I suppose it's best to go for the one with the private spa because if not y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reggiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    93
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
177
187
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is one of the best hotels and experiences I've ever had. Stayed with adult kids. All enjoyed from arrival to departure. Excellent service - enjoyed the spa- food. Only regret need a minimum of 3 days..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this establishment was first class. From the personal check in with green tea to the phenomenal dining experience to the private Japanese bath on our balcony with breathtaking views of Mt Fuji. This is a night we will never forget. Magical!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BgirlTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We moved here after staying for 2 days else where in Kawaguchiko. Having gone touring around the other lakes during the day, our local guides dropped us off at Kozantei at around 5 pm.

Staff attentiveness is very high. Immediately upon getting off the vehicle we were greeted by the staff who saw to the bags and patiently helped us to take a photo. Upon entry we were ushered to a seat as they collected our passports and checked us in. We were given a room at the end of the main building, which in itself was good as that meant it was quieter. All rooms face the lake and we were lucky that the sky was clear as the sun set. Dinner was in the main dining room and unlike my previous accommodation, there were more dining sessions to choose from.

Dinner in the main dining room is on the 2nd floor and we were given a private dining room, which was like a large fish tank as it was enclosed by glass so as to give us a view of the lake and the southern shore. As with most ryokkans, food served was kaiseki. a server was appointed to our 'room' and a small electronic buzzer was provided so that we could buzz him if needed. This gave us our privacy and yet have the personal service that one comes to expect in a Japanese style inn.

The hot spring is located in the annex building at the far end. The men's bath has 2 floors. The locked and shower area as well as an indoor soaking pool are located on the first level. A spiral stairs up bring you to a sauna room, a jacuzzi bath and an outdoor pool. Except for the sauna all facilities face the lake and Mount Fuji. At the bottom of the spiral stair is a cooled water source meant for drinking and replacing lost body water from all that soaking in the hot springs and using the sauna.

The lobby area has a small gift shop (generally over priced) that sells some specialty snacks used by Kozantei as a welcome snack and a small Shinto shrine. It also has a small garden that connects to a separate dining area which I suppose are for premium customers.

Kozantei also provides it's guests a before sleeping herbal tisane in the lounge area located on the 2nd floor just outside the main dining area. There you can sit down and drink the tisane and look across the lake at night. It's also a great place to get the free wifi that's only available in the lobby and common areas - it's not available in the rooms.

In the morning if you are lucky and wake early enough you will see the morning mists still hovering over Kawaguchiko and a few fishermen out on their boats fishing and Mt Fuji forming the background. This is a sight to behold as it looks quite heavenly!

Room Tip: Generally any room is good as they all face Kawaguchiko and Mount Fuji. But if you don't want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We came back to this wonderful ryokan as we enjoyed the view and service. The last time we were here was April 2013. We had the same room (302) which was both a western and Japanese combined room. This is the best inn at lake kawaguichi. The dinner offering was good and guests are given 2 standard choices of either beef or seafood as their main course. Though the offering sounds limited but thats just the main course excluding the appetizers, soup, stew etc that comes along with the dinner plan, you will not go to bed hungry. For those staying 2 nights or more, the dinner menu changes for the 2nd night ( we were offered cold crabs or tempura or pork shabu shabu). The inn provides a free shuttle to the bus or train stain.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Everything about this hotel is Japanese. We had a great stay in there, and we were lucky with the weather as the morning we were checking out we got a magnificent view of Mt. Fuji. The views from the rooms are stunning.

We were in the standard room, which is a traditional japanese one. Very spacious for Japanese standards. We were issued the traditional clothes and we enjoyed the excellent onsen facilities.

Dinner and breakfast were a degustation menu served in a private room. On check in we got a very polite and nice staff who explained us about the hotel and gave us the choices of japanese or western meals for breakfast and dinner. We chose Japanese and we were very happy with them.

No complains at all about the place, drove from Tokyo on a rental car about 1hr 20min with the GPS. There's not much around the hotel so we thought 1 night was enough. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiecreagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Kozantei Ubuya is easily the most wonderful place I've stayed in Japan. Of course, so much of it has to do with the amazing location on the lake with that amazing view of Fuji. We were lucky enough to have perfectly clear winter days so that you could see every detail of Fuji even the sought-after reflection in the lake. The pictures people post are great but still didn't prepare me for the majesty of the view. And the hotel was great though quite expensive. Everyone at the hotel was astoundingly friendly and took a lot of care to get people with good English to take care of us. Dining room is lovely and food excellent. One quibble about the room is that the air and humidity are not that well balanced so that on the cold mornings there was quite a bit of condensation inside the windows. So, if you want to see Fuji, you have to grab towels and wipe down the windows. Of course, you can just walk outside...The hotel helped us arrange a driver to take us around the other lakes and it was fantastic to see the different views of Fuji and I would definitely recommend that because it would difficult to see otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
414 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
#3 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
274 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#4 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#13 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
210 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
#11 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
133 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
Toki Yuyu Rakuyu
#9 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kozantei Ubuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kozantei Ubuya

Property: Kozantei Ubuya
Address: 10 Asagawa, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0303, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kozantei Ubuya 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ikyu Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kozantei Ubuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kozantei Ubuya Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Kozantei Ubuya Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing