We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kozantei Ubuya
Nearby Hotels
Kasuitei Oya(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$291
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mizuno Hotel(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$245
$189
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuji View Hotel(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$180
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuji Lake Hotel(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$375
$291
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Konansou(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$564
$436
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oike Hotel Honkan(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$219
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Wakakusa no Yado Maruei(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$513
$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel New Century(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$363
$162
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shuhokaku Kogetsu(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Fuji Ginkei(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
$436
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
374
104
17
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
104
17
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeefgreen teaprivate onsenmount fujiour honeymoonprivate roombreakfast and dinnerkawaguchiko stationhot tubunbeatable viewsashimifree massage chairspublic bath areapersonal onsenshabu shabuindoor and outdoor poolshot plate
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 511 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this establishment was first class. From the personal check in with green tea to the phenomenal dining experience to the private Japanese bath on our balcony with breathtaking views of Mt Fuji. This is a night we will never forget. Magical!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BgirlTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We moved here after staying for 2 days else where in Kawaguchiko. Having gone touring around the other lakes during the day, our local guides dropped us off at Kozantei at around 5 pm.

Staff attentiveness is very high. Immediately upon getting off the vehicle we were greeted by the staff who saw to the bags and patiently helped us to take a photo. Upon entry we were ushered to a seat as they collected our passports and checked us in. We were given a room at the end of the main building, which in itself was good as that meant it was quieter. All rooms face the lake and we were lucky that the sky was clear as the sun set. Dinner was in the main dining room and unlike my previous accommodation, there were more dining sessions to choose from.

Dinner in the main dining room is on the 2nd floor and we were given a private dining room, which was like a large fish tank as it was enclosed by glass so as to give us a view of the lake and the southern shore. As with most ryokkans, food served was kaiseki. a server was appointed to our 'room' and a small electronic buzzer was provided so that we could buzz him if needed. This gave us our privacy and yet have the personal service that one comes to expect in a Japanese style inn.

The hot spring is located in the annex building at the far end. The men's bath has 2 floors. The locked and shower area as well as an indoor soaking pool are located on the first level. A spiral stairs up bring you to a sauna room, a jacuzzi bath and an outdoor pool. Except for the sauna all facilities face the lake and Mount Fuji. At the bottom of the spiral stair is a cooled water source meant for drinking and replacing lost body water from all that soaking in the hot springs and using the sauna.

The lobby area has a small gift shop (generally over priced) that sells some specialty snacks used by Kozantei as a welcome snack and a small Shinto shrine. It also has a small garden that connects to a separate dining area which I suppose are for premium customers.

Kozantei also provides it's guests a before sleeping herbal tisane in the lounge area located on the 2nd floor just outside the main dining area. There you can sit down and drink the tisane and look across the lake at night. It's also a great place to get the free wifi that's only available in the lobby and common areas - it's not available in the rooms.

In the morning if you are lucky and wake early enough you will see the morning mists still hovering over Kawaguchiko and a few fishermen out on their boats fishing and Mt Fuji forming the background. This is a sight to behold as it looks quite heavenly!

Room Tip: Generally any room is good as they all face Kawaguchiko and Mount Fuji. But if you don't want the crowds just avoid rooms on the 2nd floor in the annex building. That corridor is the one guests use to get to the onsen... or you should if you prefer being close to the onsen.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iceshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We came back to this wonderful ryokan as we enjoyed the view and service. The last time we were here was April 2013. We had the same room (302) which was both a western and Japanese combined room. This is the best inn at lake kawaguichi. The dinner offering was good and guests are given 2 standard choices of either beef or seafood as their main course. Though the offering sounds limited but thats just the main course excluding the appetizers, soup, stew etc that comes along with the dinner plan, you will not go to bed hungry. For those staying 2 nights or more, the dinner menu changes for the 2nd night ( we were offered cold crabs or tempura or pork shabu shabu). The inn provides a free shuttle to the bus or train stain.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Everything about this hotel is Japanese. We had a great stay in there, and we were lucky with the weather as the morning we were checking out we got a magnificent view of Mt. Fuji. The views from the rooms are stunning.

We were in the standard room, which is a traditional japanese one. Very spacious for Japanese standards. We were issued the traditional clothes and we enjoyed the excellent onsen facilities.

Dinner and breakfast were a degustation menu served in a private room. On check in we got a very polite and nice staff who explained us about the hotel and gave us the choices of japanese or western meals for breakfast and dinner. We chose Japanese and we were very happy with them.

No complains at all about the place, drove from Tokyo on a rental car about 1hr 20min with the GPS. There's not much around the hotel so we thought 1 night was enough. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiecreagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Kozantei Ubuya is easily the most wonderful place I've stayed in Japan. Of course, so much of it has to do with the amazing location on the lake with that amazing view of Fuji. We were lucky enough to have perfectly clear winter days so that you could see every detail of Fuji even the sought-after reflection in the lake. The pictures people post are great but still didn't prepare me for the majesty of the view. And the hotel was great though quite expensive. Everyone at the hotel was astoundingly friendly and took a lot of care to get people with good English to take care of us. Dining room is lovely and food excellent. One quibble about the room is that the air and humidity are not that well balanced so that on the cold mornings there was quite a bit of condensation inside the windows. So, if you want to see Fuji, you have to grab towels and wipe down the windows. Of course, you can just walk outside...The hotel helped us arrange a driver to take us around the other lakes and it was fantastic to see the different views of Fuji and I would definitely recommend that because it would difficult to see otherwise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews