We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Fuji View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fuji View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel was clean. Service was good. Food was good to above average. They did offer two times to eat dinner. We chose the earlier at 545pm. The other time would have been 745 pm. The service was very slow for us, although the restaurant was not crowded. We were in a party of 4 and each had a different meal. All were good. Dessert was also good. I had a great massage, although they definitely need to update that area. There are no walls to the massage area and anyone walking by can see. There was only one masseuse on. Best massage I have had. The hot spring bathing area was nice, clean and well kept. There are two indoor observation decks on the top floor to view Mt. Fuji. A great benefit for staying in this hotel especially in the winter. We went in mid November and the grounds were still beautiful. I think one would be extremely please if you went there went there was full vegetation.

I would recommend the 5th floor which is non smoking. The rooms were big and clean.

All in all a very nice hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TNAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    112
    31
    14
    3
See reviews for
75
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked several rooms at Fuji View Hotel to celebrate a birthday in mid-October. One of the rooms was a deluxe room on the renovated 5th floor, and three in the not renovated 4th floor. Two of these rooms were facing Mt Fuji. The view was outstanding. If not facing Mt Fuji, you get rooms facing Lake Kawaguchi, which is also a tranquil, relaxing view. The 5th floor room was clean. The 4th floor rooms were not quite up to standard, especially as the carpets needed replacing, and also because only the 5th floor rooms were "non-smoking", making the 4th floor rooms rather "stale smoke" smelly. We were there having paid for the meal inclusive packages and the dinner was nice, and the breakfast buffet as well. This hotel has a lovely garden, and although we were too early for the magnificence of the autumn colours, some of the trees were already changing colors and it did not take much to imagine how breathtaking it would be in early November, and in Spring when the cherry trees blossom. It would be nice if some of their "standard rooms" could also be strictly non-smoking so that their guests would not have to suffer an evening sleeping in a room smelling of stale cigarettes, but if they could manage to renovate and redecorate all of their rooms in all the floors and strictly separate them to smoking and non smoking rooms, it would be a pleasant stay for all. The price with 2 meals on a Friday night with 2 to a room was Yen 17,000 (USD 218) per person, but the bulk of this cost goes to the full course French or elaborate Kaiseki dinner, which included one drink. For a similar dinner in Tokyo you would easily pay $100 to $200 a head so the price offers value for money. If the rooms are renovated or if you go for the deluxe room, it is a hotel worth visiting every season.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omusubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went there around September 2011, and I think it is a nice experience to share.
Hotel is nice, rooms are spacious, though a bit old fashion. As usual with Japanese hotels, the rooms are clean, for sure. Interesting part is rooms facing Mount Fuji, hence, please request rooms like this, though the rate could come at a premium price. They have a nice surrounding garden, and a beautiful one behind the hotel.
Don't miss out the top floor viewing room (facing Mount Fuji). I think one should really sit in this room, enjoy the 270 degree views around the hotel, a beautiful one. And I went here in summer months (actually early Autumn) but the leaves are still very much green. My friends told me, it is beautiful in full Autumn months. Breakfast is good, and again, you can choose tables facing Mount Fuji.
And they have Sauna and hot springs, if I remembered well, on the ground floor, behind the hotel. Don't miss this.

Room Tip: specify rooms facing Mount Fuji. Please visit to the top floor of the hotel, the 'viewing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChoongSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel. The first night we stayed facing Lake Kawaguchiko. Very peaceful view. The second night we stayed with a view of Mt. Fuji. Oh my, waking up to Mt. Fuji is a majestic experience you will never forget! We stayed in a Japanese Tatami room, not a western room and glad we did. The staff is very helpful and polite, as everyone is in Japan. We had breakfast at the hotel (something I usually do not do) and it was amazing and I do suggest it. If you venture on foot to town for dinner, you will find very inexpensive places to eat. We enjoyed a ramen shop. Transportation is easy to and from the hotel. The top floor of the hotel has a viewing room. That is all that is there along with seats. We brought up our "happy hour" and enjoyed the view. The Onsen is amazing. There are 3 baths indoors (one has cold water) and there is another bath outside, which was always my choice. Yes, I would go back! John and Yoko Lennon even stayed there and there is an original John Lennon painting on the wall in the lobby.

Room Tip: Request either a Mountain View or Mt. Fuji room. Both are excellent, but you will NEVER forget the M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at this hotel in April and in the middle of the cherry blossom season. The grounds are superb and our room was spacious and a Fuji view room, we awoke to a view of Mt Fuji.The top floor of the hotel is a viewing floor and has panoramic views of Lake Kawaguchiko and Mt Fuji. The hotel shuttle bus picked us up from the station, not a lot to do at night but it was nice to relax. The hotel restaurant is quite expensive, but we found a convenience store just up the road. The hotel shuttle will take you into town. The sightseeing bus hop on and off is good but it is around 30 minutes between buses but there a lots of things to see. The Itchiku Kubota Museum is a must see, there are over thirty hand dyed kiminos on display that form scenes which are truly amazing.A trip to the fifth station is also a must and worth the round trip cost of 2000yen.

Room Tip: If you can request a Fuji view room,then do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catchfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This is a beautifully situated hotel in a quiet lakeside situation. There are nice walks around the lake from the hotel. We were upgraded to a Fuji View room, possibly because the hotel was very quiet during the week and it was the middle of winter. Pleasant gardens and the views of Fuji were wonderful from our room, the front of the hotel and the observation lounge. It is expensive to stay here but the rate did include breakfast and a 5 course French-style dinner plus tea/coffee each day. We really enjoyed the excellent food and service. The staff were a delight and very helpful. There is a free shuttle bus from the station. The helpful staff at the Tourist Information Office next to the station will ring the hotel on your behalf. There are 3 shuttles from the hotel to the station in the morning every day. This is a very scenic area with lots to see and do. We won't forget our lovely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I staid in the Fuji View hotel and I found it really nice. The rooms are big and either face Mt Fuji or the beautiful lake behind the hotel. In both cases, it is nice to wake up in the morning with such a view.
The hotel is quite far from the station, so plan to take a cab ( ~ 1500 yens ) to get there. There is however the possibility to take the hotel shuttle at certain hours (call the hotel to make sure).
Around the hotel, there is not much to do except walking on the shore of the lake and maybe rent a jetski (I didn't test it but saw a few places renting it).
If you plan to take the seightseeing bus around the "valley", make sure NOT to go at "Ice Cave" (also known as "Lava Cave"). It's about 50m long, there is strictly nothing to see in it, it is far (count on ~50min trip of bus) and you'll also have to pay (400 yens) to realize it.

Last thing : There is a nice restaurant in the hotel. Even if some friends tried it and said it was decent (even if a little expensive), I prefered to go see around the hotel a find a real japanese restaurant. There are actually 3 of them in a ~1 km radius around the hotel. I tested 2 of them and I eat well for cheap... HOWEVER ... make sure you pack a japanese dictionary (or, as I did, try to be as expressive as you can when you speak english) because the people there speak almost no english, have no english menu nor pictures...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esox_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#7 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
163 reviews
Fuji Premium Resort
#29 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
136 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#13 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
406 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#4 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
201 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel New Century
Hotel New Century
#8 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji View Hotel

Property: Fuji View Hotel
Address: 511 Katsuyama, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0310, Yamanashi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fuji View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fuji View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji View Onsen Hotel
Fuji View Hotel Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing