We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience...Futon bed & Onsenji”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience...Futon bed & Onsenji”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here first time and this has gave us a most memorable stay experience. Hotel management is very kind to pick first from the JR upon arrival and he also sent us to the JR when departure under his compliment. Indeed a good experience staying in a traditional japanese room "Sakura", making up the futon bed by ourself and used the Onsenji facilitlies in the Spring. Thus, we are unable to enjoy the full view of Mt Fuji. But we have a wonderful time in this trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonderland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
26
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The price may jump out at you but let me tell you this is an exclusive place with impeccable service. We stayed for 2 nights over Xmas Eve and Xmas in 2011. The room just wows you with its typical Japanese ryokan beauty while the private onsen under the red umbrella is soothing and totally cool especially in winter. The "obasan" was so attentive even warming our boots when we left our rooms and trying her best in her limited English to explain the delicacies we were eating. The kaiseki dinner has to be the highlight of the stay at Yumedono. We tried Fugu (puffer fish) shabu shabu, King Crab and Wagyu Ox Tongue Stew as part of the 1st night dinner. This was washed down with a 50 year old Japanese wine and a delectable almond pudding with fresh fruit. The next dinner included Hiroshima oyster, good sashimi followed by the highlight a hot plate Wagyu steak and Scallop and Kani rice. This place is totally amazing and u must stay for the whole experience of pampering and exclusivity indulgence. You will never forget it....!!!

Room Tip: None the exclusive 6 rooms only and all are fantastic...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley_Wee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I booked this Onsen based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and I must say that I is one of the best experiences I have had in Japan. Onsenji is NOT a huge commercial complex and we stayed in one of the suites which came with our private onsen pool. The staff is amazingly helpful and the food is simply excellent! Both dinner and breakfast are award winners! Kawaguchiko lake area is beautiful and I wouold advise anyone coming to saty here to arrive early to tour the area before heading to check in around 3pm.

Room Tip: Any of the 6 suites are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at the OnsenJi last year (september 2010). When we arrive Fuji Zan was hidden by the rain, but in the morning it was right in front of our window.

We stayed in the private area (they also have a B&B) and its way cheaper, but not at all comparable.

It is far to try and getting there, but once you get there is worth every penny, we had our own private baths (inside and outside). We only stayed there one night, the food (both breakfast and dinner) were amazing.

PLEASE Note: The food is more than delicious, but it WILL be different, try to experience something new. I know I dont regret it one bit.

The service! Wow

Room Tip: Look at the map in their website. Try to find the furthest in the corner (it has the bigger bath) yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J923571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is only two stories set in a lovely garden. I wanted to experience a proper Japanese bath. If you do too, this is the place for it. There is no other shower/bath but the shared bath. The process is clear and the result is amazing: squeaky clean and relaxed. My room was very large and tea essentials were there to enjoy.
A hotel driver picked me up from the train station but the taxi back the next day was 15$ for less than a 2 km ride. Use the map and walk the distance, the town is lovely. Easy access to Mt Fuji and the local train line, with a one hour connection to the JR line.
The only disappointment was the lack of food in the evening and morning. I am told there is gourmet lunch, but I wasn't there for it. If I went again, I would be sure to stay for the lunch if it met the standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

There are some good points about this place: the great location, close to touristic bus roads, the sauna with a view on the Fuji, and the traditional look and feel.
However the facilities are aging and the place is not spotless.Stained walls, stained futon, that you have to setup yourself. Shared toilet and sink.Shared air conditionner remote controller. No showers appart from the onsen that closes at 10pm.The onsen does not open until 10am, and this is the time you must check out so no way to shower in the morning.This same onsen is open to outside visitors even in the evening so it is crowded and dirty.
And most dreadfull: I woke up with bed bugs bites on the next morning.
Apparently there is a newer building, we were in the old one. I hope for them the other building is better.
I heard

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArsenexLupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

the room with view to Fuji-San was spacious and japanese style; even having to share the bath / toilet with others (very clean and not crowded) felt comfortable; very quiet after the public bath closing time; wonderful stay for a night or two to explore the area around Fuji-San; recommended to travel by own car, to get more easily around (restaurant, sightseeing)

Room Tip: got the room with view towards Fuji-San, amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joergstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#1 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
415 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#3 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
450 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
Shuhokaku Kogetsu
#2 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#4 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
204 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#11 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
217 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Oike Hotel Honkan
Oike Hotel Honkan
#23 of 68 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan

Property: Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan
Address: 6677 Funatsu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Onsenji Yumedono Ryokan Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing