We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location, excellent food and good rooms!”
Review of Chateau de Mery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Mery
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mery sur Oise
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location, excellent food and good rooms!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very high standards evident: Food was superb, room was very comfortable and spacious, with top marks for bathroom. A beautiful setting only spoiled (a little!) by the local area Mery sur Oise, which had little amenity. The Chateau/Hotel well worth visiting/staying. We might well return! Thank you...................

Room Tip: Ask for room 101 - honestly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike3836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
97
1
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice and quiet place with all equipments to be confortable , an amazing design (top of the
bed with shining little stars !), and really good restaurant . We spend an actually good and relaxing week-end!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdrParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Situated adjacent to the Chateau de Mery, this modern hotel blends into the foliage of the surrounding woodland yet affords very nice views too. You can walk from the hotel into Mery sur Oise in about 20 mins if you needed to.

We enjoyed what was a highly reduced room rate of around £120. Rooms are plush, and designer. There are some slightly odd layouts of bathroom kit, but we quite liked the novelty of it all. Beds are big, rooms are quiet, plenty of space etc. You'll enjoy it.

Its worth pointing out that the restaurant would be deemed to be fine dining and as such carries a hefty price tag unlss you go off the tasting menus which (while still expensive) deliver reasonable value. A la carte, you're looking at 15-20 euro starters and 25-35 euro mains. You get the picture. The food is excellent quality as is service.

Id recommend staying here for a special one night stay and meal. You can also wander round the chateau grounds which is nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel booked for a Conference.
Travelled from Paris by Train from Gare du Nord to Mery-v-Oise.
45 minutes by train. Very comfortable. Talked to Hotel & was collected from the station by Taxi.
NOT walking distance!
You do need a car to stay here!
No local transport.
Hotel clean & comfortable. Have the impression that the staff are training in this Hotel.
Bar & Restaurant- you need to be patient & have time on your hands!
Free Wifi!
The Chateau Conference area is a separate buildling & was handled very well.

Room Tip: Make sure that all your equipment-TV, etc., is working when you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I attended a conference here with my wife in May 2012. Once in the Chateau escape is difficult without a car. It is approached down a steep ramp and, in the grand tradition of continental Europe, the few shops and cafes nearby seemed to be shut whenever we passed by a coach or taxi.

You don’t stay in the château, a venerable old building without the benefit of aircon. The few opening windows flap in the breeze so someone will shut them again and the place boils.

The rooms look great but functionality and design are often not bedfellows. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The enclosed toilet is hot; I took to wedging the waste bin in it to keep the door ajar. An elderly lady in our group damaged her hand in the door because it has a very firm closing mechanism. The shower is good but putting bath towels in there is daft – I removed them before turning on the shower and, sure enough, the hand held attachment (there’s also an overhead spray) sprayed straight over where they had been. When you leave the shower you need to be on a bath mat but you cannot leave it directly outside as the shower door will push it out the way.

There was a peculiar trough with no plug instead of a basin – running water only.
There were no bedside tables but an enclosed shelf above your head.

The electricity in the room comes on when you put your card in the slot. The air con was dreadful – we were very hot and dare not keep the door open overnight as we looked over a field and, with my attractiveness to gnats, midges and mosquitoes, would undoubtedly be bitten in the night. After the 2nd complaint a man came to look at it and it improved but it wasn’t efficient.

Breakfast was adequate although the scrambled egg was very runny. We asked for fried eggs which arrived reasonably quickly almost cooked – maybe the steak chef was doing breakfasts as well. There’s no toaster – perhaps that’s a French thing although I’ve never encountered it before.

Our one dinner for six was excruciatingly slow - there were several people and a small party (10?) in the pleasant dining room and I think that threw the staff. I really had a problem choosing anything I wanted to eat, it wasn’t that wonderful and certainly not worth the £50 a head it cost us in total. The guy with the bread basket was eventually downright obsessive and a nuisance.

The barman looked like a rabbit caught in the headlights and was unable to handle a dozen or two people. I had trouble checking out as the dinner bill which I had asked to be split between 3 rooms, and had written on the room numbers and identical amounts, had all been charged to my room. Bizarrely, again a first, every single item consumed at dinner was listed on the room bill but there was an anonymous entry which the receptionist said could not be identified but which we realised was the €110 we paid for their car to collect us from Gare Du Nord station (Eurostar from UK) One of my colleagues suggested it was a training hotel which seems a reasonable explanation or maybe they’re not used to many people being there.

Frankly the place needs a professional manager to sort it out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulw1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I arrived at the hotel on a Monday evening. The booking was made by my company, so maybe information was not communicated. But I found the restaurant was closed on Monday - not great after a long day!. However I was advised I could order room service. I ordered a pizza which was poor quality and almost cold. I was also told (at 8.30 pm!) that the bar was closing. Had I arrived any later, I suspect the (cold) pizza would not have been available.

The rooms are nice and comfortable and the staff very pleasant. But frankly, the least one expects from a supposedly high quality hotel is reasonable food and facilities which are open until reasonable times. I would definity not recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Cute hotel on the outskirts of Paris which was a beautiful setting for a wedding. There is not much to do around this area, and you really need a car to access it - so don't come here if you want to see Paris.

If you are fortunate to attend an event here, the hotel is a unique modern accompanyment to the Chateau event location. The rooms are clean and funky, although some elements seem to be design-y for the sake of being design-y, i.e. when you come in the room you are presented with a large sink in the middle of the entry on a pony wall - with the bed on the opposite side floating in the center of the floor plan. The toilet closet is also a little offputting since you feel like you are being hermetically sealed in a bank vault.

Otherwise it is a beautiful setting with a high quality bed and high quality linens and towels. The view is nice of the pastoral surroundings. Enjoy walking around the adjacent park, party it up at your even at the Chateau and then sleep in with the dark black-out curtains (that's what we did). At check-out time we were dragging ourselves out the door wishing we could linger longer.

Check internet pricing for deals in the off-season which were much lower than published rates (like my favorite HRS.com)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleetwood_brougham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mery sur Oise
5.1 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Maffliers
3.6 mi away
La Villa de l'Ecluse
La Villa de l'Ecluse
#1 of 3 in L'Isle-Adam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
#1 of 3 in Enghien Les Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Campanile Taverny
Campanile Taverny
#1 of 2 in Taverny
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.9 mi away
Logis Hostellerie du Prieure
8.5 mi away
Chateau Saint Just
Chateau Saint Just
#1 of 1 in Belle Eglise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Mery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Mery

Property: Chateau de Mery
Address: 9 B rue de l Isle Adam, 95540 Mery sur Oise, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Mery sur Oise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mery sur Oise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Mery 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A creation in its own right, designed to surprise, seduce and delight our patrons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau de Mery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Mery Hotel Mery Sur Oise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing