We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and essential day trip from Salzburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eisriesenwelt Ice Cave

Eisriesenwelt Ice Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.21*
and up
Private Tour: Werfen Ice Caves Adventure from Salzburg
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Werfen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful and essential day trip from Salzburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is an essential day trip from Salzburg. It´s extremely easy to get a train to Werfen from Salzburg Hauptbahnhof. A bus stop literally outside the train station then takes you at the start of this awe-inspring trip.

The short, but strenuous, walk up to the cable is worth the trip in itself. It offers fantastic views of a quintessential Austrian valley town.

The ice formations in the the cave simply need to be seen.

The ice cave tour is extremely well executed - the tour guides tell you just enough and let the natural beauties on show speak for themselves. The entire place is treated with nothing but respect, and the inclusion of open flame mining lamps make you feel like a genuine explorer despite the throngs of people with you. Even the the ban on photography helps make this place feel even more special, although I have to admit I couldn´t resist taking a few shots.

To top it all off, the cafe at the top of the cable car is kindly priced and the perfect spot for a post-adventure beer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frugal_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    147
    49
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Made our visit perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

If you want a really special day then this is the visit. It is a bit of a slog on the walks & the cable car was pretty scary but the caves are something else. If you are a bit unsure on ya legs don't even think about it, it is a 1400 step up & down walk but the rewards are quite something. You take your own light round with you & the tour takes around an hour with a great guide. There is also a bar/restaurant with views to die for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Icy steps in darkness with a bored guide - but the view outside was magnificent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very excited about this visit on our European tour and although nature is magnificent this experience was not the highlight I had hoped for. I read all the reviews and prepared the family with layers of warm clothing and good walking shoes. We parked quite a way from the ticket shop but that was ok as we knew we'd have to walk. We chose the cable lift access as I have a knee recovering from surgery and I cannot yet hike. We prepped in the cave mouth along with many others and joined our guide for the English tour. I'm guessing that the guides are winter ski instructors and summer cave guides.
There is a great whoosh of air when you go through the door to the caves. This freaked one woman out and she ran back knocking others out of the way - not a good start. We were told no photography and ignorant people kept taking flash pictures which upset the guide. To explain - the caves are dark, people only have a few little lamps to light the way, and the stairs are wet, and you've guessed it - icy! Therefore every time a flash goes off you cannot see for a split second and could easily slip and fall. As it happens two people fell during our tour, not badly, but one of them knocked two other people before they came to a halt. It's a question of safety - just buy the postcards... The caves do narrow and you stoop through some low sections. This freaked a second woman out and she wanted to leave but we were halfway up and another tour was already behind us -too late. The guide took the steps at a nice easy pace.
My family completed the tour and we were glad that we did it. The disappointments were that although the guide spoke excellent English he sounded bored to tears, to the point that he almost couldn't be bothered, and the second let-down was the complete darkness of the caves. In all the promotional material the ice is lit up and looks so beautiful. I understand that lights would introduce heat but even if they had LEDs that emit very little heat it would be a vast improvement. I was unable to take in many of the sights as I had to watch my footing on the stairs, so I basically did the tour looking at the floor the whole time - not much fun. The views from the cave mouth were stunning and that is what I will remember from this trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of natures wonders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The ice cave is a natural marvel, a large cavern covered naturally in ice. This tour allows you to walk into the heart of the mountain, seeing naturally created ice sculptures that change every year. Worth viewing if your looking for something different.

Things to note are even with the bus and the cable car there is still a lot of walking involved. Inside the cave there are around 700 stairs. Photography inside the cave is not permitted, and warm weather gear is required as it is about zero degrees inside even in summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

It is not like the pictures in their website. It is very dark and we cannot see very well with the weak lights that they provide. It would be much better if there was artificial light inside. It is not allowed to take pictures because they say it would slow down the tour. I cannot agree because at several times the tour stopped and it would be perfectly possible to take pictures. It seems to be that the weak lights they provide and the lack of ilumination inside is just to force you not to take pictures so that they can sell more postcards. Also the tours should be divided in german and english, but in our tour the guide decided to mix both groups, so he was talking half german and half some kind of funny weird hard to understand tirol english. Overall is not as impressive as it looks on their website.

Helpful?
1 Thank tscherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisriesenwelt Ice Cave also viewed

Werfen, Salzburg Region
Werfen, Salzburg Region
 
St Johann im Pongau, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Eisriesenwelt Ice Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing