We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and atmosphere but rooms should be remodeled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
376 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Good location and atmosphere but rooms should be remodeled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

when you get at Taj Fort Aguada you feel the relaxing atmosphere of sea and palms. the pool is big and the garden very relaxing. the only point are rooms..quite old in furnitures and finishings...my room got a beautiful small terrace but the interiors are old and would need to be remodeled.
breakfast is at buffet and there is a beautiful porch by the pool..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuDiMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    636
    147
    72
    43
See reviews for
831
766
32
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurangabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

I think of beaches, serenity, beauty n luxury and Fort Aguada come to mind.....
The staff, the property, the restuarants, the beach, the fab lobby - everyone from the guy who opens the door for you to the front office people who go beyond the call of duty to ensure you have a memorable time, to the house keeping boy who wants to know everytime if I need anything more .....!!!
The ramparts of the old Portugese Fort Aguada, the rolling waves, the lush greenery and the unique TAJ stamp make this a 'once in a lifetime' experience.
The rooms arent just rooms - they are your own private space, villas......The lobby, restaurants are all at a level and then you get aboard a cart (!), climb up the hills (i am not joking) through green lush pathways and arrive to your special piece of heaven!
The choice of restaurents spoils u - Il Camino for la dolce vita Italiana, SFX, Morisco for seafood.....
and then the Taj Village is just a hop away...........
Step out of the soothing pool, walk a few steps and the Arabian Sea calls you - it's all yours and no crowd!!
I would love to go there again and again........

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelzaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Very Good Service beginning from the greeting by the front desk staff, the bell boys , best of house keeping done even if we used to come from the beach - the staff was very happy to clean the rooms even more than twice in a day. The room we took was a cottage and with a private sitout, only a question of mosquitoes was bothering us in the night while sitting out. But the view from the room was amazing, you can see the Fort Aguada and the sea from the room, which was really breathtaking and which we really wanted it that way. The toileteries and other cupboards etc., and also the DVD player inthe room was added advantage. The best thing there was their aervice, Never ever they say no to anything. The SPA experience was awesome at the hotel. We had chosen a plan where in the buffet lunch and Dinner was included. But the staff at the restaurant were much eager to serve us what we want, eventhough it was not on the buffet. They used to prepare as per our choice, which really was very much appreciated by me. ON the whole a very Good experience and we would definitely visit this Hotel very soon..................................

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah_Chirag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We made this trip in the middle of monsoons and were a little apprehensive that the holiday would be a wash-out. The hotel was ideal for our short trip - close enough to Baga beach, very comfortable rooms, good seafood. We were also allowed to have our meals (included in our package) at Taj Holiday Village (very close to Fort Aguada, they have a shuttle) which gave us some variety. All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandramaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Cottages are quite shabby, staying in the main building may be a better option. Does not show much as in you would expect in a 5 star property. You pay about 200 - 250 usd average and do not expect shabby rooms, with low maintenance. The Indian food is not great, however italian and coffee shop is great. Normally you expect a 5 star hotel in india to have a speciality indian restaurant which was missing, a multi cuisine, which makes a mess of all the cuisines....sorry. Need to upgrade the refurbish the cottages with probably better quality materials.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bala1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Positives:
Check-in: Very smooth and quick.
Room: Cottage-Newly renovated. We saw the villa, suite and room but cottage was by far the best. Villas are going to be renovated soon as told to us.
Service: It seemed that every staff (receptionist, room service guys, drivers, swimming pool staff to even the gardeners) were trying to make our stay a great one. The service makes you feel that how do they get this motivation every day.
Food: The italian restaurant Il Camino was awesome. The pastas and Tiramisu was very delicious.
Areas of improvement:
Shuttle: The shuttle to the airport is not great and not of 5 Star standard at all
Breakfast menu: Breakfast is very similar on all days and thus we got bored having it for 4 days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is one of my favorite hotels in Goa and I have gone back multiple times despite the beautiful resorts like the Hyatt and the Leela that beckon. The most attractive feature of this hotel is location. It doesn't matter what anyone says, if you want to party in Goa and live in comfort at the same time, this is the place to stay. Everything else is just too far away and resort driven. Its a hop skip and jump to Candolim and the main stretch of beach that has all the shacks. There is a bike rental just outside which allows you explore Goa effortlessly and beat terrible peak season traffic.

The view is beautiful. Situated at an elevation, you get unrivalled views of the famous shipwreck and the sea.

It has its negatives. For starters it is not a resort. The pool is basic and so is the spa. This hotel is old and will give you none of the modernity that is so widely available at the resorts. The furniture is traditional wood and cane. There is a huge crowd that constantly hangs out at the entrance and gives you no privacy. The fitness centre is old and a walk from the resort. There is also no privacy in the pool either since tourists constantly throng the fort and can look in.

There is no private beach either so this is not the place for a quiet family/romantic vacation.The hotel needs a desperate overhaul to make it luxorious again. So if you want a beautiful resort vacation, this not the place. However its location makes it unbeatable for a party weekend where you plan to spend very little time in the room and most of it in the shacks or at a club.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rpk071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#7 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa is at its best. Romantic. Charming. Vibrant. It has history woven in its walls. It's where royalty, heads of government and the biggest celebrities are known to frequent. For the luxury Goa experience, which no other place has been able to recreate. Not much has changed. In the renewed rooms, cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the Jiva spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing