We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property at Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed there for three days in Feb 2013 along with my wife. This was my second visit at the property. I like its location in the North Goa. The hotel does not have private beach but being situated at the end of the Beach Line, it is not very crowded and there are available water sports at the beach. The rooms are good and very well kept. I stayed at one of the cottages. The service and food is also excellent

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashantBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,737 - 1,743 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a hard review to write because there is so much to like here, and so many issues that need to be mentioned. In all fairness the overall experience varies depending on the perspective. For someone like me who has been to India but never to Goa, I knew that I would be visiting a more "laid back" part of India, and indeed that is what I have found. Things move a bit slower here, and on a holiday that is likely what you are looking for. Things are casual. If you are expecting night clubs, multiple restaurants to hop or a night at the movies, you are not looking in the correct location. It is what it is, so get relaxed and enjoy what it is and do not expect what it can not possibly deliver.

I have found the service to be very good, but in all fairness this is not a 5 star facility but also does not claim to be one. The people here try very hard, are extremely friendly, and there is a huge staff here because the facility is gigantic. At the buffet we find the service to be excellent with staff constantly asking whether they can offer us something else or suggesting something to us. Even though I have traveled a bit in India, I have never been exposed to the true diversity of Indian cooking and that is one of the huge plusses of this hotel, one can just eat here and experience the many different flavors of India. There is some continental style food and some kid friendly as well, you can be sure that no one will go hungry here. There are other restaurants as well, the Italian one for example offers an Indian version of Italian - interesting. Just different and we liked it.

There are weird things though, in the buffet you pay for bottled water, but in your room you can have as much as you want free of charge. This is an all inclusive. None of us understand it, but that is just the way it is, and you become OK with it. After all a liter bottle of water is 95 rupee, but since the amount of money is so small it sort of makes you wonder, why not just charge 100 rupee more a day and have it be included?

There are few places in the world where you can see flowers like you see here, and for those interested in flora and fauna this is one little piece of paradise. Stroll around the grounds, it is just spectacular and there is a very busy gardening staff. I do not know much, but do appreciate the towering flowering trees, amazing flowers in different variety and types, beautiful birds and butterflies, and while there is a car that gives you a lift to your cottage if you wish, the walk is just full of beautiful flowers and trees. You want to walk around and enjoy it.

We stayed in a cottage and there are other options here that we have not seen. The cottages are adequate but well below the standard of the rest of the facility. The AC is great, and the wireless works throughout the facility flawlessly, but the bathrooms in particular really need a gut job - you have a maybe 1 star bathroom in a almost 4 star facility and it drags the experience down.

The beds are ok, towels and amenities are eh. It would not bother you if everything else was not so amazing. But it does get your attention, I could give details but saying that the bathrooms just need to be totally replaced gives you the idea. BUT - you don't come to a place for the nice bathroom do you? It is just something that leaves room for great improvement.

I like Fort Aguada by Taj, but one can't help feel that it could be so much more - but perhaps it is not realistic in this location. There is really not much around here, so you likely will take your meals here so an "all inclusive" makes sense, but does it make business sense? You wonder whether that business model would allow for upgrading the physical plant here which will have to be done hopefully sooner rather then later. This could be a 5 star place, but is there a market for it here?

For those considering coming here, be prepared for a spectacular beach and vista, good and interesting food and very good service, but accommodations that do not live up to the potential. Then again, spend your time at the nice pool and Spa take long walks, and it wont bother you one bit!

Room Tip: I am not sure if any have rooms or cottages been renovated, but it would not hurt to ask. Many peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T00ManyAirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had read a dozen reviews on tripadvisor and settled for Taj Aguada for our family holiday...with a few apprehensions!
The apprehensions disappeared quickly as the Taj experience I had read about became a reality.
Airport pickup: The transit was smooth and we were well taken care of
Checkin: The process was superquick, no time wasted...we were asked to have our lunch while the luggage was sent to the room.
Food: Latitudes, the buffet restaurant is a vegetarians delight and offers a variety of Indian stuff, something my wife loved...choise for meat lovers were somewhat limited but the 3 to 4 maincource dishes offered a mix of sea food and regular curries. The restaurant staff were incredibly attentive to all our needs and what ever we asked for was promptly executed.
Rooms: We had a terrace indulgence room with sea view. The words dont do justice to the experience. The terrace and the room offered a view of the Sea, the beach, the pool.....the sight left us mesmerized and very enthused. House keeping was twice in a day and the staff realized we had a 4 year old daughter with us and they ensured they did a little something for her by folding towels to look like animals.
The pool: Nice heated pool, taj holiday village (in the neighborhood) has a better pool

The management and staff were very warm and paid extra attention to our daughter.....this place is certainly child friendly, highly recomend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionysus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was the fourth time we came back to Taj Fort Aguada in almost as many years. And to our pleasant surprise we got an upgrade to the Presidential Villa right on top of the hill near the sunset point. Needless to say, it was a fabulous week long stay. And the dinner at the Banyan Tree in the neighbouring Taj Holiday Village was like a trip down the memory lane. I can go back there time and again. Quintessentially classic, quintessentially Taj!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kushandasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are looking to pamper yourself and want to experience the best time in Goa and that too in north Goa then Taj fort Aguada is the best place to be. Being Taj its expensive but still worth it when you have the overall experience , the hotel staff is excellent and very very helpful. Food is good but not very great as 5star standards ,and thats the only reason I was reluctant to give 5 stars to this rating...having said that I would highly recommend this for all type of travelers going to north Goa to pamper themselves...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhijitvdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We enjoy our stay at the Aguada in Goa so much that we keep going back every year. There was one year when we were at the Aguada four times! The hotel overlooks the wonderful ocean and the sound of the waves is so calming, so enriching. The hotel has three restaurants and one outdoor restaurant has live music in the evenings. The staff at the Taj will go out of their way to please you. One can spend hours with a book or a drink or just relaxing at the lounge bar. The buffet breakfast is sumptuous and has a variety of dishes. The rooms are spacious and clean. There are a lot of restaurants nearby and the staff at the reception would give you names of restaurants one should visit.

We would stay at this hotel each time we go

Room Tip: A room at the ground level close to the swimming pool and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaheshShah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the second we checked into this hotel we loved it. The location is spectacular. Great for beach walking. And the fort as sunset made for stunning photos.

The staff was great, the rooms were spotless, the grounds tropical and beautiful. Great pool and cabanas. Safety gate guards at entrance and at beach made we women traveling alone feel very safe.

We had seveal meals on property and they were all very good. The Taj brand does a fantastic job keeping their properties perfect.

I would highly recommend this hotel for your next trip to Goa....for freinds, couples, families, romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The villas on the hill are nicer rooms and have good views. But I prefer the regular rooms closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katsjourney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

Address: Candolim | Sinquerim Beach, Fort Aguada, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range: $202 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa, spreading across a picturesque 42 acres, meanders into the ramparts of the 17th century Portuguese coastal fort. The resort spreads on the sea front along the Sinquerim to Calangute beach stretch. It is an hour and half drive from the airport. Airport transfers by coach are offered as a complimentary courtesy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing