We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Taj Hotel, I expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was just OK. My sister and I were first "upgraded" to a private cottage which was quite spacious - the size of a small house really. But the cottage was up on a hill and a bit secluded from the rest of the hotel. As two girls, we didn't feel that comfortable being far away from other people and the cottage seemed to be best for a romantic couple. That said the cottage was spacious but not modern. We asked to be 'downgraded' back to a normal hotel room and we found that more fitting for us. Again, no wow factor but the facilities seemed a bit more up to date than the cottages. I agree with a previous reviewer that says this place is probably due for a renovation. I will stay elsewhere the next time I'm in Goa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADesai90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at Fort Aguada for a day on my recent visit along with my family. The experience was superb. Me, My wife and our kids were extremely delighted at the service and care which we received during our stay here in March 2013. We were welcomed with a Goan music. The moment staff saw my kids, they bought a drawing books and color for them. We were upgraded to a sea facing room. During the evening, the chef bought two personalised pasteries for my babies. Good food options. Only recommendation is to have more choices for vegeterians...The check in and check out were as smooth and quick they can be.. A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameermota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A lovely weekend in Goa using the Taj Aguada as a base station to enjoy the northern beaches of the state. Using vouchers and points redemptions, Fort Aguada was an easy option, but wouldn't have chosen it otherwise due to the high price even with high season having gotten over.

The hotel's location is super, overlooking a bay and a real portuguese fort. Pretty landscaping gardens all around. The service is very sharp (huge for lazy Goa!). Nice pool area, day beds (canopied ones too!) and a lounging area with a view at the bar. And thats where the good stuff ends...

The lobby does look it belongs in a beachy resort and looks like it was designed in the Taj's ugly duckling 80s-90s phase. I got a room in main building (actually a suite which they very kindly upgraded me to) instead of the more chic standalone cottages. The room decor is old, ugly and dated - can't put that in any other way! And Taj, please don't be so stingy with toiletries just because you call it Vivanta - at Rs. 18,000/night ($335) thats just not cool - two thin little toilet rolls, tiny tiny tiny bottles of Forest Essentials shampoo-conditioner-shower gel. The hair dryer is highly underpowered. The beds have cheap springy pillows (though you can ask housekeeping for feather-downs) and the duvet cover was not just torn, it was in tatters. The restaurants are A-ok on food, and really expensive for not really being 5-star gourmet.

Like a lot of their properties, Taj Aguada desperately needs an upgrade (think Mansingh in Delhi or Bengal in Kolkota or Taj Chandigarh). The rooms, bathrooms and lobby needs to go NOW! The Vivanta brand name is very misplaced because it lends an air of tacky to the hotels on which it is slapped, which is silly when you are paying top dollar.

Despite the service and location and views being super, I would highly discourage someone from staying here until they actually spend some money on this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a lot and get a detached cottage - its the only decent accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BombayBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

One of the best Taj properties , we have stayed at. This was a dream vacation for us. My wife, our infant son and me were extremely delighted at the service and care which we received during our stay here in July 2012. We had got the monsoon package it was a steal!!
Overall an amazing experience and worth the while... A must go..

Room Tip: rooms at the far end of the lobby level directly on the sea shore are worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuryTraveller3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

what a breathtaking place- we were stoked when our family was upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa on a hill overlooking the sea and the a white church, the hotel is fantastic- staff are amazing and this place became the measure for the rest of our trip

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaithoon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Goa! We had a wonderful experience staying here. Some initial hiccups but we were put in a sea facing room, a breathtaking view, good food, a quiet and peaceful bar, make this hotel a perfect getaway!
We were disappointed by a loud wedding party on one of the nights..but overall, one of the best places to stay in Goa. Will definitely be back here for another vacation :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavalera110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is another great hotels by Taj, Its an amazing five star property set WITHIN Fort aguada. I am not sure about what went bad while restoration was in progress, but as on today, its a awesome property.

The location is perfect, hotel seats bang on a beautiful beach. If you have booked a sea facing room, then you get full sea view. There are hammocks in the backyard of the rooms and you can experience Nirvana!!!.

Overall service is amazing and meets very high standards of Taj properties.

Room Tip: Book a sea facing superior charm room. Though little bit expensive, its worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SachinPathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

Address: Candolim | Sinquerim Beach, Fort Aguada, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range: $215 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa, spreading across a picturesque 42 acres, meanders into the ramparts of the 17th century Portuguese coastal fort. The resort spreads on the sea front along the Sinquerim to Calangute beach stretch. It is an hour and half drive from the airport. Airport transfers by coach are offered as a complimentary courtesy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing