We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality at Fort Aguada! (Holiday Village vs Fort Aguada)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hospitality at Fort Aguada! (Holiday Village vs Fort Aguada)”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The room and the property were excellent, and the restuarants were fun places. Of the four days at Goa, first two days we stayed at Taj Holiday Village and the other two days at Taj Fort Aguada. Though the properties were right next to another and certain facilities common and pricing similar, the service levels were vastly different.

The room type was “Premium Indulgence Room, with a sea view”. It had an excellent view of the sea, from the room as well as from the huge sitout. One can hear the sea from the room all times. Well worth the premium in tariff and its part of the main building complex, so close to all the facilities.
The entrance and reception area are beautiful, with a fantastic sea view and sitting arrangement.
1. Check in – was pleasing experience. The staff actually spent a few minutes with us to explain various facilities we could use, including some of the common ones for both hotels like Spa, recreation center etc .
Again we landed an hourly early because we checked out of Holiday Village was at 1:00pm , but the hotel was happy to accommodate.
2. Room - It was large, (larger than the cottage we used at Holiday Village), with a nice ante room at the entrance, before the master bedroom. The sea view was fantastic. No more words to describe it. The pool chairs laid out in the balcony was the place where our family spent our time.
3. Other facilities –
They had decent mix of DVDs (Hindi & English), which we used both the days. Staff was more than happy to deliver and pick from the room.

The activity center for Kids – Giggles was fun. Both my daughter and husband did some art and craft while I was away shopping. And she even got some tattoos done

Swimming pool – Though not too big, was good enough. Again the staff there was quite cooperative and cheerful. Forgot some of my stuff at the pool and they promptly retrieved it. Used it on both the days.

Spa & Astrologer – Again a common resource for both the hotels, visited him as well !! Apparently he is quite popular around there. Had taken an appointment at the salon and had to cancel last minute, but wasn’t an issue with them.

4. The reception and front desk were quick to take calls and give suitable responses. We dint have hold the call for more than a minute anywhere.

5. Restuarants were excellent. We tried three of them – Latitude the coffee shop, II Camino – Italian , SFX – Lounge bar
Latitude the food was just right and not bland, a with a good variety of Indian dishes and some goan delicacies which we tried. The cashew ussal was great. Staff and ambiance made my four year daughter equally comfortable. We had a pleasant surprise in store when the waiter we interacted with in the morning sent her a special pastry in the night, wishing her sweet dreams!
II camino – We went there for dinner, (Anniversary night) – tried out some Italian fare – Pizza and Brisotto, staff was well informed and helped us make a choice. Made something special for my daughter again . Got to chat with the Chef as well. Would go back again !
SFX – Was the best experience. Right across the sea, with vast cane seats.. and totally relaxing after an evening at the pool ! Must visit in the evening if one were to go anywhere near Fort Aguada.

6. Room service and housekeeping were efficient and non intrusive. Checkout and transfers were smooth and pleasant. The coach was made available on time. The hotel staff cared to ask for the feedback and even sent a reasonably detailed questionnaire to gather feedback and acknowledged receiving the same.

7. Overall value for money and a memorable experience. We dint have to step out of the hotel the two days. Hope to go back once again !

Room Tip: We stayed at Premium Indulgence sea view in the main complex - Excellent sea view and spacious. Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsvidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    650
    149
    73
    43
See reviews for
867
787
33
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

It was my first time when I was travelling to Goa, nd my hubby gave my surprise by taking me to Taj Vivanta after my marriage.... Ambience is toooooooooooooo toooooooooooooo good. Can not even express how beautiful the view was, the beach and all everthing was too good. Reception is toh awesome. And the moment we entered Taj, dey gave us some profile form in which i entered my marriage anniversary, it was just two days only to my marriage, wen we went to our room, after some time only the waiter came nd gave us nice chocolate cake on which congratulations was written :) I have uploaded that cake"s pic in my face book account also :) I was very much pleased by their behaviour.

Breakfast which we used to get in morning was also very nice. In short m just waiting for my first anniversary to get back to Taj Vivanta :)

Hope so this time they give me some discounts :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanuNittu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Taj Fort Aguada gives the comforts of a 5-star hotel at a price which may be at the lower end of the 5-star range in Goa.The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. We had a room with a lovely sit out looking out over the sea, and the views from the hotel are beautiful though the hotel does not have a private beach. The staff, particularly a very pleasant person called Sunny, did a great job of taking care of our room - Sunny had even created a very entertaining person out of towels as a surprise for us when we came back to our room one evening. The staff, as with all Taj properties, were very friendly and helpful.

The only let-down was the food - we were on an all-inclusive plan, and the buffet spread for lunch and dinner were quite limited. We were very disappointed to see that there were no Goan specialities on offer at all, and there was an almost negligible amount of sea-food on the buffet menu.That apart, the food that was provided was not even remarkable. The breakfast spread, however, was good and well made.If you intend to explore Goa and do a bit of beach hopping, the all-inclusive plan may not make sense as there are so many fantastic options outside the hotel. A breakfat inclusive plan may be better, particularly given the quality of the hotel lunch and dinner buffets.

Do check your bill carefully while checking-out. We had been charged about Rs. 4000 extra for mini-bar and F&B purchases which we had not made. Admittedly, the F&B charges may not have been the hotel's mistake as the guest may have inadvertently entered the wrong room number. But nevertheless, do check!

The transfer time from the airport to the hotel by their complementary coach service takes nearly 1.5 hours with the bus moving painfully slowly. So do factor in at least 2 hours after arrival in the airport to get to the hotel, and since they only have fixed departure shuttles, you may need to leave much before your flight so this should also be factored in while choosing a departing flight.

Room Tip: The sea-view rooms with a sit out are lovely. If opting for this, room numbers 101 to about 104 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maheshwari29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Taj Aguada hotel entrance is one of the best that I have seen. As soon as we enter, it has a beautiful view of the sea which is very appealing and soothing.

The guests were welcomed with a cute garland of small shells, kokum or mango sherbet and two local folks playing songs on the guitar. The staff carried a smiling face throughout which added to the overall satisfaction during our stay.

Taj Holiday Village and Taj Aguada are almost next to each other and so the guests can use both the properties which we thought is a good plus! Internal shuttles are arranged. Local shops are close by. We rented a bike from SFX rentals outside the hotel. The owner was very good too. We used the hotel hammocks to relax and the beach for some water sports. The beach is not much used by outsiders and hence is clean and less crowded.

We went for the Deluxe Allure Suite with a sea view and a private balcony. It was great. The only thing was the size of the bathroom and the bathtub was a bit small and could be better. We were on all meals package plan and we liked the variety of food laid out in the buffet. We are vegetarians and there was a great option for us.

We loved the hotel's hospitality. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

Both my husband and I highly recommend this hotel. We hope we get to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Sea View Room by the side are nice and quieter for couples. People with kids could go for ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MB
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This Taj Hotel was as always the finest in terms of service, quality and appearance as I came to expect out of the Taj Group. We booked a 2 bedroom villa for a 4 day vacation and enjoyed every minute of it. This was my daughter's 1st visit to India ... she truly loved the warm waters of Goa!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamanaGenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our welcome couldn't have been better - personalised service and noted before I got there I wanted to change my room which they had already done. We then had a chance to view the villa and decide if we wanted to say - which we did (room 514). The view was beautiful. The bedroom was large and comfortable, the bathrooms clean but in need of some renovation. We then asked to be moved to one of the cottages so we could have a proper size bath. the view from here was even better (403).

The staff are exemplary - nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely return. Especially for the spa - left feeling very chilled out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woolycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel with its beautiful site and cozy bungalows and polite helping crew is one of the bests and the location can be another advantage which is close to the Baga beach and the night life center.

Room Tip: the bungalows are excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amookhteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,956 reviews
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,179 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Address: Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa is at its best. Romantic. Charming. Vibrant. It has history woven in its walls. It's where royalty, heads of government and the biggest celebrities are known to frequent. For the luxury Goa experience, which no other place has been able to recreate. Not much has changed. In the renewed rooms, cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the Jiva spa where you'll go Ah! In our continuous endeavor to offer our guests the best product, service and value through the years, the Swimming pool at Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa will be closed between 10th to 25th September 2017 (both days inclusive) for periodic maintenance activity. During this period the pool facilities at our sister property Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa will be available for use to our guests. Please be assured that the hotel has taken all necessary measures, to minimize the inconvenience caused to our guests. Any inconvenience caused is deeply regretted. All other facilities, and services remain fully operational during this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing