We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Cottages from 1940s minimally updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I ended up staying in the more expensive "villas" on the hill above the main building. Totally would not recommend it. These are older cottages, not updated. By that I mean, badly fit and mismatched doors and fittings, off-color thick caulking in baths, 16 inch TV-box in the bedroom, etc etc. I suppose if you wanted to live in the 1940s style this could be nice. Most hotels at this level elsewhere would preserve the traditional style but update the interiors with high thread count cotton linens, proper bed with mattress and box spring etc. Not here.

Also the room service dinner was horrible. By the way the hotel is 1.5 hours off from the airport.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Grand Hyatt in Goa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globtrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,950 - 1,956 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel is in a great location it is a very nice property I stayed at room no 331 the room had a very big terace over looking the sea with sit out it is a very nice place to chill the service is very prompt especially the travel desk and in room dining I was a little disappointed by the choice o f food was very limited and the quality was below the taj category but apart from all this whenever I will come back to goa i will stay at this very hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadequa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

There is not much one can say about the beauty and hospitality of Taj Aguada, you have to be there to experience the same. Built next to beach, this place defines peace, hospitality and luxury. The rooms are large and lavish. The food is superb. The staff is prompt & courteous. Whether you want to get lazy and relax or go out for some water sports, it’s all there. Not many shacks around, but some real wonderful in-house cuisines. The pool is nice and small and there is no casino at the hotel. The natural beauty, greenery and landscaping at the hotel simply mesmerizes you.

Room Tip: Stay is any room per your budget...They all are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep_Chaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We had a great experience at Fort Aguda. One of the good things was we could use the facilities of Taj Holiday Village as well which is very close to Taj Fort Aguda. They had a great activity center for the kids, so we spent a lot of time with our kid at the activity center. We did not have to walk to the hotels every time as there was complimentary transport facility available at all times.

Room Tip: Choose the garden facing room on the ground floor, you get a huge garden in front where you can play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praveen_meloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The moment we arrived and got our luggage the representative of the hotel welcomed as at the airport. Even though except us there were other guests they made us seat comfortably in a big bus with the ac and provided us with a water. The way from the airport to the hotel took almost 1,5 hour and we were actually tired by the end of it but the moment we went out of the bus we were gladly greet by the hotel stuff and live band. we were escorted to lobby which was so big and had an amazing view to the ocean. the ambiance around made us feel "we are finally on a holiday!" we were offered to have a fresh juices which were were on time. the chech in didn't take much time but as it turned out the suite room we required in advance wasn't available at the time so we were kindly offered to stay at the private cottage up on the hill for 2 nights for the same rate even though actual price of it was higher. Being honest after seeing this private cottage with the most amazing view to the ocean, comfy room, bathtub and a garden outside of he cottage with a hammock i didn't need any suite :)
The hotel has 2 restaurants: Italian and continental with Indian. Nice lounge bar area with a small library and a very comfortable seats for enjoying the sunsets with cocktails. There is nice pool sun beds around and stuff there is very attentive.
The Taj Aguada hotel connected to another Taj village hotel. So residents of both hotels can use both pools and restaurants and they provide a free transfer from one hotel to another. Due to our laziness we couldn't make it to wake up for breakfast which was included. Plus if you want to have fun and party all night i don't remember any parties held there during our stay. we also had an access to fitness area were yoga and other classes were held but we ended up spending everyday by the pool and lounge area.
Putting all together that was a nice experience and we'll might stay there again in case if we decide to come to Goa again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla_1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Visitied it last year in March with family.
Loved the suites, and the choice of cuisines for buffet.
Got to see the true Taj hospitality out here.
I would suggest book well in advance to get a great package.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitkhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location with well maintained grounds and an impressive reception area, but those are the only things to warrant the 5* rating. We had a garden room, and although clean the furniture was pretty shabby. The staff had done their best to make the bathroom appear as attractive as possible but in reality it desperately cried out for refurbishment. The bath was worn out with age and the tiles and grouting were quite disgusting, as was the toilet bowl. The silicone seal around the bath could have been done by a 5 year old playing with modelling clay.

The buffet breakfast was very good but again sadly the tables on the terrace had seen better days. The white paint was worn, chipped and very grubby. There is an extensive menu, and the food is very good, but then becomes ridiculously expensive after all the extra service charges, taxes etc are added on. The pricing structure of the hotel discourages eating on site as better value can be had by getting one of the taxis outside the main gate to anyone of the multitude of restaurants and bars.

Checking in was very stressful. Especially after travelling for 16 hours. Not only were our details wrong, we had to change rooms TWICE over 2 days before getting the accommodation we had booked. Checking out was exactly the same, our names and account details were wrong!!

We didn't get the alarm call we had booked and this could have had dire consequences in relation to missing our flight.

The only saving grace for this hotel are the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff who are so weloming and always eager to please. The hotel is very well protected and regularly patrolled by security guards, who again are so courteous and polite.

If I stayed at this hotel again it would only be because of the lovely staff that would bring me back, together with an assurance that the rooms had been refurbished to the claimed 5* standard.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

Address: Candolim | Sinquerim Beach, Fort Aguada, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range: $213 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa, spreading across a picturesque 42 acres, meanders into the ramparts of the 17th century Portuguese coastal fort. The resort spreads on the sea front along the Sinquerim to Calangute beach stretch. It is an hour and half drive from the airport. Airport transfers by coach are offered as a complimentary courtesy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing