We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location ...quite relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful location ...quite relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

its perfectly located in North Goa. The place is just so refreshing. You can easily stay for a week if you want to rejuvenate yourself. Taj is famous for its hospitality. You always see a smiling face at reception or even in corridor. Place is very peaceful and romantic, a perfect hotel for honeymooners too. rooms are good. local bazar is also very near and worth visiting.

Room Tip: the best located rooms are on the left side of the reception where it has sea view from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanju2067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    636
    147
    72
    43
See reviews for
831
766
32
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you are looking for a nice resort with nice views, service and privacy, this hotel is a good option. However, the beach area is almost non-existent, it is quite slow around the hotel, not centrally located near the popular beaches.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylaw333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

good place to unwind. the first thing you see when you arrive at the hotel, is the views of the ocean from the first floor of the hotel. nice pool, good rooms, pleasant staff. just a word, dont take the room on the hills, insist on the garden view ground floor rooms. if you go to the hill, you will lose out on a lot of fun of the hotel. must visit is the Tony shack below on the hotel on the beach. Have the masala french fries and the prawn fries. unmatchable. bad thing is everything in the hotel in chargeable. jumping on the trampolin, playing on the PS, everything is chargeable

Room Tip: choose a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docamybaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have been visiting the Hermitage Fort Aguada on and off since 1993, the last time this Christmas and New Year period when the hotel arranges a fabulous couple of evenings for guests. Built around the old port and harbour, others have already mentioned the beautiful location and from it, if you care to move yourself, you can hike South along a narrow coastal path up to the old Portuguese Fort, or North along the 6 mile long beach to Baga (about 2 hrs) walk. The beach is full of shacks selling food and drink. The road which runs parallel to the beach is also full of shops and restaurants - but take heed of the traffic.
The hotel itself is compact and womb like, no need to leave it if you just want to relax. We always stay in one of the many cottages situated on the hillside overlooking the hotel.
There are three restaurants on site, the variety of food is excellent especially if you try Indian/Goan dishes. The Staff are brilliant and here I would like to make a plea for them. Those that attend you will have arrived early to serve you breakfast, stayed on for lunch, gone home only to return for your evening meal. They work very, very hard. Please be nice to them. I grit my teeth when I all too often observe the more pompous guests bark their orders.
We love this place and have long forgiven the slow fading away of the hotel. It is by no means modern, being built in 1984 and needs a lot of money to bring rooms up to a better standard, hence the comments you will have read on simple things like a lack of flat screen TV's. Don't let it stop you staying there.

Room Tip: In the main hotel we are told that rooms 200 to 205 have lovely views of the coast. We will keep our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentOldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Goa is a place where there are so many options. Right from the beaches, to the bars, markets and finally the hotels. Its really important to choose a nice place to stay after experiencing the madness and the chaos during the day. Taj themselves have 4 properties, all of them in excellent locations. Had the option of the Taj in Panjim, Exotica,Holiday Village and Fort Aguada. I chose this place simply because of the mystique of the old fort and the nearby lighthouse.
We landed in the afternoon, with the sun blazing away as we left the cool confines of the airport. We immediately ran into the Taj representative at the exit who neatly directed us to a A/C bus and the service that I love so much about the Taj had started. We reached in about an hour and the first thing that struck me was a colonial style building which houses the reception,two restaurants and the bars. It has a fantastic view to the sea and the circular fort-post. The check-in took less than 5 mins,with a goan welcome drink.We were escorted to our Deluxe rooms which were located on a hill. There are buggies and regular cars that drop you off at your room if one doesnt want to walk.
We booked the Premium indulgence cottage and the rooms are cozily placed in between greenery,with some of them offering a partial view of the sea.The rooms were pretty big,with a nice bathroom enclosed in a glass structure. The only disturbing fact was that the walls arent very thick and one can hear the people in the other adjoining room.
Food was well laid out with a lot of choices for Breakfast(Latitude restaurant).The lunch and dinner menus were also decent,we tried the veg fare and it was pretty good.The bars are the best thing about this resort,there are two right next to the swimming pool. SFX is the better one,as it offers lounge seats with open windows to the sea;amazing feeling when the sea breeze hits you.
We explored the nearby fort area(you must if you stay here).It offers a panaromic view of the sea with a wreckage that is visible from the circular fort post. This area is open to the public but is accessible through the hotel premises through a side gate. The beach below the raised fort post is rocky but we found it to be filthy and did not venture in.
There is also a sunset point and can be reached after a 10 min drive to the top of the hills. This place is beautifully maintained with fantastic views of the lighthouse and the setting sun.A photographer's delight!!
The 2 days stay was worth the effort and is good value for money. Taj has a winner because it offers so much more than a regular resort. Will surely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages if you can,detached from the main building. You get a wonderful view as soon as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InstantGratification
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent 4 nights from 23-27th Dec at this hotel, however, the rooms in the main building are definitely not worth the amount we spent! The bathroom was small - only a tub with a shower and the beds were very uncomfortable! Most 5 star hotels have flat screen TVs however, our room had an old TV which was hardly working. If you ever stay here do not stay in the rooms in the main building ask for the villas.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We visited this property for only a day but thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it. From the moment we checked in, to the service with a smile, and happy to help attitude was amazing. The food was great, specially the Goan specialty Xacuti. The room service was fast, efficient and delivered with a professional touch. To sum it up, was a truly outstanding experience and would love to visit again for a longer duration soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#7 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa is at its best. Romantic. Charming. Vibrant. It has history woven in its walls. It's where royalty, heads of government and the biggest celebrities are known to frequent. For the luxury Goa experience, which no other place has been able to recreate. Not much has changed. In the renewed rooms, cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the Jiva spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing