We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Just returned from this hotel after a two week holiday and I have to say, the experience was simply wonderful.
Originally we had booked with Thomas Cook to stay at the adjacent Taj Holiday Village but they changed us to the Fort Aguada Resort citing 'health and safety issues' at the Holiday Village. I'm glad they did - I went to look at the Holiday Village and in my opinion the Fort Aguada Resort was much nicer, set on a hillside in the most beautiful, lush tropical gardens.
We had a superior room, which was in a small semi-detached villa with it's own garden. It was beautifully furnished with a big plasma screen TV and DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities.
The pool area is small but really nice and we never had a problem getting a lounger.
The staff just can't do enough for you. They are very well trained and always smiling and polite.
Everything is spotlessly clean.
We stayed on the half board option and the food is really good quality - if perhaps a bit limited in choice. The breakfast buffet was great.
If I go again, I think I'd probably just do bed and breakfast. There are so many places to eat in Candolim. European, Chinese, Asian - all styles, and it's really cheap outside of the hotel, although prices are higher for drinks etc. in the hotel but still not bad considering the standard of hotel.
The hotel is just at the edge of Candolim resort in a nice quiet position. The beach is not particularly good just in front of the hotel but it's nicer just a little further on as you get near to the town. A taxi costs next to nothing and it just takes a few minutes to Candolim centre.
Probably not a good choice for children. The Holiday Village looked to have more kid's facilities but that suited us. Ideal for couples.
A bit hilly but there are little buggies to take you around if you have walking difficulties.
Liked Candolim a lot. Not too busy, not too quiet.
If you like a really 'chilled' holiday though - the resorts in South Goa are a lot quieter.
One of the best holidays ever. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englishsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    625
    146
    72
    40
See reviews for
813
754
32
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Awesome place to stay. Had a wonderful view of the private beach. Very well located for people looking to enjoy and relax. Variety of Restaurants - 6 choice of restaurants where you can enjoy all the meals. Very well maintained rooms with all the facilities one can think of. The hotel staff was very co-operative, they upgraded us to better room without any extra charge after checking the availability. Enough sports and recreational activities to do. Spa is too good. Location of one of the restaurants is just above the beach- having a candle light dinner on the beach side was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gargrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

I have enjoyed the stay with my family and with my 2 kids of 3 and 5 years. Safe and good quality hotel with private beach area.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smarthyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

We visited this place in monsoon although it didnt rain during our stay. Our stay was for 3 nights and four days with all foods included in package (breakfast+lunch+dinner). The staff of was very friendly , courteous and ever smiling.
Food is one thing I enjoyed during my stay. The best part is you can use the some restaurants in Taj holiday Village even if you staying at fort aguada. Caravella at Holiday Village serves one of the best food with amazing sea facing view. If you are sitting by window and sea is little turbulent then you can feel the water drops coming with waves falling on your body. It was amazing feeling!!!
Overall stay was amazing and will like to come here every year!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveler081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We (couple + boys of 10 and 12) spent 5 nights at the Fort Aguada at the end of February 2011. The resort sits on hilly cape with beautiful views along the beach. The weather was pleasantly boring: 30-32 C throughout, no clouds, and a slight breeze which meant that it never felt excruciatingly hot.

There is only one pool, and it is small, but it was never cramped and the staff was always able to find us sun chairs. No slides or similar so not quite perfect for children between 7-15. The beach starts just below the hotel, but to get to better sands and an area with less peddlers, you need to walk 10-15 minutes. The beach right below the hotel is more a base for motored water sports (which we enjoyed), and unfortuantely the beach at that point is full of litter. It gets better when you walk northwards. The beach is safe, and the waves break in a nice fashion.

Some of the activities we enjoyed were table tennis, pitch-and-putt golf and massages at the spa. All these in fact take place in the grounds of the adjacent Taj Village, but it is easy to get to either on foot (only a few minutes) or by hotel cars which are always available upon call. Big disappointment to our boys that the gym is only for >18 year-olds. Don't personally undersstand this as already 10-year olds are allowed to go rappeling (absailing) and jumarring - which we did on two occasions. The staff was professional and saftey was well considered. It was great fun even if the cliff is a small one, perhaps 10-12 meters high.

We stayed 3 nights in a 3 bed-room villa, and 2 nights in two adjacent 1-bedroom huts "premium indlulgence villas". Cleanliness was excellent, towels changed twice a day, air conditioning and wlan (terribly expensive, though) worked well.

There are three restaurants (an Italian, a seafood and an Indian/Goan/mixed one) in the resort and a couple of more in the Taj Village. The quality of food varied quite a bit. We gave high marks to the seafood restaurant (Morisco) and the Thai restaurant in the Taj Village (Banyan Tree). The Indian and Goan dishes in the mixed-cuisine Latitude were good, but the "international" dishes below average. We tried the buffets in the Italian restaurant (Il Camino) and the Caravela at the Taj Village only once, but based on that experience we would not recommend them. Stick to the local dishes, they are savoury!

Finally a word on service... All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, 10 out of 10 for that. They were also very competent in so far as the hotel was concerned, 9/10. But the service at the restaurants... Ouch, 4/10 is a give-away. Yes, again very friendly, but it just doesn't work... It takes way too long for the first drinks to arrive (even if it's just water or beer) and seems to require half-a-dozen employees to sort it out. The extreme example was at Latitude where we ordered coctails which took almost half-an-hour to arrive, and were followed 1 minute later by the food. Then the wine (which we had ordered well in advance) didn't arrive until we had almost finished the food. The timings were just totally off, the staff is not paying any attention to the rhythm of the dining. I'm not into restaurant management but my guess is that the restaurant would do themeselves a favour if they assigned each table a responsible waiter and not have half-the-staff attend to each table based on task in question. In general, be prepared to wait a long time for both drinks and the food. The only place wher drink/food service was timely was at the pool.

A final curiosity: the 260-m ship River Princess has been stuck on the shore about 1 km northwards from the resort for 10 years now. It's a funny sight but actually does not hurt the view, and does have its advantages, too: it provides good wind-shelter for jet-skiing! During our stay the local paper ran a story that dismantling the vessel should finally start in March. That could have an impact on the ambience during the dismantling, and the waters will become rockier after her removal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juice1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

While Goa in itself is an amazing tourist destination, living at the aguada fort gives a totally fascinating experience when staying with them. The lovely location close to the beach gives it an added advantage. Though the cost of stay at the hotel is a little on the higher side but you can get a complete value for money package

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puneetbedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

This property spans across a large area, has a hilly and lush green terrain and most of the rooms give sea view! The service is awesome and Taj, as always, serves delectable food! The good part of stay in Fort Aguada is that it gives you access to adjacent Taj Holiday VIllage and its restaurant- Caravela. Caravela is built on the sea!! There are shuttles running between these properties.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swapnali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
20.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
4.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa is at its best. Romantic. Charming. Vibrant. It has history woven in its walls. It's where royalty, heads of government and the biggest celebrities are known to frequent. For the luxury Goa experience, which no other place has been able to recreate. Not much has changed. In the renewed rooms, cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the Jiva spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing