We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to chill.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore
1 review
“Great Place to chill.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

Excellent staff and service..........very courteous and understanding.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — size of room.....even though they weren't too small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chetanbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    517
    177
    54
    44
See reviews for
888
580
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We booked a 4D/3N sea view cottage, all inclusive package directly from Taj hotel website, which cost Rs32,700.
We were supposed to take the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus, but it was full and coincidently there were drop off at the airport so the staff who receive us(he was quite cranky, maybe due to the heat) ask us to get into their Innova van and for free!
Check in was fast and coconut juice were served on arrival. Immediately we were buggy-off to our sea view cottage (only a glimpse from afar). It was not a stand alone cottage but there's another unit attached next door. Room was not very spacious but quite cozy and comfortable. A small walk-in closet; digital weighing machine. Bathtub with shower-head and separate shower cubicle. Toiletries from Forest Essential(famous Indian brand; Estee Lauder has stake in it). Bathrobe provided but not slippers. The tile floor can get very dirty and sandy especially after we walked back from the pool or beach and the 'iron' made floor mat didn't help either. Apples and 2 small bottles of water were provided. Our cottage is just literally a few steps away from the baby pool which was great!
Breakfast and lunch were in Caravela restaurant by the beach. Not much variety of food, mostly veg Indian but do have international section but not much. We went to Bon Appetite twice, which was very near.
Daily kids activities, chargeable from Rs150 to 300 +. But kids can play at the centre for free, they have board games, drawings, toys, tv, computer games, books. They have novels for adults too. No need to bring.
The extra bed that they given initially was, literally, a thin slice of mattress without the bedsheet and blanket. After a talk with the duty manager that we reserved the extra bed during our confirmation weeks ago, then only a foldable bed frame were given and 3 housekeeping staff done up the bed within minutes. But is still the same slice of mattress and not what you would expect from a 4/5 star property.
I must say that the staff were great.
Overall we had an enjoyable and wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

Our stay in March followed a stay of four days at the Holiday Inn Resort in South Goa. The Taj has a lot to learn from the Holiday Inn. The room at the Taj Holiday village was lovely and so were the grounds, but that is just about all I can say that was nice.

Access to the almost non-existant stretch of beach was precarious verging on dangerous, with just one rickety metal stairway spanning what is left of the edge of the compound. Severe erosion all along this stretch of the beach has caused much of the "prominade " to just crumble away. This must now rank as one one the worst stretches of beach in Goa.

Restaurants on site were serving grossly overpriced food from an unimaginative set of menus, and the food was poorly presented and bland. The service at the restaurants was truly aweful. On one occasion we were given our wine in tumblers because they couldnt be bothered to get more wine glasses from the other restaurant. Our servers were routinely patronizing and impolite and only seemed interested in our service once we had made a complaint.

The pool was nice and the staff at the pool bar were absolutely first class. Being at the pool bar was like being in a different hotel.

Our overall impression of the Taj Holiday Resort is that it is being wound down. There is no evidence of any new money being invested in the site, but there is a great deal of decay, neglect, lack of freshness etc, and nowhere is this more evident than on the beach vistas, with taped off areas keeping customers awy from the dangerous subsidences.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

This place does exactly what is says on the tin. We loved it here. It is spotless, the staff are amazing and the location is just right. Very secure too.
The best pool in the area, full strength WIFI (at £10 a day though) and superb gardens and beach access.
Word of warning though - the bar/food prices are just plain silly - 10 times the price of anywhere else - water is INR200 in the mini bar and the bar prices are out of this world, having said that - walk down the steps to the beach (smile at security / take you key or they might not let you back in) and the first beach bar (Julie's) is just perfect and the setting is super.
Unless you are rolling in money avoid the hotel taxis (3 times the standard price) just walk to the exit and one will stop and ask if you need a taxi.
only paid INR200 to go into Calangute central and the REDONDA restaurant is a really nice place to watch the world go by.
We splashed out on a sea facing cottage with it's own garden (hammock, table with umbrella, 4 chairs and 2 sun beds) another 2 loungers on the sit out area. A nice lounge, dressing area bath and shower and big bed. 2 LCD TVs, plug sockets with european and UK fittings, they even supply a phone charger, just ask.
They supply you with pets too - we had 2 fish on a bowl on the mantle !
The breakfast is amazing - best I have seen and it is really quiet - you just hear the waves on the beach at night. Room service food is a bit over spicy to be honest but Like I said - just walk to the beach or get one of teh golf buggies to drop you off there, they ferry you around if you like..

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

My husband and I travelled to Goa for our 19th anniversary. What we really wanted was peace & tranquility as in the high pace life that we all lead, we needed to spend time together.

We were allotted an individual bungalow. Perfect for us - we had requested. Derek at the front desk takes care of all guests' special requests for the last 20 years. So he definitely knows how to pamper his guests.

On the day of our anniversary, a cake was delivered which was very delicious. Normally the freebies that come are just not worth mentioning. We actually had a piece each. In the night, our bath was made up with candles and rose petals. Though more embarssed than impressed, I'm sure most couples enjoy this pampering.

The staff divulges information very easily which I have realised as a travel professional, most hotel employees are not happy to do so. They are as happy to recommend a restaurant or night club as inviting a guest to use their facilities.

We did miss a jacuzzi in the pool area and do hope the hotel will at some point take care of that too.

Sumptuous breakfast, friendly staff, a great 24 hrs coffee shop, comfortable rooms, all make this a great hotel to spend a break in.

  • Liked — Individual villas
  • Disliked — No private beach
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ynottravelnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed at Taj Fort Aguada which is an awesome experience in itself. Our room was a Sea View with a private sit out. Our mornings and evenings were leisurely spent in the sit out area. When we reached Goa, we decided we'll not stay at the hotel mostly and spend our time on beach and other sight seeings of Goa. But the moment we reached there, we were so warmly received and our two kids so sweetly taken care of, that we forgot all about sight seeings. Our 3 year old was given cute gifts at the evening housekeeping service. And our 9 month old's cot was nicely placed and she slept like never before there. There were great restaurants of which LATITUDE was the best. And the Italian restaurant ILCAMINO always had musical event in the evenings. The sea facing SFX Lounge was beautiful. The strong sea breeze and the smell of the sea is enough to get you in the mood for some extra drinks and wines and mouth watering menu just gives that extra lift. For us Goa was all in the Fort Aguada Resort. They have a lovely private beach which is free from tourist crowd and where you can sit and have a good time at the beach. The major attraction is a great Kids Activity room that they have at holiday Village which is adjacent to Fort Aguada and the hotel's taxi will drop and pick you there any time. In a Nut shell, the experience at the Taj is just awesome !!!

  • Liked — Great Service and Food
  • Disliked — Khazana - The Shop which did not have much options to buy from.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kapila_sumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

The Taj Holiday Village is a great holiday place for kids. We (my wife and 2 year kid) had a great time in Jan 2009. We only stayed for 2 days but felt that we should have stayed longer. The kid had a great time in the kids pool.

The place is well spread out and there are multiple activities. The activities centre is great for kids.

The choice of restaurants is awesome especially if you add the adjacent Taj Fort Aguada resort.

The only issue was that while they offer airport pick up and drops, they do not have a pick up for Thivim.

  • Liked — The kids pool
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunayMathure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
20.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
2.8 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
4.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa, is different, yet the same in many ways. Still the charming village, that flirts with the beach. Where fun lovers come for repeat doses of delight. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Holiday Village, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Hotel Sinquerim
Vivanta By Taj - Holiday Village, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing