We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most positive reviews of this hotel must be done by hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most positive reviews of this hotel must be done by hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week recently four the start of our India honeymoon. We have travelled to 50 countries and stayed in over 200 hotels and can honestly say this hotel is the worst value for money we have ever seen. No hotel has ever left me feeling this ripped off that I feel the need to warn others on this site. The positive reviews are so over the top that it is obvious they are written by the hotel to try and offset all the bad reviews on this site. We would not be upset if we were paying $150 a night and we told before that it is a 3 star hotel. It is good value if you are paying no more than $150 a night. There are two reasons for this.
1. It is 30 years old and it looks like no maintenance has been done since it opened. We were paying over $600 a night average and were shocked when we were shown our room. The tiles are filthy, the bath was stained, furniture is very old and damaged all over, bed matrass was a cheap and very hard torture machine, scuff marks all over the wall as it has not been painted in at least 10 years, paint bubbling and cracking all over, outdoor shower area had dead plants and walls falling in, windows in bathroom so dirty you can't see through it. All this is fine if you are expecting a 2 or 3 star hotel and paying less than $150 a night but when you are paying over $600 a night and staying at a TAJ hotel you will feel very ripped off.

2. Most staff are very friendly and trying very hard but there has obviously been very little training or systems put in place. Again average service from well meaning staff is ok if you are paying $150 a night for a 3 star hotel but not when you have been sold luxury. I don't want to blame the staff for all the errors and frustrations as they are doing the best they can with the training they have. The management obviously recruit most staff with no experience in 5 star hotels and then give them very little training to try and save money and make more profit. Each problem we had was not that big but they all added up to a very frustrating experience and we couldn't wait to leave. A few of the many small problems we had were.
A. Most of the time we could not get an answer when calling with a question for concierge. The staff are trying hard but obviously management don't have enough people on the travel desk/ concierge as the poor men can't even get time to answer the phone most of the time. Very frustrating when your villa is a long way from reception and you need to want to reception just to get a simple question answered. The level English is far below what is usually at a Good hotel in India.
B. The tables at breakfast are almost all dirty if you arrive for breakfast towards the end of breakfast time. Lots of staff but not much getting done due to lack of training and management supervision. On two days we had to ask for our coffee order 3 times over 15 minutes. Sounds like a small thing but all these small things add up to a very frustrating experience and feeling ripped off when you are paying for 5 star service.
C. There was a compulsory new years eve dinner we had to attend which they charged us about? $400 for. We assumed it would be nice wines and food. Food was great but the wines offered were so terrible and we found out later they are the very cheapest around. We are not fussy people but the wine was so bad we left straight after dinner as we could not drink them and wanted to have a few wines to celebrate new years eve.

The things above a just 3 of the 20 problems we had when staying over a week. We don't want to sound like fussy people as we are not. We have stayed in 2 star hotels before and can accept bad service and dirty/old rooms when we know we are paying for 2 stars. This hotel pretty good if you are expecting very little and paying very little. If you want 4 or 5 star and are thinking of booking at more than $100 to $150 then don't. There are lot of better boutique hotels and guesthouses with well trained staff and clean rooms for half the price that you will enjoy much more. We are so unhappy with our experience and how ripped off we feel that I intend to post this review every few months (cut and paste in 1 minute) so that the owners and management will hopefully stop charging 5 star prices for a 3 star hotel with average service levels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    523
    180
    57
    46
See reviews for
915
590
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Writing this revies pretty late.. This hotel doesnt need a ranking.. its the best hotel I have ever been to In India or Internationally.. From the check In to Check out.. its impossible to find place for mistakes.. The best front desk team with derek and tina.. have a great pool bar with pravin.. carevela with fine chefs who give you the taste you want...rooms are spacious and clean. The kids centre is a great thing with krishna. If its Goa its village or the trip is incomplete.

Room Tip: try getting the villas with 2 rooms, a few few categories above the standard. more privacy close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at Holiday Village for my wedding anniversary. The resort is large and very beautiful and green. It is very peaceful with only the sounds of birds and sea waves greeting you every morning. The cottages are spacious (slightly run down though, especially the floor) with a lovely sit out area (surrounded by bushes to provide some privacy), which allows you to enjoy the natural beauty around you. Perfect ambience to read!! A few steps down, the beach (not private) is clean, and not crowded. Swimming Pool is large and clean. Breakfast was average (vis-a-vis other similar properties). The Thai food at the Banyan Tree restaurant was delicious. Also, a few minutes' walk away from the resort, a small place called Tuscany Garden serves delicious Italian fare.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Got a good deal on this place given the fact we booked 5 days before departure,
The hotel has nice layout and good openness , however there are coomon balconies for the rooms which if you want to have a private moment would make one little conscious,
Fortunately there was no one staying in the neighbouring room but there would have been lack of privacy if someone had been
The AC regulator was spoilt and not working which would end up over cooling the room and this resulted in me getting a slight fever, which kind off spoilt my weekend
The pool and health club is good
Breakfast buffet is nice and an absoloute must to kickstart your day, most of the staff had a smile on their face and were couteous

There are certain expectations associated with the Taj Group that were perhaps not met on this trip but all in all as my title suggest "Good but not Great"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here for a week in November with my husband. From the moment we arrived we found the service some of the best ever had with all the staff friendly and willing to go out of their way to help. Particular mention goes to Lavu at the gym (who became my husband's unofficial personal trainer), Sanjeev at the pool who ensured we had a good position & fresh water every day and Clive on the front desk who was very helpful.

As well as the staff being great the few times we ate at the hotel the food was great. It was more expensive than beach shacks (and a little less atmosphere) but the bar by the sea was great for light bites.

The hotel is right by the beach and had good view of the fort. Unfortunately it doesnt have its own loungers on the beach but the beach shacks all have these & are very cheap for drinks. There are lots of water sports by the Taj, we tried parasailing

The spa was good, more expensive than beach places but the steam room and herbal teas made it a very luxurious experience so worth it

The rooms were kept very clean throughout, although they could be a little more modern (nicer bath, flat screen tv) that didn't affect our stay at all. We had a garden room which was really handy for the pool and very close to the hammocks. It was also great that bottled water is free throughout the stay

Only downside was that wifi was not included & seemed very expensive. Also we had some confusion with our return transfer. I was told it was free, then informed 11.20pm the night before we were leaving that we had to pay as we didn't book through the hotel. This was after them saying for 2 days it was sorted & we'd spent all our money! In the end it was complimentary though so all worked out fine. I believe it's only supposed to be free if you have a domestic flight or book your room through the hotel. If you are getting a taxi don't arrange it through the hotel as will cost you double (2400 rupees instead of 1200)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller1983Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great property and it’s nice to have access to the facilities of the neighbouring resort too.

The fantastic thing about this hotel is the service, which is TRUELY OUTSTANDING. The resort staff cannot help you enough - they are amazingly helpful and very friendly. The resort isn’t cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The cottages at the front are very nice and worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent TAJ Hospitality, good mannered staff ready to help any time, good locations. Rooms need renovation to compete with latest international group of resort come up recently.
Iwent here on business and decided to take my family (incl 2 small kids) along. We received a warm and traditional Goan welcome as you arrive at the village.... Breakfast is quite well-spread and quite good...fairly well maintained gardens. Although the place is quite big, you never get lost and there are golf carts for transportation (but you do not need them really, you can easily walk across the whole place). They are however openly saying that the golf carts are there primarily for transportation of suitcases etc. so it could be that you have to wait, but it is openly communicated (maybe as a response to prior complaints about it also here on Tripadvisor).
We needed flexibility because of our small kids and although I was attending a conference, they always put food aside for my husband and two sons without charging etc and my family was clearly booked privately, so I would have had full understanding if they had charged for it, but they did not. Also, in the evening, the room service always brought two warm milks without extra-charge. PERFECT service. The Food and Room Service was anyhow EXCELLENT!
Generally speaking, I have to say that at first, we slightly struggled with the laid back attitude, but it is simply Goan and once you (as an ever rushed European) get used to it, it is really nice!
We had one incidence where during a bus ride a toy fell out and we could not find it again anymore (of course we only noticed the day after!!!). At first we felt they were not so bothered, but I have to admit, they mde everything possible and took the energy to contact me again via email and I believe them that they have taken this seriously and were searching for it like crazy. Well, it did not turn up, but the effort was MUCH APPRECIATED.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
20.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
2.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#7 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
4.6 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa, is different, yet the same in many ways. Still the charming village, that flirts with the beach. Where fun lovers come for repeat doses of delight. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Holiday Village, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Hotel Sinquerim
Vivanta By Taj - Holiday Village, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing