We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and had a very good experience overall. Perfect for relaxing and having a nice time within its premises.
The sea side restaurant has a terrific view during the summer sunset.Service was average.

Room Tip: Cottages closer towards the sea are quieter and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    465
    162
    49
    37
See reviews for
776
519
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were at the holiday village last year, and had a good experience overall. Our toddler found the vast manicured lawns a great place to just run about, and the grown-ups could just laze around. The property is fab, but has begun showing age now - the sofas and the floor had mild stains. The reception staff was exceptional, and had a surprise ready for our kid on arrival. The staff at the restaurant seemed to be trained only in asking room numbers - we missed the classical Taj hospitality here. It was really annoying, but perhaps this is where they distinguish between the Vivanta and Taj brands. We had befriended the F&B manager though, who took good care of us. The swimming pool is great, but the lifeguard seemed to naturally gravitate towards where he thought the big tips would come from, totally ignoring the rest of the crowd. Great private beach too, and it was clean when we visited. Finally, fairly good food too, but not exceptional.

In summary, the holiday village is not exceptionally good at any one particular aspect, instead just a package of many good things put together. I would consider visiting again, but only if I got a sweet deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinodShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spend our honeymoon in Goa at Taj Village and returned several times over the years to re-capture the sentiment.

Unfortunately, our check in experience this August was a nightmare: we were given the worst possible room near a junk yard and when we objected, were shown a couple more equally terrible rooms. Exasperated and very upset, we asked to meet the hotel manager. After more than an hour, we were finally settled into a nicer room, nearer the pool and sea. After that, our stay was what we had came back for: Goa in the rains: great ambiance with a good buffet breakfast (they make the best cappuccino and chocolate sauce for waffles), lush greenery, delightful peace and a great pool.

The staff were rather thoughtful: when they learnt we had first come here fifteen years ago, they decorated our bed with two swans made from bath towels.

The small strip of a beach is still a disappointment (even though the ugly, stranded ship has been finally removed), and there just never seemed to be enough umbrellas available for guests to use. If you plan to use the spa, it's very small, so book a spot way before you arrive..

Room Tip: Don't settle for a room you don't like as it will spoil your experience of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaTorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is perfect for relaxing and having a nice time. The only bad thing we experienced was the checkin. It seems they were thinking "two men from middle europe - they will not complain" -> and gave us the worst possible room. Directly related at the ugliest place at the engines of the water tanks and electricity with really lots of noise 24hours per day. The view directly on these engines and the waste around. We had to first nicely then bit more strictly and finally very upset tell them that this is a no go. After all we got a nice room far away from this near the pool.

I would say: perfect hotel if you get a nice bungalow. But if not - you have to fight.

Room Tip: The near to the pool - the better. Tell them in the checkin you want to see at least two rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissMan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived at this hotel and had trouble getting into the hotel compound as the security staff at the entrance would not let us in without seeing our passports and booking, having eventually got into the hotel area our check-in took 4 hours, the rooms they showed us were not clean, they had the toilet seat hanging off the toilet, mud on the floor, stains on the walls and sofa and very dirty bathroom. The night manager eventually offered a twin room saying that it was the only room left, we explained that we had paid for a king room and refused to accept the twin, he walked off leaving us in reception with no room.
We called the manager who spoke to the night manager when he returned and then miraculously gave us a king room even though he had told us there were none left. We had to clean the bathroom ourselves at 1am in the morning 4 hours after we had arrived at the hotel.
The next morning we went to breakfast which is held in a large barn building with tarpaulin roof, it is chaos with hundreds of guests trying to find a clean table - none of the tables are cleaned when guests leave, we struggled to get served - there was no coffee and no butter, the waitress was more concerned in finding out our room number than helping us.
We complained to the manager again as we were unable to get breakfast, the manager - Mr Srivastana, who seemed uninterested and unable to do anything about our experience, we then find out that he is not in fact the manager he is an assistant manager. We are then introduced to the manager who does try to help us and listens to our problems with check-in, dirty rooms and breakfast.
The service in this hotel is terrible, the staff have no training - especially reception staff who seem unable to use a computer, are rude to customers and have no systems or proper management.
There are regular power cuts each evening in the hotel, and building works are ongoing around the restaurant areas. The hotel gardens have collapsed onto the beach in front of the hotel and there is a very unsightly pile of rubble and earth along the length of the beach area.
The General Manager did try to help us and also put us in touch with Deepak one of the restaurant staff who seemed to be the only member of staff in the whole place who really knew what he was doing.
The last straw in this hotel was when dark brown water started coming out of the bathroom taps and toilet, they explained that the water filters had broken and needed to be replaced - we were unable to wash or shower.
We would not recommend staying here unless you can cope with the unfriendly, unhelpful staff and substandard accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its ideally located has its own beach which is very clean compared to other beaches in Goa.
fantastic service and very friendly staff. Kids will love the hotel as it has plenty of activities for them.

Room Tip: Try and get room closer to the beach and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Taj Holiday village has everything going for it in terms of location, the beach etc. but i was sorely disappointed with the place. The service was nowhere near the usual Taj standards, the food which was served as part of the Buffet was terrible, the prices for drinks and ala carte food exorbitant and the less said about the amenities and facilities in the room, the better. Even a 3 star hotel provides room slippers now but this hotel didn't think it necessary! A group of about 40 of us had gathered there for our reunion and while it is understandable that it would be difficult to cater to all the whims of such a large group, one can at least expect decent food to be served even if its part of a package. The only good thing was that one could also go to fort aguada for meals and the food there was much better. Won't be going back here anytime soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
20.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 stars 2,508 reviews
2.8 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 62 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
4.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#5 of 62 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa, is different, yet the same in many ways. Still the charming village, that flirts with the beach. Where fun lovers come for repeat doses of delight. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Holiday Village, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Hotel Sinquerim
Vivanta By Taj - Holiday Village, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing