We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from luxury, don't let the website fool you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Far from luxury, don't let the website fool you.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The aguada looked very nice on the web. We were in goa for 10 day Xmas holiday, family of 4. We chose this resort over other 5 star resorts because we wanted the space, even thought the prices were comparable. The good news is we got the space we were looking for. Otherwise, here are the outstanding I sues that the hotel needs to deal with, immediately.
1. The pool is small and COLD. Bitterly cold. The Schooner poolside bar is run by the sole bartender. The one day we asked to order food, he said no, you have to walk down to the main building. We went to the main restaurant, told the manager what had happened. He called the bar guy and said, sorry, I don't know why he said that. NICE
2. The hotel is me long strip, so if you don't like walking, ask to be close to the front entrance.
3. Our villa was covered in mold on the outside, not the vivid beautiful villas you see on the web. Inside, the furnishings are well used, there ARE BED BUGS. The cleaning is bare minimum, the floors are dirty, the cockroaches are around.
4. I didn't mind the breakfasts, but I like Indian food And they put out hot and cold food. However they serve it all in a dark room and keep the windows drawn and the TV on. The servers spend more time watching tv than watching customers. Food was ok, but not anything you want to eat more than once.
5. We paid for wifi, for 7 days, even though they knew ithe router by our villa was down. After 3 days of useless assistance and asking for a manager, they gave our money back, but what a nightmare getting it back.
Thankfully the hotel is on the far end of a popular road for restaurants and cafes. We enjoyed the taj aguada and in the end wish we had booked it instead, or any resort which didn't deceptively call their accommodation " luxury" when it is clearly a 2/3 star. We would have left after our 1st day there, but we unfortunately paid in advance ( never again!) and we knew we were never going to get a refund.
Save your holidays money and dreams and stay where the resort represents itself honestly and the prices reflect what you are actually getting.

Room Tip: Be close to the entrance if you don't like walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FynnGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguada Anchorag... T, Manager at Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologise for the bad experience you had staying with us. However, we would like to clarify a few points that were raised by you.

Pool ice cold - Goa is a coastal area with avg. temperatures of 24 to 32 deg.C . In mid Dec. the night temp did fall to about around 16 deg.C . As heated pools in a temperate climate are unviable, we apologize for the same.

Bed Bugs - we have a dedicated team doing pest control 365 days in a year. We were not informed of this during the course of stay. As this is the first complaint of this kind, we will definitely look into it.

Wifi - We have received a few complaints that wifi reception is bad or non- existent in certain areas of the property, especially some rooms in a villa. We apologize for this and are working towards rectifying this as far as possible.
Refund of wifi fees : Our staff is not authorized to take decisions on refunds on the spot. Refunds are done after the Management authorize the same. This could have taken a day or two for which we apologize. But the aspersion cast on our integrity is uncalled for.

A/c noise : As per our records we received a complaint at 11.00am and was rectified within half an hour.

We thank you for your comment. We will strive to give better satisfaction to our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    60
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
93
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were a large group, including 2 large dogs, spread over 3 villas. Very well located, a stone's throw from the Taj and 7-10 min walk to the beach. Common areas a bit dark, dimly lit. Of the 3 villas, the one i stayed in was fantastic, with a great view, the rest were not good at all. Room service was patchy. Breakfast was cafeteria like - adequate, but not luxurious by any stretch. Good value, good service (they arranged a poolside lunch for 25 people at short notice) - works well if you plan to eat out, but need a reasonably priced place to crash in!

Room Tip: Ask for the villa closest to the main gate - nicely done up, private garden, great view and opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadhunterIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our vacation was completely ruined of our stay in this so called VILLA. Seeing all the amazing web design, we got carried away.
Day 1: We were allotted 3 bedroom villa (Villa no. B-6). The rooms were smaller than any veranda, without a TV in any of the rooms and poorly lit lights. For the amount they charge, they treat the customers like '-----'. After a big fight with them Day 2 we were moved to another VILLA (P-32)which was actually allotted for us (refer the gallery too). We stayed there for a day and next day there was a major cable failure and then we moved again. Day 3 was another villa and by this time we were fuming with frustration and anger.
We stayed for 3 days and all 3 days we were made to move from one villa to another.
If ever anyone is planning to stay here, PL DON'T ruin your trip. You will regret staying here we we all felt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aishwarya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguada Anchorag... T, General Manager at Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I beg to differ from your views on the same and let me clarify the same.
01. Please note that we had various types of categories of rooms and rate differs accordingly and at the time of bookings my reservation staff made clear to you since you had opted for poolside Villa the said Villa was blocked for you and on checking with concern staff who had taken your bookings it was clearly told to what are the facilities available in that Villa B-6.
02. Please note that at that period our hotel was fully booked , when you check in my staff clearly told you if you want we will shift you next day , which you had agreed and next day they showed you the two rooms which check out and accordingly you had opted for B-32 which was premium room, Since you was not happy my staff had gone out of the way and upgraded you to premium villa without any additional charges.
03. On the third day late evening there was power failure because a cable had burned in the junction box at the side of you Villa which you were aware and not to put you’ll to inconvenience, with your team permission we had shifted to other premium Villa and you’ll were quite happy with arrangement . The cable burnt due to power fluctuations which was beyond our control and my staff were working to repair the same but it would have taken some time but to avoid any further inconvenience; in no time we had allotted you’ll the other Premium Villa which was available
04. Since there was inconvenience cause to your team and as per your request we had compensated you by waiving off extra person charges fully for 3 nights amounting to Rs 7,500/- and all your team members were quite happy over the same and they had ever complimented my front office staff.
05. At the time of final payment you raised all those issue again and demand further allowances earlier you had asked to waive off 50% charges of extra person later on you said it is too less and request to waived off full charges still as special case we had agreed and later on your demand for allowance was increasing at that time GM had intervened and explained to you stating that % of allowances are too high and extra person had even take buffet breakfast which company had borne the cost , you had then accepted the final amount and checked-out.
06. Your team members were very supportive and they understood the problem even they did not have problem with the Villa B-6, we were surprised to read the negative comment event after the Management had gone out of the way to accommodate your demand, Please note for last 8 years we are running this hotel and no guest who had stayed in that Villa had complained in fact this Villa is the closest to the Swimming Pool and our repeat clients always prefer to block this Villa well in advance and we were surprised that you did not like it.
07. I am sorry to state that you had put this negative comment because we could not accommodate your demand for further discount/allowances and your expectation were too high , hotel staff also have limitation to give discount, If you had seen the Villa on web and if the same was available we could have given you with the premium rate with additional cost per day subject to availability.
08. Kindly note that my Front Office staff went out of the way even to arrange outside vehicles and which your entire team had complimented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had visited this property for 3 nights and 4 nights, we couldnt get the bungalow that we had selected so had to stay 1 night at B 39, but to our surprise it was big and spacious and good, the bathrooms were well maintained and bedrooms were big and galary were also big enough but a little bit outdated but not bad,on the other day we were shifted to B 27 and there were a group of 3 villas which had a private swimming pool between 3 of them and since the other 2 villas were empty we had a private swimming pool of our own so had a blast out there, this property was a bit well maintained then the earlier one and bathrooms were also good, over all great location away from the buzzing Goa once you are in the property and very close to the market and food easily available beach close by. Breakfast is limited but good, dont expect t the level of a continental level.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalayNandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice property and very well located.. the staff was brilliant and the villa although a little dated and in need of some maintenance was in a good condition. the rooms are large with nice balconys. all rooms have a opertaionl kitchen and coffee markers

The room service of food was average and the brekfast was Bad to say the least.

special thanks to Peter however who was very helpfull

Room Tip: chose a room close to the Pool we were in 24B the 3BHK villa and were very Happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janakjanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of the property is quite Central. Very close to the beach and near to Taj Fort Aguada. A 15 to 20 minutes drive and you are in Baga Beach. The Villas were very neat and clean but quite basic. The food in the Hotel was quite average and avoidable. The breakfast served was also very average. I would prefer staying in some other property during my next visit to Goa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a resort of 51 villas out of which 17 are mainitained by the hotel and available for booking through the Aguada anchorage mgmt. Remaining villas are either occupied by owners or available for renting through owners. We stayed in a 5 bedroom villa No. B-22 as we were a family of 8 adults and 2 children. All throughout our stay of 6 days, we felt completely comfortable and throughlly enjoyed the 10 minute walk to the Sinquerim beach. Actually this beach is one of the cleanest and less crowded as there are just 3 hotels nearby - Aguada Anchorage, Taj Fort Aguada & Taj Holiday Village. The property is widely spready out, well maintained and clean. We had breakfast & dinner buffet included in our package. The food dished out is very tasty and enjoyable. Even though the buffet lacked in variety, but the taste made up for the lack of variety. Villa rooms are good with all facilities like completely furnished kitchen. Best place to go if u r a big family and want a relaxed holiday. Staff are also courteous and very helpful always with a smile. But dont expect a luxurious stay like a Taj or Leela. They dont have a spa and the gym is as good as non-existent. There are local eating joints, shops, bike hire etc near the property.
All in all a pleasant stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhatia2abhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
1.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#13 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort

Property: Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort
Address: Fort Aguada Road | Sinquerim Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India (Formerly Exotica Aguada Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4 star villa resort in Goa. Ideal for a groups of friends and families traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Hotel Sinquerim
Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing