We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit Disappointing”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was our second visit to this resort and we had a lot of high expectations since our first trip here was very good. It is sad to say though that this visit was quite disappointing..we stayed here with our family from 15th to 18th May 2012. There were not many people staying here during the first two days and it seemed that because of this the hotel staff were not really interested in the guests who were staying here! To start with the buffet breakfast had not much of a choice as we expected since we had previously had the breakfast here last time we visited and it was amazing...but this time it looked like they were only trying to put out the bare minimum...also the communication between the hotel staff is bad as our package included a 20% discount on lunch and dinner and to our surprise after our meal the restaurant staff were not even aware of this...the hotel guys managed to get this sorted out after a while but this is not really expected especially since there were not really a lot of people staying there at the time.Also the price of the food there is too much for the quantity they served....The villa was the only thing that met our expectation..they were clean and well kept...the reception staff was also very friendly and helpful...on our last day over here there was a office convention going on...the breakfast timing is supposed to be uptill 10:00 am and even though we got there by 9:30 we were told that they were just about to close the breakfast as they assumed that only the people from the convention who had already finished breakfast were staying in the resort..again they did keep the breakfast on till 10:00 for us so that was good...overall we expected a lot of this place but because of the lack of attention we were disappointed and will really have to consider if we would want to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gonsalvesboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time and writing this review and we take this point as recommendation to improve our services and rectifying the lapses.
I had gone through your review and investigated the same with all concern departments and I would like to clarify the same.

1) Please note hotel was fully booked for Conference from 17th to 20th May-12 and we had about 165 delegates from all India level from a very reputed Company and occupancy must have dropped for a day or two because we had to block rooms for those delegates.

2) Regarding breakfast is concern please note we do not comprise on quality& quantity as per our normal practice which is existing till-date we serve 3 North Indian,2 South Indian, live counter of eggs, juices, 5 types of Cereals, pastries ,cakes, freshly cut fruits, baked beans, grilled tomatoes, assorted bread with jam/marmalade & butter and if anything extra on request, Please let me know beside this what was your expectation if possible we can look into the same and this the normal thing all hotel serve for complimentary breakfast which is included in the Plan.

3) With reference to your 20% discount is concern, I had investigated this matter I was given to understand by my reservation department first your were directly dealing with hotel for your booking hence we had offered 20% discount on food but subsequently you had routed this booking through Travel Agent and no discount was agreed for the same but when you brought up this matter with our Restaurant staff as special case we had given you 20% discount since you were our repeat client hence I do not think there was any lack of communication on this matter.

4) Pricing of Food is concern compare to other surrounding hotels we are cheaper more than 30% and quantity we serve is normal portion beside that we had offered you special discount and for last one year we had not revised our Menu prices….anyway I will make note and look into the same.

5) Regarding breakfast timing is concern please note our breakfast timing is from 7.30 am to 10.30 am and not 10.00 am as stated by you, In your case I had checked with Restaurant Staff and Chef most of the time your group used to come to breakfast late at 10.45 am but we never refused breakfast but on 18th May-12 we had to close down our buffet counter at 10.30 am because our conference delegates wanted to have presentation at 11.30 am in Restaurant but when you’ll came breakfast was served but Chef did not replenish some the dishes since it was too late.

Please note we always treat our guest with dignity and respect and no way we discriminate and do hope above explanation will clarify the matter and sorry for the delay in reverting you on this matter.

I do hope you will reconsider you decision and visit us again as we will ensure that you do not go back disappointed.

Mario Fernandes

(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    62
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
101
11
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A simple holiday resort-- very comfortable for a family holiday. Cottages 1-4 bedrooms, self contained living/dining/ well equipped kitchenette.
upkeep of some areas within the cottage needs much to be desired. Cleanliness /hygyene of toilets def below mark. Bed linnen/crockery/cutlery/all v clean . Electronic devices eg Air conditioning/ tv channels not perfect.
2 pools -- small but well maintained, sufficient pool beds . Service near pool area slow.
1 banquet area ---- breakfast served---------nice comfortable/airy . But food quality/variety needs to improve.
During our stay in MAy only VEG breakfast laid ??????????? thus a big dissappointment.
Not connected to the beach ------------30 mins walking distance to the beach or any other eating joints.

Room Tip: Well ------ each cottage is individually owned though upkeep by Clarks. So you would need to check o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was part of a group of 90 , who all were there to enjoy a Company Picnic with our families.
We stayed at the Villas, which we found were excellently maintained with all necessary appliances like Refrigerator, Tea maker, Microwave, Cooking Range and the service was excellent too. The facilities like the Swimming pool, Conference room etc were also experienced by us and we found the Hotel Management very co-operative overall. The food was OK.... could have been better, but the travel arrangements done by them for the group was very good.
Overall the experience was nice and I would definitely recommend this resort to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAJ2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

goa : aguada anchorage
date july 2011
after a lot of research online and a lot of survey about villas found an amazing place in goa to stay at condolim beach side in north goa.
also did a research on trip advisor and found this place .
there are these amazing villas in north goa in the comdolim -sequirem beach side.
just 2 mins from taj fort aguada.
the complex has amazing 2 -3 -4 bedroom villas.
we got this 3 bedroom villas as we were 1 couple and 4 other friends .the villa had an amazing living room with a dining arra on the ground floor and there was a fully equipped kitchen and also one bedroom was on the ground floor and there was a dryer an washing machine also and the first floor had 2 rooms with attached bathrooms and it also had a small living area outside with a tv in it and also there was a balcony .
our villa was facing straight in front of the swimming pool.the complex has 2 swimming pools of which this was a fairly larger one.the complex had paid wifi service and also a resturant at the entrance of the complex and a reception .
we had an amazing time at the pool where there was also a bar at the pool .and jus besides the pool there is a volley ball net to play other sports .
in this comples the villas are owned by different people but the are collectively managed by clarks company .
after my visit i have almost sent out there 5 groups of people.
it is one of the best places that i have stayed in goa and always try and go and stay there if i am in a larger group.it is truly a value for the money we pay for the stay .
the service from their side is available from morning till 10 in the evening .
you also get good food on call from the clarks restuarant.
it was a truly great experiance at such a nice place

Room Tip: book early to get the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pravet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

aguada ancorage is a nice place to stay with your family the rooms are nice the service is good and we all loved the food they prepared it as we wanted..we enjoyed our stay...they could have a better breakfast spread...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moushuminaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I spent 3 nights with my family, all from Bombay, in this resort. We selected this based on tripadvisor's reviews.

While the resort has some potential, compared to other family resorts we stayed at, it is not worth its price. The check-in process was disastrous, nobody gave us any information about the hotel. Rooms were clean but kitchen appliances (like the kettle) were dirty. The bathrooms are very badly designed, and be careful trying to get hot water, we almost burnt our child.

Also absolutely no information about anything in the bungalows. They had to write the phone number of the reception on a piece of paper. And no free internet. At 11 thousand rupees a night, throwing in free internet seems normal.

The staff was generally quite nice but badly trained. When we asked one of the waiters if there were any good restaurants around, he had no clue. We ate quite a few grilled sandwiches during our trip. Food at the hotel was generally nice but lacked good vegetarian options.We had to personally go into the kitchen to try to get some healthy simple food. Getting a very simple bowl of noodles for children was a struggle. Seems like Indian chefs always want to add a bit of ghee everywhere.

The pool was nice, except when the pool staff started blasting music out of a malfunctioning stereo.

We had to struggle at this hotel. One morning we found a guest had made his driver park in car just in front of our bungalow, blasting music, checking out the ladies in our group. Nice morning for us. It took around 3 phone calls to finally get him to park somewhere else. All this time, no word from any manager. We did see him at the end though and expressed our concerns. Too little to late ! When we asked for a discount of 2 thousand rupees (out of 45 thousand rupees bill), he said it was not possible.

There is a lot of potential tough, it is a good concept for families. But if you compare to similar resorts in Thailand, there is no question in my mind: take the new Indigo flights to Bangkok, then on to Phuket.

I really wonder how this resort got so many good reviews. I am actually skpetical that these are genuine reviews.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Clarks Exotica is located right below Fort Aguada and next to the Taj property, in one of the busiest tourist spots in Goa. However, once you enter the property it's an oasis in the crazy hustle and bustle of holidaying! The villas are spacious, well maintained with instant on-call assistance. The villa we used was perfectly designed to house well over 15 people in 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, a massive kitchen and decent living / eating space. Two pools, a small gym and loads of garden space in the complex completed the perfect setting for a home while holidaying!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deepaliandvivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
1.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
6.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 65 in Candolim
957 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.9 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort

Property: Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort
Address: Fort Aguada Road | Sinquerim Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India (Formerly Exotica Aguada Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4 star villa resort in Goa. Ideal for a groups of friends and families traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Hotel Sinquerim
Aguada Anchorage - The Villa Resort Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing