We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Clan Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clan Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

According to the prescriptions on tripadvisor we expected lots. What we've got was even better. We stayed for 6 nights at Clan MacDougall Cottage (No.3). Everything absolutely clean, kitchen facility more than well equipped and the rooms lovely and tastefully furnished, attention to detail is the keyword everywhere. The views over Loch Nell and the hills simply outstanding. Surrounded by peace you are still only a 10 minute drive away from Oban's amenities. We also loved our hike to Lochan Corr Chnoic and the wee trips up Loch Nell with the provided rowing boats a lot. Thank you Mary and John. With your hard work and your lovely, dedicatet personality you've made one of my dreams become true, to show Doris and the boys how bonny Scotland really is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review for us. We appreciate your feedback and are really pleased you, Doris and the boys enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back to stay with us again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
72
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the mackenzie cottage for 2. It is a lovely setting and the cottage is decorated to a high standard.
We did feel however that the bedroom let the rest of the cottage down, the bed is only a double and the mattress is very hard. Also the main boiler for the heating and water is in a cuboard in the bedroom which clicks and whooshs all night long.
We Must admit we had lovely days relaxing reading in the nice lounge, but didnt sleep well at all in the bedroom, as this is only a 1 bedroom cottage we had no alternative either. We think if they spent some money on a really nice comfy kingsize bed then this cottage would be perfect.
We also feel that the price we paid in winter (nearly £100 per night) was a bit steep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunbeamPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrivain12, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Clan Cottages. Your feedback is very important to us. Your comments are correct, Clan Cottages are not perfect. We believe there is no such thing as ’perfect’ as there is always room for improvement! By listening to, and taking action upon feedback given to us by our visitors we have the opportunity to improve the experiences of our future guests. We have taken your comments on board, thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for a week from the 8th september in the Clan Mackenzie cottage. I can only add to the already many glowing reviews. Its a beautiful setting. A 10 minute drive to Oban with its plentiful amenities. (try to local beer, its superb!)
The cottages themselves are amazing, rustic on the outside, modern on the inside. Warm and Cosy, the 2 person cottage was suprisingly spacious thanks to the mezanine lounge. it was a great base to explore the surrounding area. Everything you need is already provided, dish washer tablets etc. Nice big shower as well.
I didn't go to clan cottages for the fishing but obviously I took my fly gear just in case! the cottages are on the shore of Loch Nell which is a gin clear loch, not peated as I was expecting. It was teeming with small brown trout, I caught fish from about 4 inches up to about 10 inches all in tip top condition. John was kind enough to take me out on his boat, but he is more than accommodating should you wish to use one during the day (he had just bought a second one when we were there). There is also a Salmon run though I didnt catch one, some of the local lads had a couple.
Hopefully we will be back next September!

Room Tip: dont leave the door open, the ducks will be in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrivain, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post review of your holiday with us at Clan Cottages.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our MacKenzie cottage.

We're also glad you enjoyed your fishing. It is so handy being able to access the loch so easily from the cottages. We're glad you enjoyed going out in the boat with John. John loves having an excuse to go up the loch fishing.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the cottage. We look forward to seeing you when you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in McKenzie Cottage. The thatched cottages are beautiful and Mckenzie cottage has a lovely view of the loch as well as a beautiful feature stone wall and mezzanine lounge. The finishing touches to the cottage are so thoughtful and make it a very special place. I particularly enjoyed watching the birds on the bird table just outside our window. I can't recommend this cottage enough and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Clan Cottages and also you for your kind comments about our MacKenzie cottage.

The bird life around the cottages is amazing, you can sit for ages watching them.

Thank you for your recommending us, we greatly appreciate this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved our stay at Clan Cottages. We were in the MacDougall Cottage with a spectacular view of the loch. The cottage and the setting are so lovely! We enjoyed hiking up the hill overlooking the cottages and loch. And my husband loved fishing. It is very convenient too, being so close to Oban.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VondaSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review for Clan Cottages on your 7 nights stay in our two bedroom Clan MacDougall cottage.

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay.

We are glad you climbed to the top of the hill overlooking the cottages, you get such a good aerial view of the cottages, loch and river.

We are lucky to have such a stunning rural location, but to also be just a 10 minutes drive to the centre of Oban and all its amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

An ideal location surrounded by the most amazing view, just a short drive from Oban. The cottages were absolutely wonderful! They were clean, comfortable and had every amenity and more than you would find in a hotel. The owners were extremely and helpful. I highly recommended staying at Clan Cottages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Clan Cottages. We really enjoy what we do here at Clan cottages.

Thank you for recommending us to others, it is much appreciated. We hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Every description offering accolades is accurate. The most luxurious, beautifully appointed cottages.Surrounded by fields of sheep and next to a loch it was glorious to wake up to birds swarming the feeder out front and sheep grazing on the other side of the stone fence in the back. Peering out the window at the mountain with sheep and cattle speckled on it was also a new, very relaxing and enjoyable experience.
We stayed in the MacKinnon Cottage which had 3 bdrms and 2 baths. There was plenty of room for the 5 of us. There were 5 beds, one queen and 4 single beds. Everything we needed to prepare our own food was there. The owners are conscientious and recycle,
that was awesome to see. The experience was priceless!! Would return again.

Room Tip: Choose what you need for your family or group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Clan Cottages, this will be helpful to future guests. We do try our best to make the cottages a 'home from home' for our visitors.

Thank you for all your kind comments. We hope you do manage to return for another holiday in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmore
2.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
5.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Cottages

Property: Clan Cottages
Address: Kilmore | Oban, Kilmore, Oban PA34 4XU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Kilmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kilmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clan Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clan Cottages consist of 5 newly buillt thatched holdiay cottages. There is one 3 bedroom cottage, One 1 bedroom cottage with stunning mezzanine lounge and 3 2 bedroom cottages, one which has a Cat. 2 Visit Scotland Grading for assited wheelchair access. We are 6 minutes from Oban 'Gateway to the Isles' with all its amenities. The area is perfect for walking, cycling and fishing. There is also an abundance of wildlife. The MacKinnon and MacDonald cottages accept a max of two dogs. Dogs are charged £5 per dog per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Clan Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing