We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Cottages Excellent Location”
Review of Clan Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clan Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantasic Cottages Excellent Location”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The cottage was out of this world and we really enjoyed every moment of our stay.

Definitely 5 star cottage if not more! the hosts were wonderfull and very helpfull in everyway.
The location is beautiful, were only 6 minutes from oban and 10 minutes from the train station.

I do think the people of trip advisor should have this accommodation in the Oban section of trip advisor. There would be far more fantastic reviews but people wont be able to find the Clan Cottages on here!! You have listed the Clan cottages as in the city as Kilmore where Kilmore is a tiny area right next to Oban so please get this wonderfull property listed where people can find it!!!

We will 100% be back next year to our annual holiday and have also told all our friends. Brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlumNtrunK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We have just set up a business listing on Tripadvisor and so can now respond to our reviews.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your holiday at Clan Cottages.

We are lucky to have such a beautiful rural location but be only a stones throw from our nearest town 'Oban' - Gateway to the Isles and Seafood Capital of Scotland. We also have a holiday rental advert on Tripadvisor now which brings us up as Kilmore, by Oban

Thank you for your kind comments they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
76
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent a week here, with nothing but the birds around chirping away and the sound of the rain in some days. There are 5 cottages and we had the 2 person one. It was finished at a very high standard, with everything you need. We felt at home in hours. The cottage is also very warm, very well insulated so even if outside temperatures weren't very mild, inside it was very warm and cosy.

We didn't do much but walk around the hills for a bit and go into Oban for food shopping and fish and chips. We wanted to get away from everything and spend some quiet time. This was exactly that.

I felt re-charged after our trip and can say you will not be disappointed by the wonderful cottages or their surroundings.

Room Tip: have a look around their website to choose the house you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andraoprea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We have just set up a business listing on Tripadvisor and so can now respond to our reviews.

Thank you for taking the the time to post a review of your break in our Clan MacKenzie cottage. We are really pleased you were able to chill out and relax during you stay. This is what we aim to offer our guests, just a break away from the treadmill of everyday life.

We hope you will return soon for another well earned rest !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited Clan Cottages in September 2011 and were absolutely delighted with the cottage and its surroundings.
The decor and finishes in the cottage were to an extermely high standard. The cottages were fully equipped and there had obviously been a lot of thought into ensuring that everything you needed was there.
To arrive to a bottle of wine, water and a large basket of biscuits was a real treat !

The views over both Loch Nell and the River Nell were amazing and the birdlife prolific, loved feeding the ducks.
John and Mary were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Excellent for couples or families; great peaceful retreat after a busy day in town or the Highlands. 4 miles from the town which was just perfect. Great hosts; great accommodation; amazing location and excellent base for the Islands [Mull, Iona or beyond] as well as the Mid-West Coast. Oban is a lovely town on a wet day with just enough to do.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dairycrest3Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We have just set up a business listing on Tripadvisor and so can now respond to our reviews.

Thank you for posting a review of your holiday at Clan Cottages. As you say, Oban is a great base for exploring the West Coast and some of the islands, especially, Mull, Iona and Staffa.

Our selection of seafari excursions including those to the Coryvreckan whirlpools and whale watching etc are amazing.

Glencoe and Fort William are also just an hour away from Oban.

Thanks again for all your kind comments. We look forward to you returning to Clan Cottages again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

What a super little hideaway - we had the signature 2 person cottage and it was fabulous. would recommend to everyone. .

We will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank madmike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We have just set up a business listing on Tripadvisor and so can now respond to our reviews.

Thank you for posting a review of your break in our Clan MacKenzie cottage and for all you kind comments.

We look forward to you returning again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

OK, the perfect weather helped, but the location and superb amenities in the cottage were both brilliant. In fact the wireless internet and digital tv were rather better than at home! The variety of birdlife on your doorstep was amazing.
Also, great to be just 10 minutes away from Tesco and the ferry terminal in Oban.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FoxyCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We have just set up a business listing on Tripadvisor and so can now respond to our reviews.

Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your break at Clan Cottages. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Wonderful setting, nature lovers paradise, immaculately clean cottage with thoughtful touches, a comfortable home from home, wonderful welcome from the caring owners. Wish we could have stayed much longer.
Lots to see and do in the area around Oban. Definitely going back again.

Room Tip: Car is a must to get around the spectacular scene.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mau7dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We have just set up a business listing on Tripadvisor and so can now respond to our reviews.

Thank you for your glowing review of your holiday at Clan Cottages. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the world. The wildlife round the cottages is amazing, as is the sky on a clear night. With Oban under 5 miles away we have the best of both worlds.

We are really glad you enjoyed your break and look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmore
2.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
462 reviews
10.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
1.9 mi away
Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Cottages

Property: Clan Cottages
Address: Kilmore | Oban, Kilmore, Oban PA34 4XU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Kilmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kilmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clan Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clan Cottages consist of 5 newly buillt thatched holdiay cottages. There is one 3 bedroom cottage, One 1 bedroom cottage with stunning mezzanine lounge and 3 2 bedroom cottages, one which has a Cat. 2 Visit Scotland Grading for assited wheelchair access. We are 6 minutes from Oban 'Gateway to the Isles' with all its amenities. The area is perfect for walking, cycling and fishing. There is also an abundance of wildlife. The MacKinnon and MacDonald cottages accept a max of two dogs. Dogs are charged £5 per dog per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clan Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing