We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engaged in Prato Di Sotto”
Review of Prato di Sotto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierantonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prato di Sotto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I travelled to Italy in June this year. We stayed in Prato Di Sotto for 6 nights and it was so special that it ended up being the place my partner chose to propose, on the balcony of the main house at sunset, overlooking the amazing Umbrian mountains.

Penny was extremely helpful and accommodating and gave us some champagne when she heard of our engagement. She was extremely approachable for advice on the area, where to go and shop and some great restuarant recommendations! We were also really lucky when we were there as were given the main house as it was vacant so had a huge place all to ourselves at no extra cost. The bedroom was gorgeous with amazing views and bed very comfy with lovely linen sheets. The only thing we found a little daunting at first was the drive up the dirt track to the house which was 4.5k but luckily my partner is an experienced driver and we got used to it after a couple of times.

We would definitely go back to Penny's and would recommend to friends. It was truly a magical place, built with love and lots of care and attention to ensure guests enjoyed themselves!!

Thanks Penny

Tara and Tarun

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Prato di Sotto is a very special holiday experience. We stayed in La Terrazza, with a huge terrace where we ate all our meals under the shade of a thick grapevine-- the grapes hanging just above our heads. In front of us, a magnificent view down into a bowl surrounded by wooded slopes. Everything about this place is beautiful-- Penny's immaculate restoration and building-- the large and long infinity pool with spectacular views, her succession of beautiful gardens, the hens-- and their eggs! Our kitchen was far better equipped than most holiday lets-- stocked by someone who cares about food, and about cooking.
The immensely thick stone walls and the shutters meant we were always very comfortably cool inside--much more so than at home in London in high Summer!
We tended to go out on trips every other day-- to Gubbio, to Assisi, to Perugia... and spend the alternate days simply relaxing with books and the pool--perfect.

Penny is a wonderful host-- generous with her time, hospitality and advice, but never intrusive.
This felt like much more than simply a holiday. We will be back.

J, G and E

Room Tip: Prato di Sotto has a good variety of apartments -- we liked them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I visited Prato di Sotto in May 2013, staying in La Capanna cottage overlooking the swimming pool. The views over the Umbrian hills are breathtaking and the cottage is beautifully appointed, being simple but sophisticated. Penny is a delightful host and great company. Being off season, we enjoyed many hikes together with her dogs through the surrounding countryside. It is an ideal place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A wonderful host, view, pool and appartment. Very highly recommended. The view of the towers of Santa Juliana below are really breathtaking. Privately owned, very personal style. We will surely pass some time here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewijdewereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at this wonderful venue. Penny gave us a warm welcome to her impressive property and our holiday was exactly what we had hoped for. The setting is magnificent and the accomodation comfortable with wonderful views from both rooms and the generous swimming pool. Penny's suggestions for places to eat and visit were really helpful and useful. The fresh laid eggs and fig jam were a very welcome treat. We hope to be back before too long and judging by the other guests we met there, most visitors feel the same way.
Thank you Penny.
David and Jan

Room Tip: We booked last minute and next time will try one of the larger properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandjaldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Wife and I honeymooned in Italy over the summer and for most of our trip we called Prato di Sotto home. Penny was a most gracious hostess and the cottage was so beautiful nestled into the Italian countryside. Our location near Umbertide and north of Perugia and Sienna was perfect for making day trips throughout Umbria and Tuscany. Penny has tons of knowledge of the the area including restaurant recommendations, which came in handy on our first visit to Italy. I don't want to make this review too glowing because I fear that I may not be able to get a booking next time if the secret gets out! Thanks Penny!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I visited Prato di Sotto with my mother, partner and a friend - a motley crew indeed (!) in June and we had a wonderful week. The drive from Ancona airport was very straightforward, the house was stunning and full of character, with all of the amenities needed for a week's self-catering (we spent most evenings dining on the terrace). Penny was the perfect host, making sure we had everything that we needed for and going out of her way to make sure my (fairly elderly) mum was looked after. The infinity pool was the perfect way to relax after a day out visiting Assisi and Gubbio. Umbertide (the local town) was really charming, with some great places to eat and not at all touristy. All in all, a fantastic week, in a beatiful, unspoilt part of Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaB2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prato di Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prato di Sotto

Address: Santa Giuliana | Umbertide, 06019 Pierantonio, Umbertide, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide > Pierantonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pierantonio
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prato di Sotto is for the connoisseur. This collection of historic stone buildings sits above the tiny 13th century hamlet of Santa Giuliana, not far from the market town of Umbertide in northern Umbria. Lovingly restored by the owner, Penny Radford, and furnished with her personal collection of kilim rugs and antiques from around the world, the emphasis is on comfort and style. Beds are large and comfortable with crisp linen sheets and kitchens are equipped for even the most demanding cook. Read our amazing reviews we have received from TripAdvisor members... 'A little bit of heaven' 'Prato di Sotto is the jewel in the Umbrian crown' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prato Di Sotto Italy/Pierantonio, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing