We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go - you won't regret it”
Review of Prato di Sotto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierantonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prato di Sotto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Prato di Sotto is absolute perfection. A group of beautifully-restored old buildings perched up in the Umbrian hills. The views are serene and breathtaking. The interiors rustic yet chic. And the infinity pool shared by those who inhabit this world is a beauty. Pack your car with wonderful Italian foods and wines - then settle here with family and friends - and enjoy the best of what life has to offer. I have on several occasions now - most recently June 2012 - and can't wait to go back. The owner, btw, is absolutely charming as her wonderful dogs.

Room Tip: The Molino is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

We loved Prato di Sotto. It is a beautiful spot, set in the hills of Umbria. We loved the sun-drenched terazzo overlooking rolling hills, fresh figs to pick to go with our proscuitto, relaxing by the pool, and having goodies such as fresh ground coffee, ollive oil made from trees grown on the property, and freshly-laid eggs awaiting us in our apartment. There is amazing attention to detail throughout the property, with hand-picked antiques throughout. Penny is a fantastic host, offering great local advice, and even inviting us into her home. There are a variety of rooms to suit all types of groups, and each have their own special outlooks. It feels as though there is a breathtaking surprise around every corner at Prato. This is the type of gem you hunger to find - and rave about when you do! We have already booked our trip back for Easter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Prato di Sotto is the perfect Italian getaway. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and beautifully and sympathetically decorated, set in magnificant gardens The views are stunning and Penny is the perfect hostess, ready to give advise on which towns to visit and the easiest way of getting there.

Whilst Prato di Sotto is perfectectly situated for exploring the Umbrian countryside and historic towns and cities, its uniqueness lies in the tranquility and beauty of its immediate location.

All in all a heavenly and idyllic retreat for a relaxing Italian holiday

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Prato di Sotto fulfilled all our expectations for our holiday - and more! Penny has created a beautiful and relaxing environment. Our house was very well appointed, spacious and comfortable, in the most stunning setting. The swimming pool is a good size, deep and a perfect temperature. Penny is a wonderfully knowledgeable hostess and it's a huge advantage that she is English and helped us find all the useful things we need - best baker, best butcher, great restaurants in the area for example. Umbertide is a really nice little town with a square where you can enjoy drinks and ice-cream. Prato di Sotto is within striking distance of Siena, Assisi, Arezzo and even Ravenna - all well worth a visit. For us, the perfect combination of relaxation and the opportunity to visit some of Italy's most important works of art. We would love to go back and am sure we will.

Room Tip: Prato di Sotto is not a hotel, but a group of self-catering properties
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent an amazing week at Prato di Sotto. Everything was beyond expectation - accommodation, location and first class hospitality. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at Prato di Sotto for one week in late June/early July with our five month old son. Overall we had a nice time staying in La Terrazza, it was incredibly spacious with a very well equipped kitchen and a shady terrace. The pool was beautiful and Penny was friendly and helpful. However there were a few areas that could be improved to make the holiday experience even better.

Firstly, the apartment wasn't very clean. We're not clean freaks at all and understand the farmhouse is old but there were cobwebs in the corners of every room, dog hair and dust on the floors and the sofas/cushions smelt a bit doggy too! We asked the (incredibly friendly) cleaner to hoover the floor for us (the baby spends a lot of time on the floor!) which she did but in my opinion the whole apartment needs a really good deep clean. The bathroom was also a bit grubby and the towels were old.

Secondly, although the dogs were very friendly and we enjoyed their company, they do tend to go to the toilet wherever takes their fancy. This happened right in front of our apartment a couple of times and although Penny was very obliging at removing the mess promptly it was a bit off putting when it came to wandering out in your bare feet of a morning! Be warned, a favourite toilet spot of theirs is the gravel driveway so watch where you walk in the dark...

Thirdly, I think it needs to be stressed just how remote Prato di Sotto is! We've stayed in several places around Tuscany and Umbria over the years but this is very off the beaten track and a good 20 min drive up a very steep narrow track. I think if you weren't a confident driver you would find the drive very nervewracking. Obviously the location of the house makes it an incredibly peaceful place to be, with stunning views, but the drive up should be taken into account.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend Pratto di Sotto to friends and family but I think some improvements could be made to improve future stays there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyradford, Owner at Prato di Sotto, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thanks so much Sarah for your constructive feedback. I am really pleased that your first family holiday was so enjoyable for all. I also hope that Baby Elliot is still enjoying pool time. I do appreciate that you would want the very cleanest environment for your new baby, and I will definitely act on your feedback regarding the cleanliness or your apartment and the dogs. Best regards, Penny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed one week in the nicely restored 15th century olive oil mill of Prato di Sotto in Umbria. Getting there needs some 4 km off road driving, which is rewarded by stunning views over Umbrian valleys and a beautiful, 4 appartment, resort. Quiet and peaceful, exactly what we were looking for. Given the all week 38 celcius day time temparature, we spent quite some time at the great swimming pool. Visiting most Umbrian cities of interest is very well possible from Prato di Sotto.
Compliments to owner Penny Radford who did everything she could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Ella & Ronald
Lucerne, Switzerland

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prato di Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prato di Sotto

Address: Santa Giuliana | Umbertide, 06019 Pierantonio, Umbertide, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide > Pierantonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pierantonio
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prato di Sotto is for the connoisseur. This collection of historic stone buildings sits above the tiny 13th century hamlet of Santa Giuliana, not far from the market town of Umbertide in northern Umbria. Lovingly restored by the owner, Penny Radford, and furnished with her personal collection of kilim rugs and antiques from around the world, the emphasis is on comfort and style. Beds are large and comfortable with crisp linen sheets and kitchens are equipped for even the most demanding cook. Read our amazing reviews we have received from TripAdvisor members... 'A little bit of heaven' 'Prato di Sotto is the jewel in the Umbrian crown' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prato Di Sotto Italy/Pierantonio, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing