We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of beautiful nowhere”
Review of Prato di Sotto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierantonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prato di Sotto
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
“In the middle of beautiful nowhere”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed one week in the nicely restored 15th century olive oil mill of Prato di Sotto in Umbria. Getting there needs some 4 km off road driving, which is rewarded by stunning views over Umbrian valleys and a beautiful, 4 appartment, resort. Quiet and peaceful, exactly what we were looking for. Given the all week 38 celcius day time temparature, we spent quite some time at the great swimming pool. Visiting most Umbrian cities of interest is very well possible from Prato di Sotto.
Compliments to owner Penny Radford who did everything she could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Ella & Ronald
Lucerne, Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

A most relaxing trip to the region of Umbria. The stay at Prato di Sotto was peaceful and beautiful. The villa is nestled in the mountains of Umbertide, a winding road takes you up the mountain to your beautiful getaway, and the scenario is breath taking. We stayed in the olive mill which was just perfect for two people. If you are looking for peace and quiet and just some time to recharge and relax this place is for you, the villa has a beautiful pool and gardens and a spectacular view.

Florida, USA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki32720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We are nearing the end of our annual two weeks of “rehab.” We were badly in need of rehabilitation, therapy and recovery from the devastating effects of living 50 weeks in small town USA. This year we chose Umbria and my wife did her usual great job of finding a good place to aid our convalescence.

You reach Penny’s “Prato di Sotto” (Penny Radford – www.ownersdirect.co.uk/italy/it2736.htm - PennyRadford@libero.it) by driving up a winding mountain road past breathtaking views, farmers’ fields, olive groves, dark forests, rustic houses and a walled medieval village (Borgo). On our first trip up, we ran into Penny’s neighbors, or at least their children. As we came around one of the many switchbacks, 4 boar-letts blocked our way. They looked curiously at us for a moment, squealed a bit and ran back into the forest to find their mommy. The forest surrounding Penny’s place is full of game. We observed pheasants, grouse, white doves, several species of small lizard and hares.

Nature lovers will get their fill, but the epicurean among you will do well too. Our sanitarium is a quaint, spacious apartment with its own large, private terrace. It is part of a small farming village that Penny renovated over a 15 year time period in what can only be described as a Herculean labor of love. The entire complex is surrounded by and integrated with trees, flowers (including lots of “English” roses who apparently have learned to speak Italian), lavender and vines. To the flora, you can add Penny’s 4 lovable dogs, 2 ½ cats (one is feral) and some chickens (fresh eggs daily). The dogs came to visit 4 times or more a day and sometimes curled up at our feet like they belonged to us. For the “sun-worshiper” there is a lovely pool.

We awoke every morning and took our coffee to the sound of cuckoos and other birds trying hard to get a date. The atmosphere is quiet and the views spectacular. Our apartment was well furnished as was our kitchen. My gourmet cook wife made some meals that competed well with the best meals we had in restaurants. That is, in Italy, saying a lot.

The “Hof” (There is no good English word) is within easy day trip distance of all the main attractions of Umbria: Assisi, Perugia, Orvieto, Citta di Castello and Gubbio. The small, quaint town of Umbertide, where they have an open-air market twice a week, is only 20 minutes away.

All in all, it was like staying with an old friend with the exception that our privacy was respected and there was no pressure to socialize. We certainly had some nice conversations when we did.

With the warmest recommendation:
Joe Allen and Edeltrud Tistl

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

What a place! We spent two wonderful weeks in this perfect hideaway. Penny, the owner, was extremely friendly and helpful without beng intrusive. She has a wealth of knowledge about local restaurants, markets, walks etc.... The accommodation was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The swimming pool was clean and we had it to ourselves most days! The scenery from our terrace was stunning and we helped ourselves to daily pickings from the vegetable patch, grapevines and damson trees. Prato di Sotto is perfectly positioned for visiting Umbrian gems such as Perugia, Assisi, Orvieto, Todi and Gubbio. Two strong recommendations - staying at this place is a must and, if you do, make sure you have a powerful engined car to carry you up the road to get there! Oh, and be prepared to lose your hearts to Penny's adorable rescue dogs who will love to share your breakfastsand dinners if you give them half a chance!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria200359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Prato di Sotto is like a secret garden...Scent filled, lush and utterly relaxing...
The interiors are just as they should be and wonderful to have the company of adorable dogs...
Seasonal veg straight from the garden for our evening suppers...and great restaurant recommendations...Had a wonderful food and wine tasting experience in Umbertide with the english speaking Patrick...a real eye opener on wines of the region...
A must mention is the horse riding arranged by Penny...I have done quite a bit of riding in my time, but this was without doubt the most beautiful I have ever been on...flower filled meadows, fruiting cherry trees, shady woods and an etruscan tomb!

We loved our two weeks and had to drag ourselves away...Penny is such a congenial host and we were tempted to kidnapp the dogs!

We are looking forward to an autumn trip next!

Catherine and Sean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Once you manage to get up to PRato di Sotto via a so called "strada bianchi" you and up at a place so beautiful, so quiet, so relaxed, that it was sad that we had to leave.
Penny, the very friendly owner, cooked us a very nice welcoming dinner, her dogs were lovely, the place beautifully decorated.
What more do you need. You can stay and enjoy a relexing stay at the pool, get a massage a pedicure or a manicure. Or go out and visit the beautiful surroundings by car or by foot.
We will most definately come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartijnEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Penny has driving instructions from every conceivable direction, so just ask and she will supply.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greyhairedkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prato di Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prato di Sotto

Property: Prato di Sotto
Address: Santa Giuliana | Umbertide, 06019 Pierantonio, Umbertide, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide > Pierantonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pierantonio
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prato di Sotto is for the connoisseur. This collection of historic stone buildings sits above the tiny 13th century hamlet of Santa Giuliana, not far from the market town of Umbertide in northern Umbria. Lovingly restored by the owner, Penny Radford, and furnished with her personal collection of kilim rugs and antiques from around the world, the emphasis is on comfort and style. Beds are large and comfortable with crisp linen sheets and kitchens are equipped for even the most demanding cook. Read our amazing reviews we have received from TripAdvisor members... 'A little bit of heaven' 'Prato di Sotto is the jewel in the Umbrian crown' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prato Di Sotto Italy/Pierantonio, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing