We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Magical Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa San Gabriel
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Magical Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were literally welcomed like old friends which was amazing given we had never before met our hosts, David and Chrissie!! After several hours of travelling from the other side of the planet, it was so much appreciated. We arrived late in the evening and Chrissie had taken the liberty of providing some breakfast for us the next morning. It's the little things that make all the difference. We stayed two weeks in the Il Fienile cottage that sleeps 4-6. We are a family of 4 with two children aged 9 & 11. Il Fienile is a farmhouse full of charm and comfort. There is so much to do, not only at Casa San Gabriel but also exploring in the many lovely villages close by. The country walks through the Umbrian hills were breathtaking, guided often by their pet dog Cuba! Views down the valley as far as the eye could see, - all the way to Assisi. All the guests really loved their famous pizza nights where you create your own toppings and have them cooked in a six hundred year old bread oven!! This was a highlight of our trip. It really was like being part of the family. Chrissie and David were full of brilliant advice on where to go and what to see, based on your own likes and dislikes and nothing was ever too much trouble. We are all looking forward to going back one day to visit our 'old friends'!! This place is very special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Italy and spent four nights at Casa San Gabriel. Chrissie and David make you feel right at home and the views are spectacular. Casa San Gabriel will always hold a special place in our heart. We were able to cover much of the Umbrian region and Florence during our stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina and B... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 6 nights in Il Fienile, the converted hayloft and it was lovely. The place had everything you could need including breakfast for the first morning, coffee, milk, a bottle of wine, beer and water. A lovely welcome from Chrissie and her family plus well trained dogs. The views are to die for :-) and its all beautiful kept and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in in Italy. The swimming pool area looked lovely but unfortunately we didn't have the weather to try it out (it was October). There are lots of lovely hill top towns to visit within easy driving distance and Chrissie is very knowledgeable on the local area and restaurants. The gravel road to the property does need careful and slow driving, we found the one system worked well, and you couldn't use a low type of car (check what it says on the web site). We had our own car from England and were more than happy using that on the gravel road. We would certainly recommend Casa San Gabriel and if we return to that area would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We excitedly looked forward for nearly a year to our stay in casa san gabriel, everything that is in the previous reviews is absolutely true, the setting is beautiful, the villas well equipped and clean, the pool lovely. Our welcome with the hosts David and Chrissie was good, the welcome food left in the villa for us for our first breakfast brilliant, fresh coffee, wine, beer, milk, tea, breakfast cereal and biscuits, butter, jam and a cupboard with great condiments, including the famous (and lush) olive oil. Plenty of towels provided including pool towels, lots of little toys and games for the younger kids. Chrissie really helpfully sorted out little beds for the littlies in our party to avoid us having to use a sofa bed.

The website warns of the track to the accommodation and it is a track, David told us of an informal one way system, but unfortunately we appeared to be the only ones that adhered to it and that led to a couple of slightly concerning driving encounters!

A major positive of all the other reviews is the hospitality of Chrissie and David and we did experience that briefly prior to them going on their own holiday, with lovely cakes left and helpful responses to any questions, the pizza night (chargeable) was lovely and a good introduction to the other family staying to look after us in Chrissie and David's absence (thanks Paul and Emma). We were also told to help ourselves to homegrown tomatoes and herbs, the tomatoes were delicious the best I have ever tasted and a great addition to several meals!!

I was a little disappointed when David informed us the "neighbours" had asked us to get the children to be quieter in the pool, I do have a noisy family of boys, and I am the first to tell them to keep the noise down, but when playing in a swimming pool, on holiday, in the middle of the day, I personally felt that was slightly unfair.

There are plenty of lovely towns to visit within a reasonable distance, Montone, Gubbio, Assisi, a day at the lake was great, but you do have to drive everywhere to eat out, or go for a visit, which was great for me, but not so great for hubby who was the designated driver! However equally you could have a lovely time staying by the pool all day!

So to summarise, a lovely holiday in a beautiful location, go, I am sure you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesska92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Casa San Gabriel for two weeks in June, and can't wait to go back! Even though we weren't blessed with brilliant weather for the whole of our trip, we were spoilt for choice of lovely places to visit within an hours drive. The views from the accommodation are out of this world, and the welcome from Chrissie, David and their family really made us feel at home here. We travelled with our 11 month old baby who unfortunately was poorly during our stay, David came with us to the hospital and translated for us, without him we would have been lost!
Pizza night was another highlight, it would be impossible to better the hospitality extended to us during our stay. Thank you Chrissie and David, we'll be back x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraandjohn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This special accomodation is perfect for families, we were so welcomed by the whole family, even the family dog Cuba. We stayed in Il Fienile which is perfectly located near the pool with a lovely terrace for outdoor dining. Chrissie, David and their girls are so helpful with all your needs, lots of information, advice and assistance. The pool has million dollar views of the hills and the swims especially at night are a must. The outdoor pizza oven and pizza making event is a perfect addition to your stay. The gardens are filled with beautiful flowers buzzing with bees, butterflies and at night fireflies. We cannot wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fincke73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I proposed to my (now!) wife here a few years ago and we came back this summer with a newborn and a toddler. The views were even better than I remembered...

All in, we had a blissfully relaxing time pottering around Casa San Gabriel and going on local trips. Chrissie and David's family was very welcoming to us and (especially) to our eldest son for whom there were lots of toys and books to keep him busy. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_G_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Gabriel

Property: Casa San Gabriel
Address: Via Francesco Petrarca No 2 | Loc Santa Giuliana, 06019 Pierantonio, Umbertide, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide > Pierantonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pierantonio
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the hills overlooking a beautiful Umbrian Valley, with uninterrupted views as far as Assisi, Casa San Gabriel is a collection of 4 farmhouses dating back to the 16th century. Lovingly restored by the present owners, the houses feature original beams, terracotta tiles and the latest technology giving ultimate comfort. Its position set among 3 acres of its own land and surrounded by olive groves and wooded hillsides, gives guests the utmost peace and tranquility to relax and unwind and the opportunity to walk in the beautiful Umbrian countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Gabriel Italy/Pierantonio, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing