We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really gorgeous place and fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Gamirasu is a really beautiful cave hotel nestled in gorgeous gardens. The staff are fantastic, particularly Felice who gave us loads of useful information for planning our stay in Cappadocia. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Gamirasu, they are so genuinely helpful and friendly. The breakfast and dinner are really nice aswell! Also don't worry about getting to/from Urgup from Gamirasu, they are able to take you there and back as necessary for free (although we did hire a car for our time in Cappadocia and would recommend this as a cost effective way to explore the region at your own pace).

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank skippyspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 980 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2007

The Gamirasu Cave Hotel was an amazing place to stay. The hotel was tucked away in a small friendly village. It was a beautiful little spot among the cave houses.

The staff were beyond friendly and helpful. We arrived at the hotel after dinner time was over, however, they served us as well as many other people. The food was so good that we couldn't imagine eating in any other place. In addition, we had 1 day in the cappadocia region and the hotel staff helped arrange a rental car for us and helped us plan the sights we were to see in a day. They made our visit very easy and enjoyable.

The room (#6) was amazing! We felt like royalty staying in this suite. Unfortunately we didn't have as much time to hang out in the room as we would have liked.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank klh10009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

The place is amazing... the rooms very comfy...
The small village (where the hotel is) is so typical... it's like you're in an other world!

The food was delicious. The 4 meals we had there were of exceptionnal quality.

The staff is more than friendly. you feel like you're at home.

Very good services offered: guided tours (Remzi is the BEST tour guide!!), Hot air balloon tour.

A MUST if you go in Cappadocia!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank absolut_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Cappadocia is a wonderful place to visit, and a marvelous place to disconnect from the world. Landscapes are unique. There are many hotels and pensions in different towns and villages. The Gamirasu Cave hotel is near Urgup but not in the town. Just arriving we felt the peace of that place. There were no more hotels around so you can meet there wıth the authentic rural way of living in turkey. İt's located at one border of the village following a pretty canyon plenty of caves perfect for trekking or strolling around. We were a group of 10 people and the staff had all the calm and the attention for our inquires. We stayed 2 nights and three days and they gave all the hospitality you even do not expect. The rooms are so so charming and the rest of the hotel too, that u want just to stay at the hotel, ın the different terraces playıng backgammon or looking at the stars. No illumining contamination at all!! İt is ideal to go with your girl-boyfriend,...

İ can not describe the pleasure i experimented and how happy i am for that weekend.
İ will keep in touch with the staff and i will return for a longer perıod to that oasis.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Discopalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

What could I say about these great hotel. Its the best we stayed in turkey. We arrived late, but Filiz the manager was great in checking us in and offered us sandwiches and apple tea even though the kitchen were closed.
She was so concerned for us. The hotel is so beautiful and we travelled back in times. I enjoyed waking up with the sound of the rooster and birds chirping. Our daughter(4yrs) refuse to leave the hotel.
We enjoyed our dinner especially the pottery lamb kebap. It was super to have a relaxing dinner with a wonderful view of the village.
Great Place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bless55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank holidayjunkieBejing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank myasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 71 in Urgup
377 reviews
3 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 31 in Uchisar
762 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: $145 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing