We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Gamirasu. We did not take advantage of their free pickup from the airport because we had a rental car to get around a bit on our own, and we arrived very late, after 11 p.m. They were unbelievably welcoming, saying they were worried about us because their driver knew we arrived at the airport and it took us a long time (we got lost). They asked if we wanted to eat first, which we did. They had kept the dining room open and had a great meal for us in their magical dining room. Our waiter, Murat, even played a song for us on a Turkish stringed instrument that was hanging on the wall and sang a song.

Our cave room was huge, comfortable, with cable and WIFI, with a huge bath with both a traditional bathing area and a modern bath area with whirlpool. When I say huge, I mean about the size of three large hotel rooms put together. With a fireplace.

The breakfast was terrific, and the service at breakfast was also amazing. Even though it was a buffet, the waiter watched me like a hawk and noticed if I forgot something so I never had to go back to get anything like a spoon. He just about read my mind.

The rooms were spotless, and all the staff were terrific and all very friendly. The ladies at the desk helped set us up with wonderful tours, and helped by printing out our boarding passes for our flight. The tours they arranged were with Remzi, who is incredibly knowledgeable and taught us not just about the sites but about the culture and history of the area. You don't need a car, since you can get the tours or the hotel will shuttle you to nearby towns, but if you want to drive the roads are fine and there are two nearby towns, Urgup and Mustafapasa to stroll around.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    82
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
226
419
38
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My (lovely) girfriend and I just returned from a fabulous 4 day stay at the Gamirasu Cave Hotel, and getting straight to the point - the whole experience was magnificent. The hotel is an ideal romantic hideaway, perfectly situated in a small quiet out-of-the-way town but still within cormfortable reach from key local center Urgup. Upon arrival the staff were terrific to accomodate us in our room (which was nothing more than a 5-star cave!) and were very imformative and helpful with their local knowledge on the sights-to-see and planning your tours. The 'cave' rooms come in several different shapes and sizes that are all very spacious with clean, large bathrooms and are surprising cool naturally by being underground. In fact it was so quiet and peaceful our first night that it was deafening - keep in mind we do live in Bangkok. Best of all was how they catered our 1st (and all so very important) anniversary celebration - i won't tell you all the details but take my word for it - all was very special..:) Further, when we told our hot air balloon pilot (an expatriate Australian) that we were staying at Gamirasu Cave Hotel, he assured as that it was one of -- if not the -- premier hotels to stay in all of Cappadocia. Highly recommended. Michael & Yui (from Thailand).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSausageBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed here with our 7 and 6 year old and couldn't fault a thing. The actual hotel was quaint and we loved the quirkiness of the rooms. The staff were helpful and the chef accomodating with our fussy eaters! We booked a private tour through the hotel and were really impressed with our guide Remzi who was very knowledgable. He also arranged a doctor for our daughter and acted as translater which was so kind of him.
We have nothing but fantastic memories of our time there and would whole heartedly recommend the hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The Hotel itself has a magical setting, with a beautiful garden and very helpful and friendly staff (there was only one minor exception). Our room was quite large and luxurious, our only problem was that perhaps because it was not a cave room and directly underneath the dining terrace, it was not that quiet in the early morning. The breakfast is absolutely amazing, with a huge variety and all very delicious, the evening meal is fixed (although you can request something different in the morning if for some reason you cannot eat what is on offer), but everything we ate was very delicious, and the waitstaff was very efficient and friendly - our favourite was Murat! Our only problem is that because it is so far from most things, if you are an independent traveller that likes to do things without a tour, it makes it a less convenient place to be. We liked the hotel very much, but do receommend that independent travellers also consider staying closer to the things they are going to visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zapateka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Garimasu cave hotel was our first one during our 19 day tour in Turkey and it certainly rates as one of the best hotel we stayed at!
Ms Hamide, the general manager, is a wonderful host and so is her crew. The only downside is perhaps its location which is away from everything but it worked well for us. Sightseeing the whole day, returning to Garimasu in the evening was like a retreat! Wonderful experience not to be missed!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Our trip to Cappadocia and stay at the Gamirisu Hotel was, for me, the highlight of our 11 day trip to Turkey. The accommodations are so unique and comfortable at the same time. We were traveling with our two adult daughters and stayed in the Superior Family Suite with two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a sitting area. It was perfect for our needs. We found no need to adventure out for dinner after hiking and touring all day. The hotel restaurant had great food. While we were there it was my husband's birthday and the staff and chef dimmed the lights and arrived singing Happy Birthday with a lovely fruit platter. The hotel staff were quite accommodating and friendly. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

This hotel shows Turkey as it is: friendly, good kitchen from a great location, near to historical sites surrounded by nature. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#9 of 65 in Urgup
342 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
691 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing