We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Really enjoyed this delightful cave hotel, even in December, when it was cold. We were upgraded to an amazing suite, with our own jacuzzi bath. The atmosphere around is unique and delightful. Breakfast was always great, and dinners, when we had them were delicious. Hiked around among the Cappadocia cute pinnacles. Hotel provided a car for transfer to the closest town--very convenient. Really a very memorable sojourn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 971 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I signed up for Troy Tours' Turkey Tour and Gamirasu Cave Hotel is one of the three hotels that they have their clients billeted. The pictures on Gamirasu's website had me so excited for the trip. When we finally got there, I was not disappointed! It is beautiful and very different from hotels that I have stayed in. Each room in Gamirasu is different. We got room 133 which is many steps up, but it is not an issue with us. From our room, we could see the village. Until today, there still are people who live in the caves. Of course, they have the amenities needed to live these days. At night, we could see these homes lighted up. Definitely, a breathtaking view.

The staff of the hotel go out of their way to make guests feel special. This was a birthday trip for me and my husband. They had cake waiting to surprise us. After dinner, a staff member brought the cake out and sang happy birthday in English and Turkish. Very sweet!!! The manager, Hamide Demiral arranged it all. I cannot thank her enough for that special moment. Not only for us, but also for our tour buddies who were also celebrating February birthdays. There were four candles on the cake. We each had a candle to blow. It was lovely.

The restaurant is very good as well. For dinner we had Cappadocia's special dish, Pottery Beef Kebab. We did not know that this is served with ceremony. The server breaks the pot the beef was cooked in and pours it on a plate. It made our meal more interesting. Breakfast has a variety of selections. They make fresh orange and apricot juice. I love it!

To those who are planning a visit to Cappadocia, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in a beautiful suite. They made us feel very comfortable right from the start.
The only issue was that due to the heated flooring throughout, it got very hot at night and we had to open all the windows as a result. There is no way to combat the heat i think.
Otherwise, the hotel, the food, the service....top notch!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 131, great view! just make sure if you are visiting in winter, you check with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NamrataParesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a one of a kind hotel. We stayed in the stunning Eagle's Nest Suite, and I could gush for hours about the room. It was simply wonderful.

We ate dinner in the hotel on two different nights and enjoyed it both times. The breakfast was delicious. Don't skip the clotted cream and honeycomb!

The staff was incredibly helpful during our stay. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. Hamide arranged for a rental car so we could explore the area at our own pace. I highly recommend this option. It was one of the highlights of our time in Turkey.

The hotel is not centrally located, but it is more than worth the trip. I recommend it wholeheartedly, and I hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: You should definitely splurge for one of the cave suites. They are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in 2012 , loved it, and returned. It's just as delightful now as it was then. There is no "nickel and diming": water is freely available, internet is dependable and free, and they offer a welcome beverage (including excellent local wine). I recommend this place without reservations. I can't think of another hotel I rate so highly.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank taiyaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Everything was perfect for our honeymoon at Gamirasu. It surpassed all of our expectations and felt like we were in heaven. We were upgraded to the Eagle's Nest and were just blown away. The staff were amazing with everything, especially helping us to book tours around the area. I could not have been happier or more impressed with the hotel or the service.

Room Tip: The Eagle's Nest will blow your mind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyCottonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I enjoyed every single detail in the suite.
It was amazing , it's a real cave, with a beautiful design.
The stuff is really friendly & the food was good.
The only problem was that since they are in an open area, there are some flies in the place.
Other that that ... it was AWESOME.

Room Tip: They might give you a better room than the one you chose if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anollipian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 69 in Urgup
366 reviews
7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#11 of 30 in Uchisar
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 30 in Uchisar
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: $102 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing