We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Unique hotel in as all village. A beautifully converted old monastery. Wonderful room, decor and service. The breakfast was sumptuous and eating it on the terrace was very special.
All the extras expected in a five star hotel. Even included a spa shower and jacuzzi in the room. There's a great pool but no fitness centre. Some rooms have steps up to them. Not suitable for people with disabilities.

Room Tip: Decide what you want and ask for it. If you don't want steps, say so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olderbutnotout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 974 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel. It has spacious rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food at the hotel is quite good. When we were there there was local entertainment playing authentic Turkish music. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvlcam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Wonderfull! start to our family vacation and introduction to Warm Turkish Hospitality.
Cheerful, friendly staff, ever willing to assist and pamper you.
Loved the clean well lit rooms ( was a bit apprehensive about cave rooms) but i was very pleasantly surprised to get all the delightful luxuries that every modern hotel has .
Must try the Veg Lavash, its amazing. better that the non veg one.
The Breakfast was superbly healthy and nutritious, a huge variety for a boutique hotel.
Love to go back someday.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view - i think. Ours was close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seminerao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Although the location is a bit far from the city, the isolation is compensated by the comfort of the apartments, the kindness and friendliness of the staff, an excellent restaurant, and especially by the totally unique architectural style, which merges the caves with new constructions. Everything was well thought out to provide comfort for guests: four poster beds, fireplace, air conditioning, ironing board, amenities kit in the bathroom and a whirlpool. An excellent choice for dinner is the pottery kebab, a delicious dish of meat cooked slowly in a ceramic pot. Staying in a small village observing the quiet routine of the locals was a great experience. Gamirasu is a perfect place to feel the spirit of Cappadocia.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are inside real caves, but all of them are charming, comfortable and fully integrated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucianaMeireles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a hotel like no other. The reservation had been arranged by our tour company, Euphrates, and my online look at the hotel had been cursory so I had no expectations. I am glad I didn't because the surprise when we walked through the hotel's gates was that much better. Beautiful landscaping and pathways framed otherworldly multi-level cave rooms and terraces carved into volcanic rock. The staff graciously greeted us, provided us with our choice of refreshments and shared the history of the hotel and the area with us. We were then escorted to a room I could never have imagined let alone that I ever dreamed I would be sleeping in. Cut deep into the rock, our room was tastefully decorated in a blend of ottoman and modern and contained an extraordinary bed we measured as at least 8 feet wide. Also in the room was a full-sized Turkish bath with intricate mosaic tile designs, and with a waterfall for beautiful effect. I didn't want to leave the room but did for dinner. It, too, was wonderful. We learned later that the hotel primarily uses local producers and emphasizes organic ingredients. Early the next morning, my husband and I rose early, climbed the stairs to the hotel terrace and watched as the sun's first rays touched the canyon walls. The view was unforgettable. The breakfast was another feast, this time a buffet to satisfy every taste. The only thing I found disappointing was that our stay was for only one night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brickstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

First about the hotel, there is simply no place like it on earth (that I am aware of). Not only are the rooms great, the hotel itself is a simply spectacular place to experience, both during the day and at night. The way the hotel is lit makes it look like something almost out of a dream. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed while maintaining a rustic feel. One of the most unique and singular hotel experiences of my life.

Of course, a hotel is just a room without great service, and this is where Gamirasu excels. I was traveling alone in Turkey and my travel agent recommended I stay here. The staff treats each other like family, and they made me part of that family for the 3 nights I stayed. Hamide manages the hotel, and was incredibly accomodating and generous the entire time. Erme runs his team incredibly well, and will continue to be friends going forward. Fazil and Fatih in particular were always looking out for me, often anticipating things I would need before I even asked. Everyone took every opportunity to stop and chat, even while they were busy, just to make sure I was never alone for long stretches. I speak little Turkish, and everyone's English was more than adequate to get by.

I have simply never been made to feel so welcome at any hotel I have ever stayed at. This is a special place for a special experience, and I would not hesitate to recommend any visitors to Turkey to make sure they visit this amazing part of the country, and to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsheremeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotels are all so the same these days, and the differences can be subtle at best, but this hotel is truly different. Rooms set in caves that have hostries datig back up to a thousand years, beautiful views, incredible areas to explore, like a church from before 1200AD in the hotel grounds. A nice drink on arrival, was even taken to another level with warm milk eated in our toddlers bottle. Highly recommend this hotel for a unique experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 69 in Urgup
368 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
748 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: $131 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing