We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Amazing place the most unusual hotel I have ever stayed in,rooms are out of this world not at all what you would expect. The staff were so helpful and so happy to make our stay special, Osman went out of his way to assist us, the food was great would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would say most rooms good we had a jacuzzi in our room great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    80
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
220
417
36
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Don't know from where to start.

Rooms are very comfortable and clean, delicious food and great common area to hang out.

The manager of the hotel gave us private welcome. WE had booked a suite but had got only 2 nights and one was not available. He informed us that we has upgraded us as there was a cancellation....and guess upgrade was for free. He offered us complimentary drinks at dinner when we asked for a drink which was not available. He also offered free rides to nearby main tourists attraction as the hotel is little far.

we also walked inside the village and interacted with villagers, went to a local family and had dinner with them. It was one of the most amazing experience. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are good, all are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

You could pick up anything - Service, Cleanliness, Hospitality, Staff behavior or food and there's just one word for it - Exceptional.
The first advantage that this hotel has is that its a 'Cave Hotel' which is completely different from a regular hotel. The second and the most important thing that goes in its favor is the conduct of their staff and service - truly amazing. Will definitely visit again

Room Tip: In case you are going during off season, request for a room upgrade and you shall not be disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Best Service from exceptionally warm staff especially chef Kamile, Osman & Hamide. The day after we arrived, we got snowed in. Hamide was kind to take us to visit their own cave church & give us a history of this hotel. It's such a pleasure to stay in this magical cave hotel during winter with snow falling & being served by such wonderful staff. It has been such an enjoyable experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cappodocia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank IshahOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It is best cave and Concept hotel with beautifully done up rooms, Service is par excellence, with very warm staff I want to mention names of chef Kamile and Osman, who's local Turkish food was heart winning. Hamide from front desk made us feel abs comfortable. I definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Cappadocia

Room Tip: Suites are a treat as far as decor goes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank conftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful place inside the caves, big rooms with fireplace and a huge jacuzzi, amenities were great too. Don't forget to stop at breakfast buffet....
¡¡¡¡¡¡A luxury place to spend a romantic stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gethy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

oh My God :) I don't know from where i start... the hotel is a unique experience you feel that you are living in an ancient life a mix between turkish and roman style. sooo cosy and soo clean.
the staff is amazing you don't feel the you are a guest. you are part of the staff family. we really had fun with them and they are soooooo friendly.
the service is amazing. and the food is wow.
I recommend this hotel for everyone and don't worry about the transportation its available :)

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing and some rooms has a Jacuzzi :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing