We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above all expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Above all expectations”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Five star plus. Excellent food, magic atmosphere , perfect service, attention to details. To add maybe what we do not always find also in many 5 star hotels : sincere kindness, attention to each one need, efforts in making your staying unforgettable without anything in return and specially letting you feel like an honored guest of an extended family. Thanks to all the Gamirasu team for making Cappadocia tour so special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank susannabalbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    82
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
226
419
38
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Everything works perfectly, The hotel itself is a dream. The hotel personnel is very helpful and efficient. The only small thing to remark is: the localization, it is near the main Cappadocia attractions, but the city Ayali, has nothing to see, so you have to take your meals at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I almost did not want to write this review for fear that this hotel will become too popular and I won't be able to get a reservation when I return (just kidding obviously), but in all seriousness, this is hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed in across a span of 10 years and 20 countries. For starters, the rooms are unbelievable: cozy, warm, beautifully decorated "caves" that make you feel both at home and a world away at the same time. The staff cannot be beat. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating and work hard to make you feel like family. Case in point, I ended up getting sick and since we had to check out of our room that morning, they allowed me to stay in another room for the day and didn't even charge us. The restaurant is superb with a variety of reasonably priced and impeccably prepared Turkish cuisine. This is a gorgeous, romantic, and fascinating home away from home during your stay in Cappdocia; a true vacation within a vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank travelbuggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Visiting Cappadocia asks that you climb, crawl and wander through caves, underground cities and up rock towers. We did all that and were grateful to come home each evening to Gamirasu, a beautifully imagined, cozy hotel with the warmest, friendliest and most helpful staff you are likely to encounter. Our cave room was comfortable and quiet, equipped with a lovely fireplace, as well as a jacuzzi. The food at the hotel restaurant was wonderful; the service was great, both at breakfast and dinner. We were fortunate to have Osman wait on us much of the time, but everyone at Gamirasu were delightful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank lduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My fiance and I did a multi-city, multi-country trip to Europe, and we both agree that the Gamirasu Cave Hotel was the highlight of our trip. Not only is it fascinating, being built into a cave, it is gorgeous, romantic and historic. The weather was cold and rainy when we arrived in Cappadocia, and so a lot of our plans were canceled, but we did not mind one bit. We built a cozy fire in our room and ate three meals at the DELICIOUS restaurant at the hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and I highly recommend anyone stay there - it's well worth the price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailee_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Excellent service of all staff, (particular mention of Mr. Osman) tastefully appointed interiors and modern faciities, cozy atmosphere, and excellent food. Overall a very good experience indeed and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nandan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during a December trip to Turkey. We were offered a free room upgrade and the cave suite was beautiful down to the smallest details. The hotel manager was very friendly and assisted us in setting up a day tour of the many local attractions. The restaurant staff were also very hospitable and offered great service. Special thanks to Osman for making us feel so welcomed! Staying here during the winter was very quiet and relaxing. We were concerned about cold weather, but were able to still enjoy the trip while having a mixture of rain, snow, and sun. During our trip to Turkey we stayed at a number of hotels, but this was by far the most memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KMarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 65 in Urgup
341 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
690 reviews
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
946 reviews
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing