We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very unique hotel.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. Our room was lovely with sitting room, spacious bathroom and a king size bed. The breakfast was very good. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and it was also good and convenient as the hotel is not close to town. The Terrace is a lovely place to eat breakfast although I could do without the many cats that are everywhere in Turkey. All transfers, tour guides and our balloon flight organized by the hotel were very good. The service is of a high standard and unobtrusive. I would highly recommend this hotel as a very unique place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kimboToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    82
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
223
419
36
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spent 3 nights in Gamirasu Hotel, and everything was just perfect. The place is magical, its staff is extra friendly, the buffet breakfast is amazing and the restaurant is really good which is quite convenient considering the town is not so close. Great place for a romantic vacation. They even organized a show for the guests. 100% recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Markkk014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of an organised tour. I was completely blown away by my cave which had a sitting room, bedroom with King bed and bathroom with jacuzzi. The service was five-star and unobtrusive. All of my requests (transport, porterage etc) which taken care of immediately and with the utmost courtesy. The hotel is located in a small village away from the touristic attractions which is a plus in my view. My room was next to a Byzantine church (part of the hotel) with well-preserved frescoes on the wall. The breakfast was average, but plentiful. Overall, this hotel would have to go down as the most unusual hotel in which I have stayed.

Room Tip: I had room 32 next to the church. A room high up will afford nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank episode10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

That's the perfect place to stay in Capadoccia! The cave rooms are large and cozy and the staff is very friendly. They made everything possible to make our stay perfect. Although the rooms are in caves, the bathrooms are brand new. In the deluxe room (which I stayed) they even had a jaccuzzi on it! The laundry is quick and cheap!

It is said that they have the best breakfast of all and I believe it! The restaurante is also very good: this is very important since it is almost impossible to go out at night to have dinner (everything is far away from everything).

They also have a very nice swimming pool! :)

I will definetly go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

First the locale, built in the side of a cliff at the head of a narrow canyon, the hotel is amazing in it's locale. Most of the rooms are truly built right in the caves,ours was relatively small but the bathtub was a jacuzzi tub, and the decorations and amenities were all there. The staff could not be more friendly, they literally knew everybody's name. The grounds are beautiful with a small pool, and believe it or not the remains of a byzantine cave church, with frescos about 1,500 years old. Our last night there they had a whirling dervish show in the caves across the canyon (maybe fifty feet away). They were illuminated with blacklight while the band was illuminated in an orange glow. After the show we walked up two levels to where the cave frescos were lit up. It was a journey to another time with the best amenities of the present. Truly a once in a lifetime experience. for those reading follow my username for more opinions of our trip to Turkey

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bschoenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Having both worked and stayed in5 & 6 star hotels and resorts including four seasons during my life, my expectations are always high.

Myself and my partner could not fault this amazing hotel. It truly was 6 star but with a unique personalised feel but never obtrusive.

We checked in and to our amazement and joy found ourselves upgraded to the Byzantine King Suite. Despite this amazing suite, the whole hotel was truly unique and beautiful.

The staff were attentive, very friendly but always professional. The food was superb for both breakfast and lunch / dinner.

We loved the location as it was away from the crowds or tourists ! It's located in a beautiful little village. The hotel provides free shuttles and or cars are inexpensive.

We will be back and highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank peternf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we recently stayed at the gamirasu Cave hotel, as arranged by the excellent travel agency, Euphrates tours.
The staff at this amazing hotel could not have been more charming and welcoming. Everyone, from the front desk to every waiter was extremely attentive in every way. Every person who worked there remembered our name throughout our stay.
The hotel is not near the town, so you depend on the restaurant, but the food was outstanding and the setting and service excellent.
By far, one of the best breakfast spreads I have ever seen.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Cappadocia area.
If you are going to be in the area for a few days, you will need an organized guide, or a car to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholscanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#12 of 65 in Urgup
336 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#7 of 65 in Urgup
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
714 reviews
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing