We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing intimate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing intimate hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we recently stayed at the gamirasu Cave hotel, as arranged by the excellent travel agency, Euphrates tours.
The staff at this amazing hotel could not have been more charming and welcoming. Everyone, from the front desk to every waiter was extremely attentive in every way. Every person who worked there remembered our name throughout our stay.
The hotel is not near the town, so you depend on the restaurant, but the food was outstanding and the setting and service excellent.
By far, one of the best breakfast spreads I have ever seen.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Cappadocia area.
If you are going to be in the area for a few days, you will need an organized guide, or a car to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholscanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    80
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
220
417
36
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I did not want to leave the hotel after staying there for 3 nights... The over-friendly and ever-helpful staff (Amide, suleiman, fati and others) had made me feel like family. The owner of the hotel - Ibrahim - is a very kind man and showed us around the property, and used to greet us daily.
We were a family of 6 adults and we stayed in room numbers 3 - 4 - 5 respectively. This was in the small building section and the rooms were small when compared to the other natural cave rooms that we saw later during our stay. The bathrooms were very big and I enjoyed the jaccuzi experience inside my bathroom during my stay. I was simply delighted by the quality of their bath towels as they were the softest and the nicest that i have ever used in my life !
Because of the hotel being a boutique place, and the friendly atmosphere, we also became friends with fellow guests from canada, atlanta, australia and india...and used to have breakfasts/dinners together.
The hotel provides free pickup/drop service to the nearest town: URGUP. Which was nice as we got to try the local flavours and saw unique handicraft shops there.
The breakfast spread is very good and the fresh pita bread (straight out of the oven) given during dinner simply melts into your mouth...Their chef is excellent and was able to satisfy our eating whims and fancies with lots of permutations and combinations as desired by us.
We loved the newly opened pool, and the roses/flower beds around the hotel. The scenic backdrop of the lit-up caves during dinner time was mesmerising...
It surely deserves all the ratings and top rankings on trip advisor, and I would go back there in a snap...

Room Tip: Each room is unique and different, ask to look around and choose one that you feel good about, the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhurtodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I think the phrase, "they treated us like family," can be a bit overdone at times, but certainly not in the case of the Gamirasu hotel. The staff remembered us by name throughout our 3 day stay and was extremely helpful. The hotel itself is also a gem, we stayed in the Eagle's Nest, Room 21, which had a sauna in the bathroom if you can believe it and quite a lot of space. Ayvali is a very small village, but if you are looking to "get off the grid" as we were, it is perfect. Finally, the restaurant at the hotel is lovely, especially considering they essentially have you as a capitve audience when it comes to food. The outdoor terrace was very nice and the caves surrounding the hotel are lit up, so it's a fairly dramatic feel. The food itself is also quite good, and the breakfast buffet is 5 star, straight down to the omelette chef. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank csaarbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is actually a home away from home. The staff are really welcoming and try and accommodate all your requests. They put us up at 'roman king's suite' and it was magnificent. Huge room (size of a full flat in Mumbai) - with a turkish bath and a jacuzzi, a coffee table and a desk, a clothes stand and most importantly an electric kettle with great choices of flavoured tea and coffee. But what really stands out is the food. The chef delighted us with his set menu - absolutely fabulous. The atittude of the staff is what makes this hotel a gem. Infact during our stay, we just preferred to spend our evenings at the hotel.

Room Tip: Check for their set menu. The chef goes out of his way to make your meal special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOntevideo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Gamirasu is a beautiful cave hotel in the amazing Capadoccia.
The design of the place, the delicate decorations, the wonderful staff, the general scenery, the quality of the service made of our stay at Gamirasu Cave Hotel one of the best experiences of our trip to Turkey.
Highly recommended.
As for the location, we got to the hotel as part of a tour hired with Euphrates Tours. I don't know how accesible it is for people traveling on their own by car. I am sure the hotel staff will provide all the info you need to get there easily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorugua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Like several other reviewers, I was a bit anxious about sleeping in a cave, but it was wonderful. My 9-year old and teenager loved the uniqueness, my husband loved the high quality. The hotel was beautiful with roses and flowering plants all about and the service was exceptional. I inadvertently left behind a family photo. The hotel staff, not only found it, but held onto it for 2 days until I noticed and called. Then they mailed it to me free of charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The idea of a ‘cave hotel’ is a conceit that could go badly wrong, but the Gamirasu has got it absolutely right. The structure is intriguing and unusual, with rooms scattered around the rock face amidst exceptionally well maintained and attractive grounds. It is not a place to stay if climbing stairs is a problem, and in some rooms watching your head as you duck below low doorways would be wise. We were upgraded in mid-stay though we were perfectly happy with the first room. The larger rooms are very large and all are provided with ample bathroom facilities (ours had a built in sauna and a bath with water jets, another had a Jacuzzi). The pool is small (about 8 x 5 metres) , bracingly cool, but very clean, pretty, and well maintained and serviced. Breakfast is a splendid buffet of yoghurts, honey, cheeses, fruit, breads, olives, cereals, teas, coffees, as well as cooked omelettes and the like to order. Breakfast on the outdoor terraces and balconies, like evening dinner similarly, is idyllic. Staff are endlessly helpful, courteous, and efficient. Teas and cold drinks seems to be available as a courtesy at any time required. A couple of points to watch: you will certainly need a car to get around (though the hotel runs a shuttle in and out of Urgup), and the final 60 metre descent into the hotel car park is a dauntingly steep, narrow, and winding drive. There is also no air conditioning – not a major problem given the structure, but possibly enough to deter some. We were also a little surprised that, although the rooms were capacious and well presented, there was little drawer or shelf space. But overall this is an outstanding and unusual hotel, with every comfort, superb service, and splendid surroundings. As a base for touring Cappadocia it would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Each room is different, if you have a choice ask to see the room first, but we didn't see any ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
6.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.8 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 28 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
5.9 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Property: Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing