We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Shakaland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shakaland
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkwalini
laguna, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was fearful at first, I didn't know what to expect. Men in loincloths dancing greeted us- teaching us how they handshake- think brotherhood handshake! What a welcome. The hut we stayed in was an experience. I loved it. Then they showed us their village and way of life and the cultural show was great! Some may have found it touristy- but the experience was awesome. I really felt their energy during the show. A must see!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    27
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
43
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
italiana
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It is not so cheap but brekfast and dinner are included and they are good. Fun and interested complex for children. The zulu dance is the best that we have seen. The real problem is water: in most part of the day there wasn't water to wash ourselves. Rooms are very nice and we didn't find them so hot, it's enough open the window.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatriceItaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I arrived int he late afternoon, spent the night and then left the next morning. I was totally impressed with the set-up. The area was clean, the rooms fantastic and the staff friendly. I watched the afternoon with my clients as well as the evening show, and both of them I enjoyed thoroughly! The morning show I felt could have been a little longer, but since there were only 2 of us, maybe that's why it seemed a little rushed. The food was excellent, though maybe for lunch we could have had more choice then sandwiches (we did get there late though). The pool was brilliant blue I have to add. I enjoyed my overnight stay, and would happily base myself there while exploring the countryside.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelldon_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestby, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is built up for a dramatic TV series about the Zulu King Shaka. We were here in November and had a sightseeing alone, only 4. It is a nice place with young people who had a warm smile and we learned about the Zulu. A little movie showed some of the TV series. The hut can have some bugs, but nice bathrooms and a good bed. Night dancing performance was grate!!!!! This is built up for tourists, fine, good food buffet, and a nice place.
We stayed one night. The service was good!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My two sons and I had a not previously planned stay at the Shakaland hotel/villa as part of our trip to South Africa. In summary we had a great valued all inclusive one night stay. Very good service and ok food. Excellent exhibit of African customs performed by extremely wonderful people. In short, if you are close to this place with one spare or not specific activity day, go to Shakaland. Even a one day visit may be worth the detour.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a fun time here. We were only here for one night, but had a great time. There was a large group of Australian tourists there which made it fun. We really enjoyed the open-air museum that was re-created from a Zulu village. We loved the traditional dance show they put on. We were there in May so the weather was quite pleasant. Staff are quite friendly the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Yes , the rooms have no AC.
Yes , this is a fake village.
Yes, the huts are not 5 stars by western standards.

But, We enjoyed it so much , The dances , the atmosphere , the so freindly Zulus, a bit of back to nature . DO NOT MISS it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagsag71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nkwalini
4.9 mi away
InnZululand Guest Lodge
InnZululand Guest Lodge
#7 of 16 in Eshowe
13 reviews
4.4 mi away
Eagles Nest Guesthouse
Eagles Nest Guesthouse
#3 of 16 in Eshowe
18 reviews
4.0 mi away
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
#9 of 16 in Eshowe
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakaland

Property: Shakaland
Address: Normanhurst Farm, Nkwalini 3816, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shakaland)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Nkwalini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkwalini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakaland 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Shakaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakaland South Africa/Nkwalini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing