We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not miss”
Review of Shakaland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shakaland
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkwalini
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Yes , the rooms have no AC.
Yes , this is a fake village.
Yes, the huts are not 5 stars by western standards.

But, We enjoyed it so much , The dances , the atmosphere , the so freindly Zulus, a bit of back to nature . DO NOT MISS it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagsag71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

Exsotic setting, although it looks artificial. Sleeping is like in an oven.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gioram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My friends & I spent 2 nights here. The various "Team Building" programs they advertised on the website were non-existent. (no firewalking, extreme sports, Survivor Shakaland, etc.) Also, the "Programmes" listed (beer making, beer drinking ceremony, Zulu dancing, beadwork, pottery, etc.) were all basically a rehearsed presentation that took about an hour total. After that, we were on our own to try to figure out what to do with the rest of our stay there. The next day, the routine was the same, although the "King" was different. The pool at Shakaland was beautiful - FROM A DISTANCE!!! The water was so murky & dirty that you could BARELY see the first step. The curio shop was nice as well as the curio shop employees.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greeneyes826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The Zuluvillage museum which is on one site with the hotel is certainly nice for children and also interesting for adults. Visually the whole site makes a good impression. But: the huts are very small, the bath room is tiny with shower in the bathtub and a plastic curtain which tacks to your body when you shower. The food is average. The whole package with the shows of the village is nice but much too expensive. If you dont care, it is a nice experience but there are certainly better places to spend your money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaverK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This lodging was booked through the travel group that I was traveling with and I sure am glad that it was! This was a very interesting and unique place to stay. The place is based on a Zulu village and your rooms are made to look (on the exterior) like a zulu hut. The rooms were very comfortable with all your modern necessities. The room is not completely air tight so you can not rule out the possible entry of insects and small reptiles, a small lizard and I scared each other when I moved the door. He quickly exited the room. There are free ranging goats and chickens around the huts, which I found to be charming. The presentation of the Zulu culture was fasinating and well presented. The young girls sell some gorgeous beaded jewelry in the Zulu village, the have nice quality and great prices. The dinner and breakfast buffets are very good. This was very different and enjoyable. I am really glad I was able to stay here, though I think that a one night stay is about the right amount of time.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We read about the hotel in a bass magazine as my husband is a big bass fishing fan. We booked to stay at the hotel over the valentine's weekend which would also be our first wedding anniversary weekend, planning to go fishing during the day at the nearby Goedertrouw dam/Lake Phobane. When I saw the initial photos I wasn't too sure what to expect, but on arrival was pleasantly surprised at the "moderness" available in such a rustic setting. We were sadly disappointed however in that there was broken into our vehicle while we were fishing at the nearby dam and all our belongings for the weekend as well as special gifts to each other, were stolen. (We had arrived early, before our room was ready, so our stuff were still in the vehicle). Protea hotel however provided all the comforts we needed and even supplied toothpaste and toothbrushes, and I could buy a t-shirt in the curio shop (for a slight change in clothing at least!). We found the hut very tasteful with many comforts.The buffet and service was excellent! I plan to stay there again! (although that doesn't include visiting the dam/lake)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinktinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We stayed at Shakaland for 1 night in March 2008.
Arrived for lunch, mediocre quality and surly service. The setting is a fake Zulu village, beautiful views, and a tour of the village was included. Staff are "replica" Zulus and one can't help feel they are being exploited. Accomodation is very basic in beehive huts, boiling hot, with no air con and a pathetic non adjustable fan. We were advised not to open the small windows as bugs would come in. Hut bathroom was very very tired with resident geckos. Sleep was impossible due to the extreme heat inside the oven - (sorry hut!) Took dinner at the dining area, again very surly service and poor quality food. Bar service also reluctant. After dinner show in grandma's hut lacking any enthusiasm. - felt even more the locals are being exploited! - especially the young girls.Overall poor experience on a great trip to a fabulous country. Suggest you give this a miss, but contribute to the local economy some other way.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yamdrachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nkwalini
24.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Empangeni
5.2 mi away
The George Hotel, Eshowe
4.5 mi away
InnZululand Guest Lodge
InnZululand Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Eshowe
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakaland

Address: Normanhurst Farm, Nkwalini 3816, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shakaland)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Nkwalini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkwalini
Price Range: $153 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakaland 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shakaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakaland South Africa/Nkwalini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing