We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On route to AfriSki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandstone Chameleon Country House

Sandstone Chameleon Country House
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandstone Chameleon Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Fouriesburg B&B and Inns
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“On route to AfriSki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very good accommodation. Room is clean. Fridge to store groceries is excellent add on. Room a little small. The fact that the operator moved breakfast forward 1hr to 6am was a win. Very happy. Will return again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jevonleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jhb
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We visited for a week-end. Excellent breakfasts were supplied on both mornings although the coffee was cold. Friendly staff members. Beautiful house and nicely located. Rooms well furnished and clean. Slept well. Nice old world feel to the town. Restaurants in the town were Nice feeling to the guesthouse BUT we did not have any hot water on Saturday evening and Sunday morning and the bath is extremely small. The reasons offered were municipal problems but no alternative for bathing and hot water was offered and not even discount on account. This was troubling and can not be accepted.
Due to the problems encountered I will not visit there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agneta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The service that we have received was excellent. All the rooms are stunning, and nicely decorated. Nice setting. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Good value for money. Will visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

1)Did not like at all the Cable Ties on the hangers and could not use them. 2) Water was available for the first night, but then never again!
3) Pity that only one shower cubicle!
4) Staff were excellent all round!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely trip down from Clarens, very scenic.

Sure we got better value than in Clarens.

Cosy, warm guest house with excellent breakfast & service.

Definitely a good place to stay for Afriski & Clarens.

Added bonus is that it has some DSTV channels.



  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Situated in the quiet and small town of Fouriesburg this Guest House provides excellent accommodation and a really good breakfast to visitors.
The staff are really helpful and the rooms are well appointed and very clean & well maintained. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pjk55017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We found the place very easy with the directions given. We only stayed for one night but wished it could be more. The service was great, lovely breakfast and a very comfy room. There is also secure parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouriesburg
0.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
14.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
24.7 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pumula Guest Farm
Pumula Guest Farm
#3 of 11 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wyndford Holiday Farm
Wyndford Holiday Farm
#4 of 11 in Fouriesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
15.0 mi away
By the Way Guesthouse
By the Way Guesthouse
#8 of 38 in Clarens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandstone Chameleon Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandstone Chameleon Country House

Property: Sandstone Chameleon Country House
Address: 61 De La Harpe Street | C/O Venter street, Fouriesburg 9725, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Fouriesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fouriesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandstone Chameleon Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sandstone Chameleon Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing