We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Awesomeness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandstone Chameleon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Fouriesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple Awesomeness”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely and clean. Very friendly hosts. Bonus finding accommodation with DSTV and wi fi. Stocked mini bar, for just incase. Would definitely return and recommend. Safe parking. Easy access. Love the stone wash finish decor outside. All in all a good choice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HNS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, basic good value for money. Good breakfast.... Close to walking distance restaurants that are very good and also excellent value for money... Did not see the owners the girl we spoke to was not very knowledgeable about the area, but we managed to find out more off other residents.... This was a bit of a disappointment....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiep389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Tastefully furnished room with a good home cooked breakfast offering lots of good value for money. Manager was very helpful giving us input on what to do and where to go.
Close to a few restaurants in Fouriesburg and easy and scenic drives to both Clarens & Bethelem.
Would definitely consider another trip to the place,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 271hiltont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very very good. Nice place. Amazing rooms with loads of space. Nice drive from Clarens to the Sandstone Chameleon Country House. Amazing breakfast. Very good service. Secure parking. Nice little town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon on our way to Lesotho. What a lovely place. The owner and staff was so friendly. We found ourselves stuck in predicament and the owner was more than willing to assist us! The room was clean, comfortable and very neat. We loved this little jewel in this small town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarliJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked in to Sandstone Chameleon B&B as a stop over on our way to Afriski Lesotho. We arrived in the later afternoon and were welcomed by David, who took us to our room, showed us around, and even suggested a place to eat dinner. What a wonderful asset to the B&B a wonderful ambassador. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated and very warm. The beds had electric blankets which was very welcome after the cold evening we experienced after returning from dinner. Breakfast was delicious and we sat in front of a log fire. Thanks for a wonderful stay, and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilganz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautifully kept, bedrooms a bit small, but service by Daniel the Black assistant warm and hospitable. Attention to detail with breakfast served, ie I am allergic to nuts/seeds, this was nicely addressed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouriesburg
0.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
65 reviews
12.8 mi away
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Wyndford Holiday Farm
Wyndford Holiday Farm
#4 of 12 in Fouriesburg
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pumula Guest Farm
Pumula Guest Farm
#3 of 12 in Fouriesburg
35 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camelroc Guest Farm
Camelroc Guest Farm
#1 of 12 in Fouriesburg
169 reviews
14.4 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#5 of 38 in Clarens
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandstone Chameleon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandstone Chameleon Guest House

Property: Sandstone Chameleon Guest House
Address: 61 De La Harpe Street | C/O Venter street, Fouriesburg 9725, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Fouriesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fouriesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandstone Chameleon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star bed and breakfast, where comfort meets luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandstone Chameleon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing