We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Sandstone Chameleon Country House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandstone Chameleon Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Fouriesburg B&B and Inns
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, basic good value for money. Good breakfast.... Close to walking distance restaurants that are very good and also excellent value for money... Did not see the owners the girl we spoke to was not very knowledgeable about the area, but we managed to find out more off other residents.... This was a bit of a disappointment....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiep389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
29
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Tastefully furnished room with a good home cooked breakfast offering lots of good value for money. Manager was very helpful giving us input on what to do and where to go.
Close to a few restaurants in Fouriesburg and easy and scenic drives to both Clarens & Bethelem.
Would definitely consider another trip to the place,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 271hiltont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very very good. Nice place. Amazing rooms with loads of space. Nice drive from Clarens to the Sandstone Chameleon Country House. Amazing breakfast. Very good service. Secure parking. Nice little town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon on our way to Lesotho. What a lovely place. The owner and staff was so friendly. We found ourselves stuck in predicament and the owner was more than willing to assist us! The room was clean, comfortable and very neat. We loved this little jewel in this small town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarliJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked in to Sandstone Chameleon B&B as a stop over on our way to Afriski Lesotho. We arrived in the later afternoon and were welcomed by David, who took us to our room, showed us around, and even suggested a place to eat dinner. What a wonderful asset to the B&B a wonderful ambassador. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated and very warm. The beds had electric blankets which was very welcome after the cold evening we experienced after returning from dinner. Breakfast was delicious and we sat in front of a log fire. Thanks for a wonderful stay, and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilganz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautifully kept, bedrooms a bit small, but service by Daniel the Black assistant warm and hospitable. Attention to detail with breakfast served, ie I am allergic to nuts/seeds, this was nicely addressed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two days at Sandstone Chameleon recently, the room was large, clean and very comfortable, and breakfast was tasty and served with a smile and the surrounding area is spectacular, nightly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouriesburg
0.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
14.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
24.7 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wyndford Holiday Farm
Wyndford Holiday Farm
#4 of 11 in Fouriesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pumula Guest Farm
Pumula Guest Farm
#3 of 11 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camelroc Guest Farm
Camelroc Guest Farm
#1 of 11 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandstone Chameleon Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandstone Chameleon Country House

Property: Sandstone Chameleon Country House
Address: 61 De La Harpe Street | C/O Venter street, Fouriesburg 9725, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Fouriesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fouriesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandstone Chameleon Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandstone Chameleon Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing